Allscripts Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Allscripts CEO Paul Black
Paul Black
887 Ratings
Pros
  • "work-life balance culture for employees(in 213 reviews)

  • "Good work culture with supportive work life balance(in 88 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work/life balance can be challenging(in 71 reviews)

  • "No direction from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Allscripts and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      Feb 15, 2021 - Systems Administrator in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work from home, good pay scale

      Cons

      I've heard some areas can be competitive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nothing to complain

      May 7, 2021 - Senior Quality Engineer in Melville, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is very approachable in general

      Cons

      PTO’s are lower than industry standard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      No direction, no planning, just staying afloat day by day

      Apr 15, 2021 - Senior Database Administrator in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty flexible when it comes to PTO Able to transfer teams Will pay for cert test and some training (depending on the department)

      Cons

      The company is ALWAYS changing management. It's hard to keep track of who's your boss. I was there a long time and layoffs are the norm every Thanksgiving and a few other odd times per year. Most teams are moving to India. Will layoff anyone or let anyone walk not matter how valuable they are. The company doesn't have any money and survives day by day. (hence layoffs) Benefits are crap - terrible insurance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Depends on Department, Manager and Team

      Jan 27, 2021 - Expert Clinical Business Analyst in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big company, lots of good benefits. I especially benefited from the tuition reimbursement. Many 'organizations' within the larger Allscripts so opportunity to move around to find the best fit. If you get the right manager and team with good chemistry, it's a awesome job. I would've stayed forever. I was there for over 13 years as it was. - If you get the wrong manager (the "good ole' boy" friends first type)- life will suck for you. I've been in both situations here. Loads of professional growth type trainings and certifications. I also appreciated the SDLC process and oddly liked the rigidity of it. We had excellent RTE and scrum masters to help shepherd that along.

      Cons

      VERY difficult to advance up the ranks- it took me 4 years to get from Sr. to Expert despite my annual submissions of examples for every bullet point on how I met the next level. Funny how after a mass exodus of BAs in our dept one year, including me, nearly everyone that was left got a promotion! Go figure. Point to my first Con above- there is a bit of the "good ole' boys" mindset going on. Friends first, experience second.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Allscripts

      May 6, 2021 - Regional Account Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation, Benefits, Co-workers, Work from Home

      Cons

      Unrealistic leadership expectations, Layoffs, Product challenges, lack of execution.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, very employee-conscious. Very socially aware as well. Contributes to employees and society overall.

      Mar 24, 2021 - Associate Technical Support Consultant in Litchfield, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Giveback program, benefits, company hosted parties regularly, random quarterly 'unplug' days,

      Cons

      i'm sure there's a few. not much room to grow. definitely room for lateral movement but upwards climbs take forever. also you may be told something, then later told something else by the same person like they never told you the first thing to begin with. so you might end up wasting a year :p

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      N/A

      Apr 26, 2021 - Commissions Analyst in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, benefits, office location

      Cons

      Slow salary growth, high attrition, position eliminations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Allscripts Managed Services

      Apr 25, 2021 - Clinical Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Education opportunities readily available online

      Cons

      Local site advancement is limited

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      metrics take priority over assisting clients

      May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      local managers and coworkers are the best

      Cons

      offshore help desk was very knowledgeable but metrics took priority over assisting clients

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Enjoyed my time there on my team, but disapprove of the company as a whole

      May 3, 2021 - Associate Software Developer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent Salary, room to grow.

      Cons

      Frequent rounds of layoffs, management out of touch with employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,928 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Allscripts Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Services Consultant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Allscripts? Share Your Experiences

    or