American Tower Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
American Tower Chairman, President, and CEO Jim Taiclet Jr.
Jim Taiclet Jr.
231 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great financially stable company that offers a great work life balance(in 33 reviews)

  • "Very good benefits plan including options not often covered by employers(in 29 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "5 stars"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Tower full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Managers, People, Enviroment, Culture

    Cons

    It is a Fast Paced work

    American Tower2019-07-16
  2. "Steady Employer"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Operations Site Lead in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Tower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and reasonable pay

    Cons

    Often requires travel which can be hard with small children

    Continue reading
    American Tower2020-05-01
  3. "I had an incredible team to work with"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Coordinator 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Tower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the team I was on and interacting with other teams across the company; the benefits package is pretty impressive

    Cons

    Communication across departments and organizations across the board could be a lot better

    American Tower2020-05-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Awful Experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Structural Engineer in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Tower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing to mention because there was no pros for me.

    Cons

    I am very highly educated in the field of Structural Engineering, which at that time thought to be a great help for this company. However, 1) The basis of this company stands on only production and not employee growth. There are numerous number of towers needed to be analyzed very fast (almost 2 hours each). Everything is pre-set for you to only put loads and run the spreadsheet and then create the report which is with only one click. This process which you are supposed to do it in 2 hours should be done every day, every month and so on. I have seen some people even with no structural engineering background which were employed there and were doing the same thing. Therefore, you wont be exposed to new challenges and learn more things and strengthen your knowledge and experience to enjoy as structural engineer. Since I was so bored of this job it effaced my health at that period. 2) Management is very awful. My weekly meetings with my manager were almost like a court trial answering questions about why I didn't finish 20 structures this week or why I had this many mistakes or etc. 3) Report reviewers were not consistent in their comments. They even modified their own comments after multiple rounds which I was shocked. Some of them really enjoyed seeing you fail. I resigned from that company and moved to another structural industry and now I feel very happy and successful as I am solving different challenges and very appreciated by this industry. So far I never recommended my friends to join this company as reasons mentioned above.

    American Tower2020-05-22
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Tower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, benefits and compensation.

    Cons

    Can be long hours but the management team has been working to institute policies that encourage work life balance.

    American Tower2020-04-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Culture Lacking"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Tower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    American Tower is a very successful company in a line of business that should be rock solid for years to come. Diversification globally has set up the company well in the short and long term to reap high returns on real estate assets which in turn drive the stock price up. As owners of the stock, employees can ride the wave. Work life balance is solid, summer Fridays and casual attire in the office are appreciated. Benefits are solid and there are good people at the company for the most part

    Cons

    The culture on the sales team can be demoralizing for a regular sales person in a number of ways. For a $110 Billion plus company it is jarring to hear that they cannot pay commissions on time consistently. Goal posts are moved all too often to the detriment of sales people so much so that the last 3 years there have been 5 or less sales people that have hit 100% of their goal (which is then celebrated as presidents club and a $50 gift card). Managers justify this holding to company line. Pay is already on the low end of the industry which is justified by the use of "consultants" that are brought in yearly to analyze pay. There has been a refrain from leadership through the years that our sales team doesn't have much of an impact on numbers ("we would have gotten that sale anyways") which is demeaning to our work. On the one hand they use that to say that they don't need to pay market rate to their people, but on the other side they are always pushing our tiny sales team to come up with a constant stream of new ideas. Small sales team leads to minimal upward mobility. You don't start making real money until you hit a VP title (like 4 people) which are given out to "the old boys club" at ATC. Successes are not celebrated and managers goals are not aligned with their employees so you could have a manager who has a blowout year but one of his/her direct reports is often below 50% to goal. This is a regular occurrence every single year

    Continue reading
    American Tower2020-04-17
  7. "Company Rating"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Tower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ethical company, Focused Company, Highly capitalised

    Cons

    Stiff work processes, Flat structured Company

    Continue reading
    American Tower2020-03-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Attorney 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Tower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great financially stable company that offers a great work life balance.

    Cons

    Salaries are below market and the benefits do not offset.

    American Tower2020-03-05
  9. "Project manager"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chandler, AZ

    I worked at American Tower full-time

    Pros

    Excellent company that is growing

    Cons

    Trying to centralize and work from one location

    American Tower2020-03-13
  10. "Great compensation"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Tower full-time

    Pros

    A lot of benefits such as ESPP and bonus

    Cons

    Boston work environment is blan.

    American Tower2020-03-06
Found 395 reviews