KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

American Tower

Engaged Employer

American Tower

Add a Review

American Tower Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 503 of over 660 reviews

3.6
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
American Tower President and CEO Tom Barlett
Tom Barlett
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great financially stable company that offers a great work life balance(in 36 reviews)

  • "Very stable, good benefits and compensation(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Depending on manager little work/life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "Constant moving of desks so upper management can showcase certain types of employees(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Sexual Orientation

    This rating reflects the overall rating of American Tower and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Very good company!

      Jul 21, 2021 - AP Specialist in Boca Raton, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Medical, 401K, stock, PTO, vacation & health reimbursement

      Cons

      None, great management and great employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Was the top employer in Wireless

      Jun 23, 2021 - Mid Management in Woburn, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people making up strong teams. People love to work together here to get it done and all are appreciated for their efforts. Great work/life balance and unbelievably great benefits.

      Cons

      Hostile workplace from senior executive level that has spawned an exodus of truly great people. Under Jim Taiclet, American Tower was the best employer in wireless with many spending decades here. When he left, Tom Bartlett stepped into that roll and the workplace has become toxic. I've never seen nor heard discrimination of any type here but now we are bombarded with social agenda. There is a constant harassment of employees with the pushing of LGBTQ agenda. We are expected to participate in forums pushing LGBTQ as well as race-based favoritism. If you are a white male, particularly if you are Christian, the message has been you are sub-human. I've never heard anyone even slander another here, much less discriminate because of a personal choice. All people care about is can you do your job.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Dog and pony show with middle management- huge disconnect

      May 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits, they do some thoughtful things for employees occasionally to boost morale

      Cons

      It is very interesting, once you get into publicly traded companies things get very strange with decision making. I think the people in the trenches are great (really good people) , the executives have good vision, but there’s this middle management dog and pony show that I just can’t wrap my head around... they put a divide between the bottom and top due to lack of engagement and a working in silo mentality. Some in management don’t even know the day to day activities of the trench crew. That’s disheartening because it seems they don’t care to know either. Do as I say not as I do. Transparency and collaboration are hugely lacking between middle management and subordinates. You’re essentially treated like you should shut up, keep your head down, and not ask questions or make recommendations or suggestions for improvements internally. For those who would like to keep growing and advance internally it seems you’re not allowed to ‘until you have been there long enough’ maybe they are more concerned with turnover than hiring qualified people who would add the most value to a given position?! Very strange ... doesn’t give much incentive to keep grinding hard, does it?

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Corporate grind

      Jul 24, 2021 - Engineering Designer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are very good. Stock options and money towards fitness items.

      Cons

      It was akin to being a digital factory worker, just churning out product as fast as you can. Too much of the work has been automated and this has taken away the need to think very much about what I'm doing. The work feels soulless and repetitive. Working on the same project for months at a time where each site is nearly the same as the last isn't fulfilling. There needs to be more to the job than this. You feel like you have no agency. There's no variety to the work. From what I've been told by someone that worked on it, the goals that were set were based on a "time study" that wasn't even a study. They just asked people how long they thought certain jobs would take and went with it, and averaged it across all projects. There wasn't a thorough data gathering and analysis. The goals are set so high, it's just a constant stress every day. Also, this narrow focus on high production incentivizes poor quality work. I've seen it in the work of others that I've reviewed and it wasn't great, so I was tempted to do the same just to get the work done. I can't stand being sloppy and rushed in my work. I don't have a problem working hard, I just don't like continuously maxing myself out while doing something not challenging or rewarding. Management only seems to care about hitting goals and crushing the competition. The weekly meetings are overly positive which alone would just be plain nice, but in the current conditions it seems like putting lipstick on a pig. I was told that there was an exodus after the implementation of the goals about a year ago. I seem to be a part of the next exodus. They pay less than the market rate but make up for it at the end of the year with bonuses. This is a smart play, as they know that some employees won't last long enough to collect and thus make up for the difference. Typical corporation squeezing blood from a stone.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic Company!

      Jul 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, amazing benefits, and unlimited flexibility/remote work.

      Cons

      The salary ranges are a little low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Jun 26, 2021 - Senior Paralegal in Lawrence, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, bonuses, and stocks given are phenomenal Executives and Management are great Benefits are exceptional

      Cons

      I have nothing negative to say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not Recommended

      Jul 6, 2021 - Structural Engineer in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I didn't see any pros when I was there.

      Cons

      As a structural engineer you are only a number punching machine. Doing over and over boring things with very low learning process. The atmosphere is very toxic and up management just cares about number of reports you create. Don’t waste your time because you wouldn’t advance as a structural engineer. I couldn’t tolerate more than 9 month and I am so happy that resigned and moved to a much better company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place!

      Jun 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great culture to work for.

      Cons

      I do not have any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work and grow

      Jun 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very solid benefits and work life balance. Also great people to work with

      Cons

      Not available, American Tower was an over all great place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overworked and underpaid

      Mar 25, 2021 - Attorney in Woburn, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health insurance and fringe benefits are pretty good. Lower/middle legal management is competent and try to promote a healthy team atmosphere (despite negativity from other departments). Job security is decent. Yearly bonus has been consistent for several years.

      Cons

      Unrealistic timelines. Legal teams are wholly understaffed. Sales and Leasing management is out of touch and promote a toxic work environment. For a company that loves to say it promotes a healthy work-life balance, they do little to help alleviate the incredibly heavy workload. Salary is not competitive with other similar employers. Anytime you ask for a raise they give you an excuse as to why it’s not possible. Instead, they give you more projects and increase your workload as a way to “get you more exposure.” Little room for advancement. Upper management is completely out of touch.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 503 Reviews

    Popular Careers with American Tower Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at American Tower? Share Your Experiences

    or