AppStar Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

AppStar Financial Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
AppStar Financial CEO Mark S. Leibowitz  (no image)
Mark S. Leibowitz
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unique, professional approach to interviewing merchants(in 6 reviews)

  • "The managers for the outside sales reps are very helpful and will go to great lengths to assist you in closing deals(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "I could have signed up more merchants but eventually sabotaged my own deals because I knew I wasn't getting(in 10 reviews)

  • "Competitive industry with too many other bad companies that make the business owners leery of all companies(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppStar Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training, hours, management.. very helpful amazing hours

    Cons

    can't think of any cons at this time

    AppStar Financial2019-08-07
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppStar Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They gave me a platform to showcase my sales abilities. Not to mention, the commission structure is very generous. The appointments were set for me and all I had to do was suit up, show up and close the deal!

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say really. In this position I essentially worked for myself so everything I gained, I made with hard work and dedication.

    AppStar Financial2019-04-16
  3. "Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppStar Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, thorough training, and nice facility.

    Cons

    Early hours, poor planning, and parking sucks.

    AppStar Financial2019-05-09
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppStar Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with. . .a FAMILY atmosphere

    Cons

    Can't think of anything great place

    AppStar Financial2019-04-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant in Danbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppStar Financial for less than a year

    Pros

    Be your own boss. Work from home.

    Cons

    Overly aggressive boiler room mentality. The appointments they set for you are nonsense, merchants agree to them to get telemarketers off the phone. Very unprofessional people, who yell at you when you disagree with them.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in a professional sales team that is properly trained. Stop hiring anyone with a pulse to get feet on the street.

    AppStar Financial2019-01-18
  6. Helpful (12)

    "IT IS A SCAM PEOPLE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppStar Financial

    Pros

    No reason at all to work for appstar.

    Cons

    This is not a job. They will make you run your own business and call you "independent contractor." After you bring profits for them, they will pay you (or promise to pay you but maybe they wont? - Very unprofessional - Management records phone conversations to threated employees afterward - Promise to provide quality leads, however, when you go in, they wouldn't recognize you. - you wont probably close 1... sale - waste of own gas and money. Advice to you: don't take the job, rather stay unemployed, at least you won't waste unnecessary gas and on-road expenses.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If I had to sell someone else's things, why not go to any other business, sell their things for premium and make a profit for myself? People come to career sites to look at JOB that actually PAYS, not a lottery ticket to become "rich". You are essentially telling people to run their own business but promoting it as a job. Don't be a scam. People have families to feed and rent to pay. If this is a job, PAY!

    AppStar Financial2018-08-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "The money was good, It took some time to learn confirmation correctly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apointment Setter in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppStar Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work there will really work with you to get you up to speed and the money was very good once I figured out how to do things...

    Cons

    well not so much from the company but some reps complain a lot about everything, I just learned to tune them out...its a call center so it kind of goes with the territory.

    AppStar Financial2018-04-27
  8. Helpful (6)

    "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppStar Financial full-time

    Pros

    As a outside sales rep, the company kept me busy providing leads. As expected, the leads were not always good nor all bad. It is part of the sales game. Sales are always a numbers game. I found the company honest and trying to do the best for the consumer.

    Cons

    Routing sometimes became an issue and some of the appointments were no shows.

    Advice to Management

    Pay salesment more for the troubles.

    AppStar Financial2018-03-31
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Dont Not Trust Them !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appointment Setter in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppStar Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their are no pros about this company

    Cons

    Everthing I wouldnt advise working here

    Advice to Management

    Stop being crooked

    AppStar Financial2018-04-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Albuquerque, NM

    I worked at AppStar Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training process, helps with leads

    Cons

    Non I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    AppStar Financial2018-03-16
Found 78 reviews