Appen Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
282 Ratings
Pros
  • "Valuable/meaningful work from home, flexible hours, growth opportunities within the company as a contractor for, interesting projects(in 146 reviews)

  • "flexible work time and a variety of opportunities(in 92 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, to many materials learn for(in 50 reviews)

  • "Contract work with no benefits or tax holdings(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "social media"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customs Rater in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, part-time, home-based work that requires a computer and/or mobile device

    Cons

    late reply of support answers

    Appen2020-01-09
  2. "Overall Great!!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internet Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, can work remotely and at home

    Cons

    qualification process and project assignment takes long

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-05-28
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Would Not Recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They let us keep our snacks and lunches in the SF office. Sad that this is the only thing I can think of.

    Cons

    CEO is self-absorbed and only hires VPs that will say what he wants to hear. People at HQ are paid little and because of that they will cut any top paying performers at other offices. Not open to new ideas, thinking the wheel they built long ago still works today.

    Appen2020-04-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Evaluator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you find a good task the money is pretty consistent. You get to work your own hours.

    Cons

    You're a contractor, so no benefits at all and you have to pay the full FICA tax.

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-04-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "contractor as web search evaluator"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time

    Pros

    flexible, great pay, easy task

    Cons

    uncertain of employment. Project can end abruptly. Not allowed to work outside your country of residence.

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-04-22
  6. "Good Experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Evaluator in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work when i want to work. It's very flexible

    Cons

    it's not paying exactly what they say. If you are social media evaluator you will be paid for only the post that you have rated and not for the posts that you did not see a problem. That's not good. Because the recorder time that you rate doesn't work properly.

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-04-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Feels Like Leadership Cares More About Stock Price Than Employee Wellbeing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Our clients are smart and doing very interesting work.

    Cons

    I am a legacy Figure Eight employee, acquired by Appen in early 2019. Very little thought was put into how Figure Eight employees would be integrated into the new company. We certainly feel like an after-thought. Bare Minimum Benefits. Big HR announcement at the company all-hands was receiving 4 weeks' paternity. Compared to the employer brands around Silicon Valley they simply don't compete. Culture: Despite the company doing quite well, there's very little comradery. It feels quite political like there are a handful of people that make all the decisions. There's little sense of urgency and wins aren't celebrated as often as one would hope. Most of the employees are work from home which contributes. Summary: This is no longer a fun, scrappy, fast-paced SF tech company.

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-04-16

    Appen Response

    April 30, 2020HR Manager

    We thank you for your feedback and are sorry that you feel not much thought was given to the integration into the new company. As with any integration, companies must make some hard decisions and benefit programs are bound to change. Our HR team worked tirelessly to ensure the benefit programs that were offered very closely matched what was previously given. We do offer a very robust and comprehensive benefits package to our employees. The HR team was also on the ground to ensure new employees felt welcomed and they had the information they needed. Again, we are very sorry if the integration process did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss further, we encourage you to reach out to your HR representative.

  8. "Good for students and people who are looking for part time job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Social Media Evaluator in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible workhours; Easy to apply; Light work

    Cons

    Bad communication; Not enough work sometimes

    Appen2020-04-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of leadership integrity but great employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team in the San Francisco Bay Area is great. The work that Appen does is meaningful.

    Cons

    Lack of meaningful communication from leadership. You get excuses and finger-pointing about everything. Culture plummeted in 2019 and 2020.

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-04-30
  10. "Senior execs care about their stock price, not their employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appen full-time

    Pros

    The original Figure Eight people in the SF office are great. The office is nice and people can work from home.

    Cons

    Employees are not valued and their opinions are not considered. Focus on culture and employee satisfaction has virtually disappeared since the acquisition of Figure Eight. It's almost impossible to get equity unless you are at the highest level of the company. There is a lack of transparency and communication in the business. Senior management is hands-off and there is little training or process internally so it's difficult to do your job well with no direction. There is little room for career advancement. All decisions are made at the highest level and are slow to be communicated, rolled out or implemented.

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-04-30

    Appen Response

    May 7, 2020HR Manager

    We’re sorry you feel this way. We have been as transparent as possible during the transition. We held multiple open forums and posted communications via our internal employee portal. Our executives hold monthly Q&A calls where our employees are able to send in questions beforehand and the executives address concerns. If there are any concerns you have, we ask that you please reach out to your manager or dedicated HR representative.

Found 781 reviews