Baton Rouge General Reviews | Glassdoor

Baton Rouge General Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Baton Rouge General CEO Edgardo Tenreiro
Edgardo Tenreiro
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Project workflows tend to be decided entirely by upper management(in 4 reviews)

  • "Low pay, but goes with the territory in this city(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Coding Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Coding Specialist in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Impressive and Fair. Remote coding Continuing education.

    Cons

    Very busy at times. Computers going down, but that is taken care of by IT.

    Continue reading
    Baton Rouge General2019-01-03
  2. "Great Hospital!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s a great hospital and I loved the people I worked with on the unit. I was always treated fairly, and respected my supervisor.

    Cons

    The insurance plan, like most hospitals, wasn't the best plan for me and my family specifically. They consider themselves to have Pediateic services and I disagree, but insurance won’t cover taking your child to other facilities with more pediatric services available.

    Baton Rouge General2020-02-18
  3. "Baton Rouge General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Charge Nurse in Baton Rouge, LA

    I worked at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Seven shifts per 2 week period schedule with every other weekend off.

    Cons

    Communication from management was slow to occur

    Continue reading
    Baton Rouge General2019-12-10
  4. "Lowest paying hospital in Baton Rouge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sometimes you may recieve a yearly bonus

    Cons

    Pay raises are low They are always in the red or purple Do not give to the employee giving the program, When you need help they will not help you when you need it

    Continue reading
    Baton Rouge General2019-10-29
  5. "PCA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pca in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere depending on unit

    Cons

    In quality work performance

    Baton Rouge General2019-09-10
  6. "Busy yet satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Patient Transporter 

    I have been working at Baton Rouge General part-time

    Pros

    Exposure to many hospital departments

    Cons

    Exhausting physical work that is not adequately compensated.

    Baton Rouge General2019-08-07
  7. "Negotiate Before accepting an offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coding Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mid city location family atmosphere. Bluebonnet location is strictly business.

    Cons

    Employer is not flexible. Pay raises are only between 2-3% annually.

    Baton Rouge General2019-07-31
  8. "Started well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Helpdesk Technician in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GPT to use for anything you want is nice. Fast paced

    Cons

    Everything another team doesn't want to do gets dumped on desktop. IS is cheap. super cheap. don't plan on advancing without a brown nose. Raises are 3% unless you are the best brown noser then you get 5%.

    Baton Rouge General2019-07-30
  9. "Posting payments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cash Poster 

    I worked at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company / benefits was good.

    Cons

    Low pay and unorganized

    Baton Rouge General2019-06-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Staff Nurse, RN, BSN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Convent, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baton Rouge General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros about this facility is that it welcomed me with open arms upon hire while trying to find a place to work closer to home, they understood my situation, and the team dynamic upon hire was amazing and very supportive.

    Cons

    The cons: First I want to start with thanking the Baton Rouge General for the opportunity to work for them and the experience I have gained. Upon hire like I said in the pros section great team dynamic great support, but things changed. I have now been working for the General for two years now going on three, and I have noticed not only a change in the work environment, high turn over rate, staffing situation, high nurse burn out, patient acuity vs. nurse to patient ratio, poor organization, and poor management. But, what I have noticed is a trend in nurses not having a voice when it comes to situations that need to be spoken on or things that need to be handle on the unit that needs improvement. On the unit I work on I felt as a nurse I did the best I could, going to work everyday giving 110 percent staying late nights, and still I felt like my work and what I did is not good enough and management made me feel as if I wasn’t giving my all when I do all I can do for my patients. I take my job very seriously I am very passionate about being a nurse and caring for people, it’s part of my life, and it saddens me to feel as if I am not being given the credit for what I am doing especially when I am giving my all, and I will be the bigger person and speak for my team because if it wasn’t for my team of nurses on my unit I don’t think I would have stayed as long as I did those ladies and men are amazing from the nurses, telemetry techs, cardiac rehab, PCA’s, Lab techs, doctors, EVS workers, dietary, and transporters; the credit is given from my voice because I think we deserve it. I know every hospital has its flaws, but at some point they need to be fixed. Also, addressing management I know times can get touch but we need leaders that will tackle situations good or bad, big or small, and most of all making there employees feel valued. As a team we have spoken up and still I see failure in things that are not being improved. To list those things, staffing I know we have to hire to get staffing but also patient ratio, acuity, and nurse burn out is a problem. To address this I think the hospital is forgetting the bigger picture, the well being of the patients and safe patient quality care. On the unit I work on the patient acuity is very high, very fast pace unit which; I love the pace, but what is not being address is patient load and patient acuity. Error is liable to be made if you give for example, one nurse 2-3 open heart patients that need practically one on one care that has a max of 6 total patients while being continuously slammed with admits and discharges, organization is definitely a problem. Nursing assignments are definitely a work in progress. Nurse burn out is not only bad for the nurse but is very very harmful to the patient, and nothing is being done about this issue. Delegation, communication, leadership, advocacy, and organization is the key. If the hospital does not fix these areas it will carry over to the next facility that is in the progress of being opened, and high turn over rates will continue to be an issue due to nurse burn out, but also patient safety concerns. It does have an effect it might not be an issue now, but it is a growing problem, and if it’s not the employees management needs to be addressed. Look at the bigger picture what is creating these issues. With that being said I do love what I do as a nurse, and it does carry over into my everyday life this is not just a job for me it is truly a passion, and I will speak up where change and rights that need to happen, and will always fight for the better as long as I am a nurse and as long as I live, I will be the voice of reason. Once again thank you Baton Rouge General for the opportunity to work for your organization and for the experience I have gained at your facility it is greatly appreciated, and I will carry that with me through my advancing nursing career.

    Continue reading
    Baton Rouge General2019-07-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 86 reviews