CTS (Computer Technology Solutions) Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 of over 84 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
CTS (Computer Technology Solutions) CEO  Larry Lilley (no image)
Larry Lilley
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very respectful of work/life balance (40-45 hour work week is the norm)(in 6 reviews)

  • "CTS is a truly a great place to work(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You are a consultant, meaning sometimes you may be asked to travel to a client's site(in 2 reviews)

  • "starting salary(in 2 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company, Great people, Great clients, Great results

      Oct 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company truly cares about it's people and its clients. Management makes an effort to get to know the employees and keep us informed.

      Cons

      no cons at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      an ok place to work

      Jun 27, 2019 - Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very nice people to work with

      Cons

      pay stunk compared to others

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Review

      May 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good. No issues with the company

      Cons

      I didn't find any cons from the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Best IT company to work for in the South East.

      Dec 9, 2015 - Manager in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The owners are conservative and structured the company to maintain a healthy growth rate. There are clear paths for career progression. We have more opportunities than the typical IT shop to learn a broad range of technologies. Our project leverage model ensures that each team has senior level members available and access to our entire consulting pool. We provide training for all new hires to make sure everyone is ready to be placed on projects. The leadership team is made up of truly good people that have everyone's wellbeing in mind. CTS rewards hard work and commitment to the company by promoting from within when possible. Our recruiters do an excellent job finding quality people. I started my career at CTS and fully expect to retire from here. We are a big family that is constantly growing.

      Cons

      Just like any company that is growing and expanding, we have experienced growing pains. Some of the original company culture has diminished over the years mostly due to geographic expansion. We used to have company wide events, but the logistics have limited us to individual office events.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      CTS is a Great Place to Work!

      Jun 23, 2016 - Analyst I in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company feels like a close knit team of friends rather then coworkers. Management in the local offices is great and very understanding the work-life balance is fantastic. The location(Charlotte) that I worked at is 5-6 hours away from headquarters in Birmingham however we saw and interacted with upper level management a good bit which is awesome for developing your career. The work is pretty exciting as well you can find yourself working with multiple different technologies in the span of a year which is awesome for personal growth. On top of that the developers and senior developers there are some of the best that I've seen in the industry. This is an excellent enviorment for starting or ending your career they offer challenging and entertaining work for anyone at any skill level. I highly recommend CTS Charlotte and CTS as a whole to anyone looking for a career change.

      Cons

      My diet basically went downhill because of all the food we had in office. They didn't have a toaster so I had to buy one.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      CTS is the worst place I've ever worked

      Jul 17, 2015 - Consultant in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good for newbies just out of college, who don't know any better about the salaries available and are 'yes' people.

      Cons

      You are looked down on, even after you've proven yourself. Those senior to you act like they know everything and you know nothing. Promotions are very dependent on getting certifications although they claim otherwise. Want a promotion here? Good luck. Oh, and they give you four weeks of vacation to start. Sounds great, but good luck every trying to take it. Oh, and they don't compensate you for parking, which to me was a big deal since I worked uptown. You supposedly have Fridays off, but God forbid if you live by that. There's a weekly meeting on Friday that you're not "required" to go to, but you are looked down on if you don't go. My advice to you reading this: stay away. Your upward mobility will be severely limited, your salary lower than most other companies, and all they worry about in the meetings is revenue. People are rarely celebrated, nor are their achievements celebrated, unless they put in 80 hours a week, even though they're only compensated for 40 hours a week. They throw you a dog bone every three months for 'hazard' pay, but it in no way makes up for the overtime you work. The execs are laughing all the way to the bank.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great employees, but terrible management in Mobile office

      May 20, 2017 - Analyst II in Mobile, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The boot camp training was great. I learned a lot. It's the only reason I gave CTS two stars above. The people you work with are very smart and dedicated. If I were a customer of CTS, I would feel confident that I was receiving a quality product. If you're fresh out of college, this is where you want to begin your career. Well, at least for the training when you're first hired. After that, keep your resume updated.

      Cons

      Pay is at the lower end of the scale here in Mobile. Management at the Mobile location was terrible. I felt like I was working in a company run by a third-world dictator. Anything and everything you say gets reported to management. Adults who are coming from other companies where open collaboration and painful truths expressed about existing processes are accepted, will not do well at CTS. I think there's a reason why there were so many younger employees at the Mobile office. Well, at least at the beginning of 2016 when I left. Older employees like myself won't put up with being treated in such a manner.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The most honest and talented company out there

      Oct 1, 2014 - Business Development Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I made the change from the IT staffing industry to the IT services industry recently when I took my position with CTS. Within the first week I was blown away by the level of IT talent and institutionalized knowledge here. The retention rate is very high and it shows. They really care about the success of their employees and will help in any way possible to make sure that everyday works together to succeed. It is a dream job in the IT services field.

      Cons

      You will definitely feel like the dumbest person in the room at first, because these guys are SMART. But it is only a con if you want it to be. I have found it to be an excellent learning experience.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to get experience

      Dec 4, 2012 - Consultant II in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to get experience. They promote many different types of training. They pay and give bonuses for certifications. The entry level positions are asked to learn about all major technologies we work with before focusing on their field.

      Cons

      You are a consultant, meaning sometimes you may be asked to travel to a client's site. Consultants sometimes work odd hours. Most days are the standard 8:30-5:30, but that may change due to deadlines or client obligations. If you do not know how to balance work and life without the standard 9-5 situation, this is not for you. If you only want to do one thing and one thing only, this is not the place for you. They push you to make you more well rounded. QA people sometimes do a little development work and vise versa.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Growth. Opportunity. Culture

      Apr 11, 2017 - Engineer in Mobile, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So many great things to say about this company and the three words I used in the title really sum it up. The company has been consistently growing, year after year. There are many opportunities for personal growth and career advancement. If you are a dedicated, hungry, hard working individual then you will do very well here. The emphasis on company culture and community service make it a great place to show up every day. Top notch benefits and pay is inline or above market rates. Great work/life balance and you can tell that the Directors and members of leadership care about their team.

      Cons

      Very few, if any.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 81 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CTS (Computer Technology Solutions) Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CTS (Computer Technology Solutions)? Share Your Experiences

    CTS (Computer Technology Solutions) logo
    or