Calix Reviews | Glassdoor

Calix Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Calix CEO Carl Russo
Carl Russo
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "While work-life balance has improved, it remains a challenge(in 12 reviews)

  • "Don't the upper management see that one of them is only protecting his (weak) friends while letting go talented engineers(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Company is great with some hard working people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commodity Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice perks, good salary and compensation, diverse and hardworking people, good company culture and morals

    Cons

    processes are less defined here, a lot of strong personalities due to experience, can be unreponsive

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    Calix2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Thriving company, strong teamwork!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of career growth and opportunity!

    Cons

    Work Like balance is non-existent

    Calix2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots to learn Tons of smart people

    Cons

    Bad work / life balance. Leadership

    Calix2019-08-21
  4. "Great Place to Grow Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Solutions Engineer in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time

    Pros

    Great people that are Team focused on being successful.

    Cons

    This is a fast moving company and it can be difficult to keep up with all of the changes.

    Calix2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (4)

    "its going down, stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    if you are in the "in" circle then you get some benefits.

    Cons

    incompetent leadership. Questionable direction. Betting on one customer. Compensation below average.

    Advice to Management

    at this point its hopeless.

    Calix2019-06-26
  6. "Good company to work for with a few caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall working conditions are good. Pay and medical are great. They keep break room stocked with free beverages like soda and coffee. Also, have fresh fruit. You will learn a lot and be driven to enhance your professional skills.

    Cons

    Very quick to layoff and you never know it is coming. My job was based on contracts and it seemed that every year we got less and fewer contracts. I survived several but they eventually got to me. I hold no ill will towards Calix but they need to work better at getting new contacts and keeping them.

    Calix2019-06-13
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Seemed like headless chicken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time

    Pros

    - Good benefits - Surrounded by skilled and smart people

    Cons

    A Lot: - Good strategy, but poor execution. Constant losses with supposedly "award-winning products". - Constant layoffs & disruptive changes. Some people may think that is good, but it affects work environment negatively. Cannot recommend anyone to work here . - Cannot win markets while constantly laying off old-timer employees who helped built this company. Most of them have now found better jobs if... you look at their Linkedin. If they wouldn't have skills, they wouldn't have found those better jobs. - Lower compensation than market rates

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Get your act together - Respect loyal employees. Do not treat them like liabilities or assets. - Stop kicking out people and contracting work to consulting companies. - With the reputation Calix has now, its already hard to attract good talent, and it will get worse as more good people leave the company.

    Calix2019-05-05
  8. "Great place to work. I was just on the wrong side of the business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Operations Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The folks I worked with were some of the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Not sure if Executive Management takes everything needed into consideration before making decisions.

    Calix2019-03-20
  9. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time

    Pros

    Love working here. Very challenging because company is evolving in both technology and culture.

    Cons

    Sometime working remote can be lonely and feels disconnected from company but I doubt that is specific to Calix.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget you are here for us.

    Calix2018-12-16
  10. Helpful (12)

    "A manager - Can't tell more because they will guess out who I am"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time

    Pros

    Good industry because not too many companies making optic network devices and the competition is relatively low.

    Cons

    - Very high turnover rate since 2014, hired around 10 new VPs and replaced or left about 5. About 5 directors were hired and then fired within less than a year. - Most political company I ever seen - when they don't like someone, they will make rumors to blacken him/her. - Horrible system test and automation team - they don't know how to reject unreasonable requirement and they can't find valuable bugs using... minimum resources. They wasted too much money on outsourcing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Minimize the multiple located offices to 1 or 2. - Downgrade management title by 1 at least because they are not qualified.

    Calix2018-11-08
Found 158 reviews