KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Electronic Merchant Systems

Engaged Employer

Electronic Merchant Systems

Add a Review

Electronic Merchant Systems Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 of over 148 reviews

3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Electronic Merchant Systems President and CEO Dan Neistadt
Dan Neistadt
5 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years
    Featured Review

    Family

    Oct 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    EMS presents and upholds a family and team feel. You are treated as an equal and your opinions / suggestions matter.

    Cons

    I am unable to think of any!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Electronic Merchant Systems Response

    VP, Digital Marketing

    Thank you for leaving a 5-Star review. At Electronic Merchant Systems, we continuously strive to serve you better. We are glad that you value the efforts we have put towards creating a positive environment at EMS. We also strive to make sure that everyone is given an equal opportunity to grow on our team. Thank you again!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    GREAT PLACE TO WORK AND GROW

    Sep 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good Atmosphere is great Company puts employees first

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Electronic Merchant Systems Response

    VP, Digital Marketing

    Thank you for leaving a 5-Star review. At Electronic Merchant Systems, we continuously strive to serve you better. We are glad that you value the efforts we have put towards creating a positive environment at EMS. We also strive to make sure that everyone is given an equal opportunity to grow on our team. Thank you again!

  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It’s time for a change

    Apr 21, 2022 - Client Service Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Medium sized company with an intimate nature. You get to work closely with your management and coworkers. They do lots of nice things to create a decent work environment including providing the tools needed to effectively to our jobs. They make an effort to provide amenities in the work environment.

    Cons

    Not progressive especially in the area of work from home although the technology is clearly present. Training is a huge area of lack which is why work from home is only used when it’s to the advantage of management. People are not trained, the managers aren’t empowered and hence we cannot work from home. The company is not very people oriented and provides lots of perks that they think we want instead of the things that would actually raise the morale in the workplace. There is a very high turnover rate and people that have been here for years are leaving. There’s no room for growth or career paths built into any area of the business.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Toxic work environment, No support, unclear direction

    Jun 12, 2022 - Appointment Setter in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have developed long lasting friendships with many of the former employees of the company

    Cons

    I started working for this company in 2018, and in the beginning, I enjoyed coming into work, unfortunately that feeling of enjoyment was very brief. I experienced constant stress from executive leadership and in many ways was bullied by the management team. While there were some good days, there were more horrible days than good.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work.

    Mar 24, 2022 - Product Analyst in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The comradery around the office is great. Some of the bosses are really good.

    Cons

    The attendance policy is atrocious. The SUPER anti work from home policy is detrimental. Paying for parking due to it being located inside tower city is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fine work place

    Mar 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair pay for fair work. Rarely intrudes into personal life. Flexible working around appointments.

    Cons

    Like any company, EMS has its share of disfunction and negatives. These are no worse here than any other company I've worked for.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Electronic Merchant Systems Response

    VP, Digital Marketing

    Words do not suffice to express how grateful we are for your review. We believe that business is all about people and one of the greatest compliments we can receive are those that come from our co-workers. Thank you!

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not appropriate

    Apr 1, 2022 - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Any one can apply n can do

    Cons

    Heavy lifting boring boring boring

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Unorganized

    Feb 21, 2022 - Client Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free tickets to sporting events if your name is pulled from a hat WEEKLY pay

    Cons

    Management favoritism amongst employees Work processes not up to date HR is supposed to be there for you and it’s where the company begins and ends and it’s the biggest problem.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Electronic Merchant Systems Response

    VP, Digital Marketing

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave you feedback! Our HR Director has an open door policy and would love to get additional feedback from you. Feel free to schedule a conversation with Toni at 800-726-2117 x1750.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Not bad if you’re good at sales

    Nov 4, 2021 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freedom to choose what areas you work in and maximizing your day

    Cons

    Making monthly numbers during covid

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Electronic Merchant Systems Response

    VP, Digital Marketing

    Words do not suffice to express how grateful we are for your review. We believe that business is all about people and one of the greatest compliments we can receive are those that come from our co-workers. Thank you!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A Great Place to Work!

    Jan 22, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall, I feel EMS does a fantastic job of taking care of their employees, and has done an exceptional job in handling the COVID-19 pandemic. Every few weeks, in-office employees are tested to ensure the safety of everyone in-office; this offer was also extended to out of office employees. The health benefits, along with 401k program (and matching contributions by EMS) I feel are also really good for employees, and allows us to get the medical care we need, along with planning for our futures. From a career development standpoint, EMS allows employees to grow and advance in different positions throughout the company, and management does allow courses to be taken by employees to better-advance their skillset. Personally, I feel as if I have been given a significant amount of opportunities to grow as an employee within the roles I have worked in at the company that I did not experience at previous companies. During non-COVID years, EMS also offers employees opportunities to win tickets to local sporting events, hosts in-office lunches, and offers volunteer opportunities with the Browns, Food Bank, and Coach Sam's Scholars.

    Cons

    I do wish there was a better onboarding process during the initial hiring of employees; I felt this was lacking when I was first hired.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Electronic Merchant Systems Response

    VP, Digital Marketing

    Our goal is to make you a part of our family and make you feel proud to work for EMS. We really appreciate the kind words!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 143 Reviews

Electronic Merchant Systems Reviews FAQs

Electronic Merchant Systems has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 148 reviews left anonymously by employees. 72% of employees would recommend working at Electronic Merchant Systems to a friend and 58% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Electronic Merchant Systems employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Electronic Merchant Systems. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

72% of Electronic Merchant Systems employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Electronic Merchant Systems 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Electronic Merchant Systems to be career development, coworkers, compensation and the cons to be culture, benefits, management.

Popular Careers with Electronic Merchant Systems Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Electronic Merchant Systems? Share Your Experiences

or

Electronic Merchant Systems Careers

Cover image for Electronic Merchant Systems

As an Electronic Merchant Systems’ team member, you will not only have the opportunity to advance your professional career and reach your...More

  • History
  • About Us
  • Happenings
  • What We Do
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Electronic Merchant Systems

116 days ago

Company News
Electronic Merchant Systems (EMS) is an industry-leading provider of payment processing and merchant services solutions. EMS is headquartered in Cleveland, Ohio, with offices and agents located across the country. Since 1988, the company has been helping business owners grow their financial well-being by offering a comprehensive suite of innovative, cost-effective payment solutions and high-quality customer service.
Shared image - Electronic Merchant Systems Receives 1,000 Google Reviews
Electronic Merchant Systems Receives 1,000 Google Reviews
www.emscorporate.com
Logo

Electronic Merchant Systems

293 days ago

Community
Official Football Season Update This coming Sunday, our Cleveland Browns kick off their regular season at Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City. On September 19th they'll take on the Houston Texans at First Energy Stadium here in Cleveland. Speaking of First Energy Stadium, Electronic Merchant Systems is excited to announce that we have a sponsored gate. If you're headed to the game, look for our name and logo on the Norteast side of the stadium.
Shared image
See all

Electronic Merchant Systems Photos

+ Add Photo
Electronic Merchant Systems photo of: Electronic Merchant Systems Gate at First Energy Stadiun
Electronic Merchant Systems photo of: Celebrating International Women's Day
Electronic Merchant Systems photo of: 2021 National Ugly Sweater Day
Electronic Merchant Systems photo of: First Energy Stadium
Electronic Merchant Systems photo of: 2021 First & Ten Toy Drive
Electronic Merchant Systems photo of: 2021 First & Ten Toy Drive
Electronic Merchant Systems photo of: 2021 First & Ten Toy Drive
See All Photos