Exelon Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Exelon President & CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
259 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, reasonable hours, nice environment(in 65 reviews)

  • "Exelon legitimately does have above-market pay and benefits(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance, plant closed earlier than expected(in 68 reviews)

  • "Engineers are stretched very thin and often work long hours(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "As Advertised"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exelon markets itself as a leader in the future of energy. In fact, they are. The bulk of their energy portfolio is nuclear which is a zero emission fuel source which will be vital as we (hopefully) move away from fossil fuels. Additionally, they sell potential staff on competitive benefits, growth opportunity, and diversity. Generally, these are catch-all phrases that sound great on paper but are never put into action. Exelon legitimately does have above-market pay and benefits. Base comp, retirement, etc. are all above market and they also leverage their size to get some really cool fringe benefits as well! Further, there is ample opportunity for growth within your department and company-wide. They offer analytics, learning modules, tuition assistance, and plenty of inter-departmental groups. Lastly, diversity is key here. Exelon aims to mimic the communities they are located within so you truly do get a wide range of backgrounds, races, ethnicity, and just overall personalities here. It makes our company great.

    Cons

    Sometimes due to company size things move a little slow and there can also be unfair work balance between teams.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thanks so much for the feedback; it is our goal to consistently provide an employment experience that aligns with the value proposition we communicate.

  2. "Challenging Environment & Inclusive Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to hold various career positions within one company

    Cons

    Disconnect between IT and Business Partners at times

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    May 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review of working at Exelon. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to continuously improve.

  3. "Honest opinion about working at PECO."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly environment, and the ability to move to other positions in the company.

    Cons

    Be sure to follow the rules or else you will get fired. They will not care if did not do something wrong.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good days & Bad Days"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Cordova, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Insurance Great Pay Good Training Consistent Expectation

    Cons

    Good Employees Stuck in current Jobs Potential for High School-like drama Getting Hurt means being abandoned (No matter how much they try to tell you otherwise)

    Continue reading
  5. "Exelon Corp nuclear security"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Armed Security Officer in Lacey, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    God benefits, good instructors and training

    Cons

    Very corporate, upper management does not consider well being from lower level employees

    Exelon Response

    July 6, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review of working at Exelon. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to continuously improve.

  6. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, pay and people

    Cons

    Politics can be too much

    Exelon Response

    July 6, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and giving us the opportunity to continue improving. We greatly appreciate your long-standing service and dedication.

  7. "Potential Employee"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pension, security, rate of pay

    Cons

    office politics, potential stress, big deadlines

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    June 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a balanced review of the company. We are committed to improving employee experience and feedback like yours helps us do that.

  8. "Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive Environment, Good Learning Place

    Cons

    I don't know if there are any cons

    Exelon Response

    June 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We love to hear that Exelon is a good place to learn. We are committed to providing opportunities for employees to continuously learn and grow.

  9. "Decent place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit package is good. Work is challenging.

    Cons

    Redtape and constantly evolving new software to do our jobs can slow down progress.

    Exelon Response

    June 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and giving us the opportunity to continue improving. We greatly appreciate your long-standing service and dedication.

  10. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Design Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment friendly people

    Cons

    No cons just get used to having fun and long hours

    Exelon Response

    June 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We appreciate your dedication and hard work that enables us to achieve our shared purpose, and we're glad that you enjoy working at Exelon!

Found 606 reviews