Exelon Reviews | Glassdoor

Exelon Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 546 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Exelon CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
236 Ratings
Pros
  • "felxability to work remotely, good pay(in 63 reviews)

  • "Great pay and benefits, great innovations and forward thinking progress(in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be tricky for full time employees during outages(in 64 reviews)

  • "Long hours (but doesn't bother me) and a lot of information to learn (also doesn't bother me)(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, ample of opportunity to learn and grow, open and friendly communication with manager and senior executive

    Cons

    can't think of much about Cons

    Exelon2018-07-16

    Exelon Response

    August 8, 2018Talent Acquisition

    We are so happy to hear this! Thank you for sharing your feedback.

  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Spent 37 years with this company.

    Cons

    None that I can list. If you work in Generation you must be able to be on call. Same with wire side of company.

    Exelon2019-06-03
  3. "Ok but could do better leadership development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, IT in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, diversity keeps increasing

    Cons

    Hard to move up if they feel comfortable with you in a particular position.

    Exelon2019-05-28
  4. "Tired to having to do more, with less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, great innovations and forward thinking progress

    Cons

    Trickle down management, all about the bottom line

    Exelon2019-05-09
  5. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved my team. My Director was supportive of my initiatives and goals. Compensation and Bonus were excellent.

    Cons

    Hiring process takes weeks. Relocation to Chicago or Baltimore required for upward mobility in Finance and Accounting.

    Exelon2019-05-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Over worked and undertrained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay rate. Also the company has an emphasis on career progression. Also, they are attempting to cut the administrative burdens that plague engineers, although with extremely limited success.

    Cons

    The staff has been severely cut, through retirements and normal attrition, in an effort to reduce overhead. But no work has been cut. Engineers are stretched very thin and often work long hours. What makes the situation worse is the lack of knowledge retention. We have lost a lot of very smart folks with 30 plus years of experience to retirement but there is very little effort to transfer their knowledge and experience...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When new policies are dreamed up, also enact a workable change management plan. If you reduce workers, you have to reduce work otherwise it doesnt make a difference.

    Exelon2019-05-13
  7. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and compensation.

    Cons

    Little room for innovation and change.

    Advice to Management

    Be more forward thinking.

    Exelon2019-04-22

    Exelon Response

    May 6, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    We appreciate you sharing your perspective! Innovation is one of our core values and we encourage curiosity and exploration to develop better ways of delivering clean energy. Thank you for sharing our commitment to challenging our people to step forward with new ideas!

  8. "Good money in exchange for social life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Armed Security Officer in Clinton, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's good money, and if you're into working overtime, there's plenty of that. It's super easy.

    Cons

    There is a lot of forced overtime because they refuse to hire enough people. You can't count on having your days off, and so you can't plan anything. It takes years to go from nights to days. 12 hour shifts can really grind you down.

    Advice to Management

    For the love of God, hire more people than the bare bones minimum.

    Exelon2019-05-07
  9. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Exelon full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and Work life balance

      Cons

      Management cant manage Lack of respect to lower level employees

      Exelon2019-04-14

      Exelon Response

      May 6, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

      We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will reach out to your HR representative so that we can better understand the concerns you mention.

    • "Pays well, great benefits, long hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst 

      I have been working at Exelon full-time

      Pros

      Pays well and has great benefits.

      Cons

      Workload is heavy at times.

      Exelon2019-04-09

      Exelon Response

      May 6, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

      Thank you for providing a review! We strive to support work-life balance for our employees, although we recognize that at times and within certain departments, longer hours may be required and we appreciate the dedication of our employees to achieving our shared purpose.

    Found 546 reviews