ExtraHop Networks Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
ExtraHop Networks CEO Arif Kareem (no image)
Arif Kareem
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance (no need to check email away from the office)(in 6 reviews)

  • "Smart people with quality on their minds, working on an interesting product(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Significant operational growing pains(in 11 reviews)

  • "It can be a fast paced environment so be prepared to ask questions and to learn as you go(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Mar 29, 2021 - Senior Payroll Administrator in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun Team and great work life balance

      Cons

      No criticism, it is a great company, with a great accounting team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Why I came back to ExtraHop

      Mar 26, 2021 - Marketing in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm a "boomerang" employee –– I left ExtraHop and then I came back. And as a boomerang employee, I have a fairly unique perspective on the company that I thought might be helpful for others evaluating an opportunity here. First, let me be totally honest: I left ExtraHop for a job title. I got an offer, it looked great on paper, and I was flattered. Flattery is a terrible reason to take an offer. As I was leaving, a wise colleague of mine said to me: "just make sure you chasing fulfillment and not attainment." I left chasing attainment. I returned chasing fulfillment. I left ExtraHop, but my heart didn't. Let's talk about why. (1) ExtraHop has an awesome product. It just does. The tech is genuinely cool. It took the company awhile to find the right product-market fit, but it has and now it's growing fast in a hot segment. And while the product is complex, people here will actually take the time to explain it to the non-technical people... like me. (2) The people... I adore the people at this company. There's a whole cohort that's been there since the early days. There's minimal ego, and a genuinely good sense of humor and camaraderie that comes from the top down. My kids used to come by the office regularly and people would bring out the toys they had in their offices for them to play with. Now that we're all remote, my kids zoom bomb all the time and its never an issue, not even in calls with executive leadership. (3) Speaking of my kids, I have two of them. Both born during my first stint at ExtraHop. This didn't stop the company from promoting me several times. (4) Related, and because I get asked about this all the time: DEI, including women in leadership roles, is something ExtraHop is very focused on. It's not perfect, but the company has put huge emphasis on hiring diverse candidates, including into leadership roles. Yes, we have mostly men on our executive team. Can't deny that. But at the VP and Director level, there's a strong and growing contingent of women that have been both hired in and promoted to that level. Those women –– including me –– have a seat at the table, no question. (5) There is enormous integrity at this company. Sometimes, that integrity can feel like a detriment. We see other companies go out and make outsized claims, but we don't. It's a cultural thing, and one of the things I like most about working for ExtraHop. I trust leadership and the people around me to do the right thing. I want to work for a company that values honesty and transparency. Not every company does. (6) I'm not the only boomerang. Far from it. In fact, there's a growing roster of prodigal employees. To a letter, they all pretty much say the same thing: amazing tech, awesome people, I learn something every day. We're not hard to find on LinkedIn. Seriously, do a little digging and ask us. But beyond what the boomerangs say about ExtraHop, it's what their very presence communicates: this company values talent and they not only work to retain it, but to make it compelling to come back.

      Cons

      No company is perfect. There are absolutely challenges, and lest you think I'm some shill, I'll give it to you straight. (1) The company has raised very little funding relative to competitors. The bright side of that is that it has preserved incredible value for employee shareholders and shows that they have good cash flow. The downside is that they tend to be more financially conservative, which makes it hard to make the same splash in sales and marketing that you see from other companies. (2) There are few women at the executive level. It's impossible not to notice it. With that said, the company has invested heavily in women at the VP and Director level. And the executive team has a long tenure. Most have been with the company for four or more years. (3) Pre-pandemic, ExtraHop was very much a "face time" company. Remote work wasn't an option, and there was definitely an expectation that you show your face during business hours. Very few corporate roles were outside of Seattle. It remains to be seen how the past year will change that. I hope, for the sake of talent recruitment and *the way we live now* that this requirement will ease up.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good people, solid product, exciting market

      Feb 4, 2021 - Product Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a lot of smart and hardworking people at ExtraHop and the relationships I made there are one of the most valuable forms of compensation. Great place to learn and grow. They have a product that you can be proud to market and sell.

      Cons

      The company is adapting to cloud-native application architectures and they'll need to lead the industry in understanding the importance of network data in the cloud. Many people don't realize that cloud applications also use packets and network protocols just like every other application; ExtraHop needs to help people understand how that data is an important source of security telemetry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great product/Horrible Leadership and Culture

      Mar 24, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product - it is the Cadillac of NDR solutions.

      Cons

      Per the headline, leadership is totally jaded. This is a 100% manage up culture. Everyone wants to appease their boss and the sales team is operating in 100 different directions. Another IPO Pipedream that will probably end up getting acquired after years of hopes and empty promises. Great place to cut your teeth if you're younger in your sales career, but be warned, the culture is toxic.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company!

      Apr 8, 2021 - Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dynamic, collaborative, fun, challenging, growing.

      Cons

      Tough days sometimes, but easy is boring.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place

      Apr 1, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance at Extrahop

      Cons

      Learning product knowledge, if you are not in IT, takes some time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid

      Feb 11, 2021 - Solutions Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good environment, overall good

      Cons

      No 401k match, some growing pains

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Place I’ve Worked

      Feb 4, 2021 - Independent Contributor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Winning culture of transparency, trust, hard work, continuous improvement, and fun

      Cons

      Nothing substantial enough to mention

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pre IPO Broken Sales Structure

      Feb 24, 2021 - Inside Sales Representative in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A leader for Network Performance Monitoring

      Cons

      Sales Leadership is not fully aware of broken processes (ongoing). 1:1's are not important to sales leadership. Invested in lead/marketing flow remains problematic. Worst internal structure/communications I have experienced

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      OK company with lot of issues

      Jan 29, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, with a strong offering and lot of capable people

      Cons

      The pay is ok by industry standard and the culture is not as good as it seems initially. Its a very political place and the company laid off folks while taking money from the government for COVID.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 100 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ExtraHop Networks Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at ExtraHop Networks? Share Your Experiences

    ExtraHop Networks logo
    or