FIS Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
FIS CEO Gary Norcross
Gary Norcross
1,999 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance along with good percentage hike(in 526 reviews)

  • "Work Environment is very friendly(in 207 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance in merchant solutions(in 127 reviews)

  • "Too many changes in senior management(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of FIS and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Phenomenal job, amazing company

      Jul 28, 2020 - Editorial Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is stable and strong, has incredible processes in place, and does a great job of making sure people feel supported. Pay is competitive, benefits are great, and the team is dedicated to working smart so that work/life balance can be maintained.

      Cons

      The corporate structure and processes can slow down approvals and timelines sometimes, but the minor hassles are worth it for the benefits.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Apr 17, 2021 - Contract Attorney in Maitland, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and management. Treats employees well. Bagel Fridays and lots of other fun company events. Good benefits.

      Cons

      No legal department jobs in Orlando

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      FIS is Alright - But If You Can Work Somewhere Else I'd Probably Suggest It

      Mar 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO benefit is nice. I adore my boss and team but recognize that this isn't the case across the board. I love my actual job.

      Cons

      Lack of a real maternity/parental leave benefit. Confusing systems with no real guidance on where to go for what. Likes to spend a lot of time talking about how we're responsible for our own knowledge but takes no responsibility for the messy systems and web pages they give us to work with. No raise this year - I understand that COVID has made things tough, but how am I supposed to be motivated to do my job well when people are being let go left and right, there's at least 1 reorg announcement every 3 weeks and now I'm being told that my annual review is worth nothing? Liking my job and coworkers isn't enough to convince me that this is a company worth working for in the long term.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      FIS Response

      Manager Employer Branding and Recruitment Marketing

      Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and are happy to hear that you value the personal time off benefit provided by FIS. As you know, 2020 was an unprecedented year for the world and for FIS. We unexpectedly and quickly pivoted in several areas to ensure we were laser-focused on what’s important, and that is our colleagues, clients, and communities. This included investments in new health and safety protocols throughout the organization and new wellness programs, including COVID-19 time off and enhanced medical, well-being, and mental health resources. With that being said, FIS is not immune from the financial impact the pandemic has had on businesses globally. As a result, we are facing an unusual compensation year for 2021. We also see you’ve listed yourself as a current employee. We encourage you to speak with your manager or a member of The People Office to express any concerns you have so that they can help you with suitable guidance.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great environment, great career opportunities

      May 4, 2021 - Internal Auditor in Saint Pete, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You always have more to learn. New audit every quarter and hundreds of products mean you always have more to learn. Don't have to have CPA to progress (any certification will do, need one by the time you're promoted to senior). About 4-5 weeks of travel a year. Set promotion structure with biannual performance reviews. Super supportive people, FIS goes above and beyond to retain talent. Very respected and growing company.

      Cons

      401(k) contributions are capped at 40% of your base pay. No FLDP but they are very supportive about changing lines of business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, limited opportunities for growth

      Apr 21, 2021 - Business Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well known in the financial technology space Decent benefits Robust line of products serving every strata of the fintech world Employs some truly smart people that are willing to push the envelope Collaborative teams

      Cons

      Upward mobility is hard to achieve Compensation below industry average Training needs attention - newcomers are often tossed into high stakes projects and expected to learn by doing with minimal prior training Inconsistent work-life balance - long stretches of having nothing to do followed by periods of fast moving projects with aggressive timelines

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent/Good Company

      May 6, 2021 - Presales Consultant in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers Good products Lots of chances for advancement/moves Company communicates information well

      Cons

      Older technologies Siloed products/industries Lower pay with little chance of them getting you up to the standard

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      The Place Has Changed

      Apr 29, 2021 - Finance in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work isn’t that difficult. It’s so disorganized and chaotic that you can do whatever you want. No accountability and management is so weak that you can do the absolute minimum without fear of being fired. Work from home. You can fly under radar and not do much.

      Cons

      Pay used to be good, but they’ve recently cut salaries, bonuses and the 401k contributions. Also, benefits costs have gone up very significantly. Very little engagement. No trust in leaders. No team cohesion. Same recycled values every year, but never any change for the better. Very cut-throat and toxic culture. Unprofessional, rude, disrespectful environment. Management is very poor and they aren’t coached or developed at all. A lot of people “make it” by forcing others do their job for them. No training. No development. Bad communication. Chaotic and dysfunctional - referred to internally as “siloed.” Arrogant and selfish people tend to advance despite lack of knowledge or ability. Not a lot of advancement opportunities. Most positions are jobs not careers. A lot of people don’t want to work there, but they don’t have better options. Employees aren’t a primary consideration - shareholders and stock price come first, executives come second, employees come near the bottom. Too many “managers” and not enough workers. Major projects are rushed through, half-baked, and only partially successful. Very heavily focused on offshoring jobs.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Quite a few negative experiences, lacks trust.

      Mar 30, 2021 - Manager of Software Development in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good health insurance, very diverse due to a large offshore workforce

      Cons

      Dont pay on bonuses, offshore a lot US jobs, lots of annual layoffs

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      FIS Response

      Manager Employer Branding and Recruitment Marketing

      Thank you for your candid feedback. You identified yourself as a current colleague, so we encourage you to report any of your stated concerns through your manager, a member of the People Office, or the FIS Ethics Hotline

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't value the hard work of their employees, you're just a cog in the machine

      May 2, 2021 - Associate Software Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Mature company - Diverse but only because of continued investment in offshore resources - Good Experience

      Cons

      - EXTREMELY bureaucratic - CEO profits off of mounds of stock only two months before no 2020 merit increases or bonuses are being distributed - no bonuses for anyone outside of leadership - Post-pandemic salary discussions and information were very shady and lacked transparency - Acquire companies only to ruin their exiting culture and scare away even the most loyal talent.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Team appears to be in crisis mode

      Apr 20, 2021 - Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In general, nice people work here

      Cons

      My team is seemingly in shambles. Distrust amongst team members at the moment. Non-transparent reorganization. Mentality of ‘will I survive this next round of layoffs?’ is pervasive and destructive to productivity and morale. High performers not recognized verbally or financially. Sense of having to justify your job to new team members and leadership after busting butt for years to support the business. Just when you are getting traction with something, this company flips org and process on its head again, dismantling all previous progress. Extremely discouraging situation. Turnover is high.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 4,840 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with FIS Job Seekers

    Business Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Leadership Development Program Associate
    Learn About the Job

    Work at FIS? Share Your Experiences

    or