Harris Teeter Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Harris Teeter CEO, Kroger Rodney McMullen
Rodney McMullen
557 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lenient, chill, understanding, promotions, yearly raise, two bonus checks a year(in 145 reviews)

  • "Profit Sharing Bonuses 2x per Year(in 133 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cake Decorator in Pinehurst, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Customer service is a tough component

    Harris Teeter2020-03-18
  2. "A good place to work if you do your work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, If you are competent and do your job there really aren't any problems

    Cons

    Part time schedules can vary a lot. Depending on the location you may be locked into a schedule three weeks out, or not know when you work next week until three days before.

    Harris Teeter2020-05-26
  3. "Cashier at Harris Teeter"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a high schooler, they allowed you to schedule the times you worked around school and athletic events, solid group of managers and team oriented

    Cons

    Underpaid for how much work was expected

    Harris Teeter2020-05-20
  4. "Harris teeter the life?"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Meat Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, good pay, vacation, breaks and lunch

    Cons

    Crazy schedule, sometimes poor management or favoritism. They want you to acknowledge everybody within in ten seconds an they time you. This is super stressful when you are on a saw or knife in your hand.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2020-05-21
  5. "Just an ok place to work now."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Accountant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee discount on store brands which are high quality.

    Cons

    Not as flexible as they portray for full or part time employees. Sometimes crazy hours.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2020-05-29
  6. "Decent pay for decent work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The overnight management is fantastic.

    Cons

    The overall store management is constantly changing, and overnight workers tend to be overlooked by the local and corporate leadership.

    Harris Teeter2020-05-29
  7. "Ok pay, boring work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fresh Foods Clerk in Belmont, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was pretty good for an entry level job

    Cons

    Long hours, rough closing shifts, too few breaks

    Harris Teeter2020-05-29
  8. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Clerk 

    I have been working at Harris Teeter full-time

    Pros

    Understanding and supportive managers. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Raises aren’t much. Hard to get full time

    Harris Teeter2020-05-13
  9. "Definitely worth it !"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked for Harris teeter all through high school and then my first year into college and they were great ! My schedule was nearly always available to get moved around if need be and I got the hours I needed/asked for. The pay was good for a part-time student & the bonus checks were good too! I loved seeing my favorite people on Thursdays for their senior discount too! I sometimes worked in the floral department and I absolutely adored it !

    Cons

    Unfortunately when I wanted to move into a customer service clerk position (from cashier) it took me having to go to another store and ask them if they had an opening because my store manager never did for me. Customers are on the HIGHEST HORSE in the Charlotte area. I was a cashier NOT a bagger, I’d be made to go get carts in the pouring rain sometimes if a bagger wasn’t scheduled because I played sports. Not a huge fan of the discount on only teeter items but it is what it is (only 10%) Both locations I worked at were quirky in their own way but the CSM need to be picked more carefully. They catch an attitude about the smallest things because they lash out over something that doesn’t even pertain to the conversation you’re having with them. SUPER DOUBLE COUPONS ARE HORRIBLE! Breaks are so so so so soooo short !

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2020-05-10
  10. "Filled this out because glassdoor made me"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, Great environment to work

    Cons

    Sometimes the customers aren't great

    Harris Teeter2020-05-09
Found 2356 reviews