Hotwire Reviews | Glassdoor

Hotwire Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Hotwire CEO Neha Parikh
Neha Parikh
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance; Great engineering culture; Flexible roles(in 52 reviews)

  • "Great people, relaxed workplace, small teams, great benefits(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "No career growth unless you are great at politics and sucking up(in 8 reviews)

  • "very small company and managers can be rude, not achieving its targets(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Awesome Culture / Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotwire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have worked places where you felt like a Badge or ID Number rather than a valued person, and really needing a place to plant your roots where you feel valued and the People are great...This is it. Everyone I have encountered here across multiple teams (mostly Engineering, Product and Recruiting/HR) has been great. No office politics that I have seen, no premadonnas -- just great, driven people always ready and...

    Show More

    Cons

    RSU packages could be higher (Expedia Stock)

    Advice to Management

    Continue with all the internal events that make our culture great (like the Boat trip to Angel Island recently) -- it really makes this place more like a family than a typical 9-5 job.

    Hotwire2018-08-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work with great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IOS Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotwire full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Bonus is great for the last 2 years

    Cons

    Product lead company, where engineers get very less leeway on things to work on on their own

    Hotwire2019-03-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Dont Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Account in Atlanta, GA

      I worked at Hotwire full-time

      Pros

      Unorganized as an art form

      Cons

      There are no cons for this job

      Advice to Management

      Walk Away fast as you can

      Hotwire2019-05-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Limited growth potential plus some red tape"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hotwire full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great work life balance, generally fun people to work with, lots of happy hours, and to an extent you can kind of choose what you get to work on. Awesome company events. I really loved the team I was on. Super grateful for the time I spent there.

      Cons

      A little bureaucratic, favoritism abound, and slow-paced. There are opportunities to learn about other job functions but it's hard to actually switch roles. Sometimes it feels like your work is not important to decision-makers. No content team so the voice across the product is not consistent. Tech stack is moving in the right direction but still a bit antiquated at the moment.

      Advice to Management

      I only left because it was so hard for me to advance my career in the way that I wanted to after countless fruitless attempts to do so. Listen to your employees and support them; your team is your greatest asset.

      Hotwire2019-03-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fun People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hotwire full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Fun people to work with

      Cons

      Product is limited by content

      Hotwire2019-02-12
    • Helpful (5)

      "Hotwire forces employees to give Fake 5-star reviews"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hotwire full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good work life balance.

      Cons

      Office politics at its peak. Don't expect any promotions for years until you are good at your political game. Product Managers simply surviving with bare qualifications. 99% Indians only in Engineering, bad company culture in terms of inclusion.

      Advice to Management

      All good reviews are forced to employees who got good bonus or promotions to leave reviews on Glassdoor... Great play Hotwire!!

      Hotwire2019-03-13
    • "Hotel Account Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hotwire full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great company culture with autonomy.

      Cons

      Working for a larger company

      Hotwire2018-12-07
    • "Linux Systems Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hotwire full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Supportive work culture. Most people are of good cheer.

      Cons

      Hotwire is owned by Expedia and they have unpleasant and arbitrary policies. The work space is an open office and everyone is CRAMMED together. Very noisy. One day Expedia announced that nothing could be taped to the walls. They came through one night, took everything down and confiscated all scotch tape from everyone's desk.

      Hotwire2018-12-04
    • Helpful (10)

      "Complacent and Sexist Workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hotwire full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Work life balance is excellent. There are a few people who are real gems here. A couple of people care a lot and are very helpful and try to improve things.

      Cons

      People are rude to each other and disrespectful. I've seen people steal each other's ideas and try to throw each other under the bus. There is rampant favoritism and sexism. It's clearly a boy's club and there are plenty of other reviews that support this. You'll see men getting promoted just for the number of years they have worked here even though they lack competency and no one will acknowledge women who have worked...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be more humble. Listen to feedback. Have some empathy and think about how your decisions affect your employees. Fix how toxic the culture is to women. Stop comparing yourself to other companies to try and justify the mistakes you've made or say that it "isn't as bad as it could be." Remember that everyone is replaceable and your company culture is who you hire and who you fire. Don't be complacent and don't reward complacency.

      Hotwire2018-10-25
    • "Senior Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hotwire full-time

      Pros

      Awesome travel benefits and smart people!

      Cons

      None so far (all earlier issues mostly resolved)

      Hotwire2018-08-14
    Found 192 reviews