Hughes Network Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Hughes Network Systems Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 239 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Hughes Network Systems CEO Pradman P. Kaul
Pradman P. Kaul
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very smart and talented people - Management is open and promotes positive work-life balance(in 26 reviews)

  • "Work environment is okay but not great(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "constantly facing situations that I knew were neither professional or acceptable in a work environment(in 14 reviews)

  • "Waayyyy too top heavy in management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Healthy Executive Management, work life balance, maturity, and team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management Specialist in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many self-performing teams, great management championing of ideas, great work life balance, sincere intentions across the board, and fun place to work.

    Cons

    Office space can use an upgrade

    Advice to Management

    Continue your awesomeness in balancing new ideas while celebrating the soft skills of seasoned employees.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-03
  2. "it is a good place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Global Business and diverse environment

    Cons

    Management styles some times are in conflict

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-15
  3. "Family Oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, smart people, interesting/cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    Missing ability to telework. Lacking of flexibility by upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate teleworking

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-01
  4. "MTS 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good company for career begineers

    Cons

    Career growth can be challenging

    Hughes Network Systems2019-07-29
  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, successful company.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth!

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-12
  6. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMT Technician 

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Work itself was pretty easy

    Cons

    Terrible management, a lot of downtime that's not your fault but they blame you anyway

    Advice to Management

    Get better

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-12
  7. "You will solve tough problems but they may not be cutting edge."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people. Smart, empathetic and industrious.

    Cons

    High risk aversion. Incrementalist approach.

    Advice to Management

    Unlock greater potential of your people. Look for opportunities to use their strengths.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-07-21
  8. "Good place to start, but not to stay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work and personal life balance.

    Cons

    No growth in terms of salary/promotion. Depressing work culture.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-07-04
  9. "Enjoyable Co-Workers but Mediocre Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Germantown, MD

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many good co-workers. I have a good work/life balance with my manager almost never asking me to work overtime (only twice in my five years) and always willing to let me take time off for a variety of reasons (even on short notice provided there isn't an important deadline coming up). Hughes provides the opportunity for engineers to either move into a management path or a technical expertise path, and both are highly...

    Show More

    Cons

    Compensation seems slightly lower compared to other companies in the area (I base this off of the reports of co-workers who have left Hughes). I know for a fact that Hughes doesn't take a government security clearance into account when calculating pay, so if you have a clearance, you can get better offers at other companies. Limited amount of leave (15 days for first 5 years, 20 for next 15, then 25, no sick leave)...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to record the actual number of hours worked, at least so management can properly calculated man-hours needed for a project. Allow telework as an official option at manager discretion. Provide an alternative health care option with a lower deductible and lower out-of-pocket maximum. Provide better compensation package that is comparable to other companies in the area.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-06-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst ever company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company has a huge capital, all used for wrong reasons.

    Cons

    I can mostly speak for the manufacturing division in Gaithersburg, if not the whole org. Its a toxic environment of name calling, firing, abusing, forcing overtime, low morale and bad management. No amount of money can make people stay here. The benefits of Echostar are one of the worst offered in the market.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-07-03
Found 239 reviews