Infinera Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Infinera CEO and Director Tom Fallon
Tom Fallon
256 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I have no cons that I can think of at this time(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management inefficiencies(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19

    "Great Company with Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is my first industry job after academia. So I don't have any other workplaces to compare with. Please take my opinions with a pinch of salt. - The company is at the forefront of innovation in the field of fiber optic communications. There are great opportunities to learn and grow. - Thanks to 5G and increasing demand for network bandwidth (including temporary spike due to Covid-19), the company is well positioned in the business. - Good compensation and hard work is well acknowledged. - People in the company are all highly skilled and smart. It is really motivating to work in such an environment. - Managers are nice. Work is demanding, but managers don't seem to be pushing so much. - Twice a week free Yoga sessions, and a ping pong table. Free fruits, coffee and tea.

    Cons

    - Despite the size, the company still operates somewhat like a startup. Work process and the division of task isn't so well defined as you would expect in big companies. - Working with people spread around globe across all time zones sometimes requires late night or early morning meetings, and it also impacts your progress. - Either the people are too busy to socialize or the company doesn't have a strong tradition for socialization. Except from a project celebration and a Christmas party (which was postponed to mid-Jan due to project deadlines), I haven't seen much social activities.

    Continue reading

    Infinera Response

    June 3, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    Thank you for taking the time to post. We have shared your feedback with the site leadership team, as increasing opportunities for employees to connect is an important initiative to our site leadership team. 

  2. COVID-19

    "State of the art"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great technology. Will get to work with some of the coolest tech in the planet for telecom network. Essential business of telecom. Covid did not affect this company.

    Cons

    Slow. It may be part of the systemic process. Processes can be improved

  3. "Worst Company Ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer -2 in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinera full-time

    Pros

    None or maybe salary and the CEO is good

    Cons

    So many. Bad Managers, no work life Balance

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Not a good company in Bay Area"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Infinera full-time

    Pros

    Almost nothing honestly, it is hard to think positive in this company.

    Cons

    A lot of cons to mention, this company probably the worst one in Sunnyvale, totally no reputation, very low morale, good people already left.

    Continue reading

    Infinera Response

    June 3, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    Thank you for your review. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.

  5. "Great Company To work For"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Professional Services in Ellicott City, MD

    I have been working at Infinera full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Start up environment allows you to contribute to the company policies

    Cons

    Lack of scalable processes creates processes that do not allow for repeatability

    Infinera Response

    April 14, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    We are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience at Infinera. Process improvement is one of our key post integration cross-functional initiatives.

  6. "company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong culture, people share knowledge , grow together attitude

    Cons

    Not competitive in salary in bay area

    Infinera Response

    April 14, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    Thank you for your review. We benchmark compensation with the intent to be competitive from a total compensation perspective.  

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Pathetic work culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Infinera full-time

    Pros

    Mediocre first line management at best

    Cons

    You can't sue the dishonest management. Why? Because you had to sign a piece of paper, when you accepted a job stating you simply can't!

    Continue reading

    Infinera Response

    June 3, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    Thank you for your review. We strive for our employees to have a positive experience. We take claims seriously, and if you have a specific concern please reach out to feedback@infinera.com. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.

  8. "work environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working environment is good and work culture is good

    Cons

    not many bonus but not bad

    Infinera Response

    April 14, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    We have placed a focus on developing our culture, thank you for your feedback.

  9. "Good Technology"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Test Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Infinera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Technology is great. Lots of good and hard working people. Great benefits. Work can be demanding .

    Cons

    Some managers are labor-oriented. They take work as labor and want employees to work long hours. While, in my opinion, quality of work is better than quantity of time spent "doing that work".

    Continue reading

    Infinera Response

    March 26, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    Thank you for your input. We have shared your input with the leadership team.

  10. "Great Colleagues, Positive Company Direction, Smart and Approachable Management Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a great energy about the company and any prior gaps appear to have been filled by recent acquisitions. The management team is approachable (which you don't always see at the C-level) and is company- AND employee- focused. Every colleague I've met and worked with during the integration period and beyond has been positive and great to work with. Goals are demanding but fair. Overall, it's been a great place to work.

    Cons

    None that I've experienced in my time here.

    Continue reading

    Infinera Response

    March 26, 2020Infinera Glassdoor Management Team

    We appreciate your input and are glad to hear you are enjoying your experience at the company. The success of the acquisition has strengthened our business and position in the marketplace. As we evolve, our CEO and senior management prides themselves on continuing to be accessible to all employees. 

Found 401 reviews