KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Instructure

Is this your company?

Instructure

Add a Review

Instructure Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 334 of over 557 reviews

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Instructure CEO Steve Daly
Steve Daly
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "I absolutely love working at Instructure(in 64 reviews)

  • "Great culture and really fun people to work with(in 46 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "priming instructure for acquisition per board's instruction(in 49 reviews)

  • "Growing pains which means a lot of change going on at the moment(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Instructure and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Learner Centric

      Dec 15, 2021 - Regional Director in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Purpose, Impact, Growth, Collaborative, Innovative

      Cons

      Complex Organization that is rapidly growing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      .

      Jan 14, 2022 - Senior Product Designer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaboration, talented product team, great people to work with

      Cons

      Some struggles with business goals that prioritize features more than solving problems, but I am also seeing improvements with that mindset changing to a more user focused approach.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good temporary job.

      Jan 10, 2022 - L1 Technical Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great co-workers. I made lots of good friends in Support. - Great temporary job while going to college. - They provide a Macbook Pro to work remotely but I was able to do all my schooling on it too. - good benefits - Supervisors don't helicopter and are pretty chill for the most part. It's pretty much like not having a boss. - FT employees get paid time off. - if you have any question or need help, team-members are solid and happy to help each other. The other employees are awesome to work with. Overal Review: If you need a temporary job as a student, this job is great and I'd recommend it. It's decently easy mindless work and has decent pay. However if you're looking for a career with opportunities to grow, look else where.

      Cons

      - No opportunities to grow. No one gets promoted. Especially if you're good at tech support. They keep you stuck in the position. Hard work is unnoticed. However if you aren't performing well enough, they'll let ya know. - Underpaid. I started as part-time and went full-time after about 6 months. When I made the transition to FT, they decreased my pay. Their reasoning was that I was working more hours so I was making more money. It took another 6 months to have my pay raised to the same pay as when I was PT. - The support is way understaffed and overwhelmed. It's fast paced most days. Occasionally there is a slow day where you can read a book or watch a show. Though they are few. - Mandatory Overtime. Instead of hiring more people, they require employees to do MOT in busier times of the season. 30 hours for PT and 45 hours for FT. - Poor work structure. The customers calling in usually have to wait a while to get ahold of an agent. Then when they finally do, it's an issue that we can't help with and we have to direct them back to the school. They usually take their frustration out on us afterwards. - I don't want to be rude but the customers calling in are pretty dull when it comes to computers. 9/10 cases you'll have to explain how to copy and paste a URL or explain how to click the 'forgot password' button.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      L1 Support Engineer

      Dec 14, 2021 - L1 Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule Company Macbook provided Great Benefits

      Cons

      PTO-Blackout Dates Steep learning curve for support software Fully remote

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Bad Decisions by Inexperienced Leadership

      Jan 3, 2022 - L1 Agent in Cottonwood Heights, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love Apple products that we work with and Slack. You can basically work the hours that you want to after you've been with the company for a few months. You can get about $700 in gift cards for completing the wellness challenges. Having Canvas access to EVERYTHING is a pretty cool because you learn the ins and outs of Canvas better than any Teacher or school Admin. Remote agents get a $50 stipend for internet and $40 for food each month. The benefits are pretty good, but they keep making cuts each year....

      Cons

      Believe me when I say that there are virtually NO slow times when you are an agent. You will constantly be on the phone with someone or chatting with 3 needy people at a time. For about 6 months of the year you will not be allowed to take any time off, not even if a child is in the hospital. Micromanaged is an understatement. EVERYTHING that you do is closely monitored by supervisors, QA, management, school Admins, other L1 agents, L2 agents. The second you clock in they know exactly what you are doing and how you are doing it. You are not a person, you are only a number to them. There will be virtually no trainings or meetings, it is just endless calls. Supervisors will work you like a dog and then pretend to care about you for 15 minutes a month during a 1:1 interview. The interview is basically to remind you of how everything you do is monitored and how you should be doing better. Every friend that works here develops anxiety and depression. Instead of making any structural changes to make things better for L1s, supervisors will tell you to listen to music, do yoga, and go for a walk (but no longer that a 15 minute break). There is a less than 1% chance that you will move on in the company to a better position. It is extremely competitive and supervisors play favorites. If you have a brown nosing brainless "yes boss" personality you might be considered. The leadership makes every possible bad decision that you can think of. It seems like the company has a 5 year plan because they don't care about quality. Instead of trying to keep good employees, the company is so proud of hiring 50 new L1 agents this last month. 80% of those agents will be gone within a year because of the toxic work environment. Instructure used to offer L1 agents really good stock options, that is no longer a thing. Instructure has made every cheap move you can think of to increase profits and extort front-line employees. The only thing keeping this company alive is the fact that schools are so invested in Canvas, that is would be very difficult for them to change to a different LMS. I hope that you enjoy working holidays as well. There is no advantage for sticking around. They will be upfront and tell you how replaceable you are (even though my supervisor is a knuckle-dragging dumb*** whose very existence is a testament to the depths of human stupidity. He can't barely get through a sentence without drooling on himself). Nice guy though.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Beware....

      Jan 2, 2022 - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good. Strong DIB culture. Support remote-first positions. A lot of additional perks (home office expense, gym/health org memberships, Motivosity, merchant discounts, etc.).

      Cons

      Support from HR is almost non-existent at times. Execs are out-of-touch and focused on bottom line for investors. Managers aren't much better. If you get acquired by Instructure, they will fire your senior most talented engineers, and probably move everything to European contractors to save money. Their "cash cow" product is poorly architected and will likely be part of their demise if not fixed. You've been warned...

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Honestly a great jon

      Nov 14, 2021 - L1 Technical Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked under Jordan Z. during my time there and I loved it. Felt like I really progressed as a person and customer service rep.

      Cons

      Stressful a few times a year for start of semesters and stuff, so customers take it out on you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Oct 1, 2021 - Director, Finance in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people, good mission, and seeing success!

      Cons

      Lots of work to do for Private Equity owners

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It was ok

      Oct 11, 2021 - Enterprise Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits were the best part.

      Cons

      I had 5 managers in a period of 18 months

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awful, just awful.

      Oct 17, 2021 - L1 Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      co-workers PTO (when you can take it)

      Cons

      Where do I begin? This company has been going downhill extremely fast, I can't speak for other departments but I can say that everyone (including my self) in the support department is miserable. They say they want to treat people like adults but they don't, I had a stomach ache one day and took a 15 minute break because I wasn't feeling too well. I came back 5 late (total 20 minutes) because I was in the restroom being an adult and getting my self together later to a message from my supervisor saying they were pinged by I guess the workforce people. It was 5 minutes.. not only that the workforce system doesn't track you correctly so it's easy to get written up for something not your fault and PTO has to be manually approved. Some of us try to plan vacations and it's not approved until the very week of.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 334 Reviews

    Instructure Reviews FAQs

    Instructure has an overall rating of 3.2 out of 5, based on over 557 reviews left anonymously by employees. 55% of employees would recommend working at Instructure to a friend and 46% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 11% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Instructure employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Instructure. This rating has decreased by 0% over the last 12 months.

    55% of Instructure employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Instructure 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Instructure to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be compensation, senior leadership, management.

    Popular Careers with Instructure Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Instructure? Share Your Experiences

    or