Interactive Brokers Reviews | Glassdoor

Interactive Brokers Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 169 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Interactive Brokers CEO Thomas Peterffy
Thomas Peterffy
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "free lunch is provided by the firm(in 48 reviews)

  • "Working with the latest software technologies, free lunch, great benefits, flexible hours, nice working environment(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Limited vacation time with no work/life balance, new-hires would receive 10 days vacation, 6 days sick time, and 3 days bereavement(in 6 reviews)

  • "low-paid, no career development perspective(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Great place to work for some breed of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities to learn and to grow - Opportunities to use your brain and see the result. There are moments of a great intellectual satisfaction, which are important for me - No red tape. I hate meetings and there are almost none - Superb compensation - 100% free health insurance IB is for you if you like to work and to get well paid for it and do not need anything else. I well understand negative reviews... but there are many other opportunities around. Find what is working for you. I found IB. I was stunned to see how many people are mentioning free lunch as a pro. Seriously? Is this important for you?

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a soulless place for introverts. IB is a money making machine and we are part of this mechanism. It works well for me but it is definitely not for everybody.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up! Let's put our stock price to the sky.

    Interactive Brokers2018-07-26
  2. "Great benefits and relaxed environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and free lunch. Management actually listens to ideas for process improvement

    Cons

    Can be some demanding times with long hours.

    Interactive Brokers2019-08-26
  3. "Compliance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great company, people like working here, sponsorship for licenses, new offices, plenty of food, good benefits

    Cons

    pay and bonuses vary greatly by department, unique company hierarchy, need to be your own advocate for personal growth

    Interactive Brokers2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "over all good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time

    Pros

    good lunch benefit and good insurance

    Cons

    don't see much growth potentials

    Interactive Brokers2019-05-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Soul crushing sweat shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free lunch. Decent, public reputation/brand

    Cons

    -low pay compared to the industry -zero opportunity for talent development and growth -minimum vacation time -breeding ground for complacency -bonus structure linked to compounded length of service (creates unhappy and underperforming “lifetime” employees) -toxic culture

    Interactive Brokers2019-05-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great company and great culture

    Cons

    good benefits and friendly team member

    Interactive Brokers2019-04-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "IBKR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free lunch is provided by the firm

    Cons

    lack of an in-depth training program

    Interactive Brokers2019-04-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    100% fully paid health insurance Free lunch Nice and Smart people working around you No unnecessary meetings Job security

    Cons

    Cheap broker attracts cheap customers, stressful calls that will destroy your soul

    Interactive Brokers2019-04-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company uses cutting edge technology to assist brokers.

    Cons

    The workplace environment was sometimes not-so-friendly.

    Interactive Brokers2019-03-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Anti social company where no one care's about your opinion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to hop to another company. Meaningful projects which look good on your resume.

    Cons

    Horrible management that will give you unrealistic deadlines. Antisocial atmosphere which will make you lonely. No one actually cares about your opinion.

    Interactive Brokers2019-02-25
Found 169 reviews