Intertek Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Intertek  Chief Executive Officer André Lacroix (no image)
André Lacroix
287 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Communication sometimes gets lost from upper management to supervisors(in 52 reviews)

  • "Most staffs are inexperienced, high turnover rate(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lots of room to grow!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Petroleum Inspector 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since I have worked at Intertek, I have recieved the highest level of respect from all layers of management. They have placed a high level of importance on doing things the right way. They also provide the necessary tools/help to achieve this in a timely manner without killing yourself. The pay is competitive and after being there 2 months I have been offered a position using my degree. It isn't just the fact that I got offered the position though, but equally, if not more important, it was treated with the urgency that I felt about accelerating my career. From the time of making the request to it being granted took only 8 business days, and I was treated like my hard work that I have put into getting my B.S., Minor and 2 related certifications carried value with them.

    Cons

    As a petroleum inspector working 6 on 24 hour call the schedule is could be more accomidating. They do give a floating holiday though which is nice!

    Continue reading
    Intertek2019-05-23
  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good package, friendly staff, flexible hours

    Cons

    i don't think there are any cons

    Intertek2020-05-28
  3. "Honest review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits including PTO, and health care.

    Cons

    Management and future direction of the company.

    Continue reading
    Intertek2020-05-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Doesn’t care about its employees"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Intertek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good PTO. Great health benefits.

    Cons

    Employees treated like dirt. Forced to work in the office during Covid until an office was exposed no regard to employees Heath or home life situations/ child care. Salaries not competitive. Impossible to move up. No work life balance. HR is a joke. Nothing is ever good enough yet employees are overworked.

    Intertek2020-05-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just another corporation"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time

    Pros

    4 weeks PTO to start (prorated your first year but still reasonable)

    Cons

    Intertek only looks at numbers and keeps acquiring smaller businesses without putting the work or the money in to assimilate them all. This causes blocks in workflow from with technical issues coming up regularly. The acquired businesses simply slap on the “Intertek” tag and keep doing business as they have been, despite some very sketchy things in the works. Executive management turns a blind eye as long as it keeps numbers up so they can tout about their great, non-existent leadership. Redundant meetings amongst a select few are abundant. Customers are only cash cows and have reports put on the back burner since their business is already coming in. Appropriate equipment (sometimes including for safety) is all dependent on budget that is spent on things that are not necessary. Quasi-HR can be helpful but it’s really a toss up. Also, they really lowball you if they can get away with it. I understand competitive pricing but it’s insulting what they offer you and lie to your face. At least there is opportunity for growth with the number of offices available but this also depends on if management likes you or not, regardless of skills. Tons of empty promises and uninspiring tirades from upper management. If this is what you’re looking for, welcome to Intertek. Disclaimer: position may or may not include screeching manager.

    Intertek2020-05-24
  6. "Good company for learning"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Intertek full-time

    Pros

    Great experience and stepping stone

    Cons

    Lot of pressure during month end

    Intertek2020-05-07
  7. "meh"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Materials Testing Technician in Westminster, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some flexibility, always working outside

    Cons

    not much room for growth

    Intertek2020-06-05
  8. "Violate the Law"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertek full-time

    Pros

    At this point there are no pros to working at Intertek.

    Cons

    Intertek consistently looks for ways to deny their employees their hard earned overtime payment. Against state and federal laws they often force employees to work overtime without pay. They give minuscule pay raises and also limit the time when you can take your vacation. The lengths that this company goes to rob their employees of time earned and compensation is disgusting. The worst employer I have ever worked for. Their day will come when they are audited.

    Continue reading
    Intertek2020-05-31
  9. "Management is Awful, all employees are unhappy, toxic environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Coordinator in Arlington Heights, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Intertek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Three weeks paid time off. Met a few great friends there that have created an inseparable bond because we both hated the toxic environment but kept each other going.

    Cons

    The management do not have any qualities to be an actual manager. They are awful to their employees, treat them like crap, make them bend over backwards, do work that is not even in their realm, their training techniques are zero to none, they go over one thing with you a year ago and expect you to know exactly what you are doing, when they, themselves, do not even know what they are doing. Somehow these people keep getting promoted, while others are struggling to even afford daily life getting paid the absolute bare minimum, and having to take anxiety medication because of the work environment conditions. Please do not work here.

    Continue reading
    Intertek2020-05-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Total Inferiority Assured"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intertek full-time

    Pros

    PTO and competitive pay, some of the people, you can get a lot of experience in a short amount of time

    Cons

    *Company does not care about their employees (The negative reviews on Glassdoor are not exaggerated) *Company does not invest in their employees (No career development) *If you are lucky to get a raise it is no more than 1% *No true performance reviews *Poor communication from upper managements, between team members or across business lines *Layoffs every 6 months - The employees that keep their jobs will be assigned the responsibilities of the departed employees *Shear chaos internally *Management is not qualified in most cases *Success at Intertek is not based on job performance. It is based on brown nosing *Colleagues take credit for the work of others *The reporting is reflective of the movie Office Space where Intertech requires TPS reports all the time. *There is no collaboration within teams or across business lines *Quality is the last thing Intertek focuses on. It is all about how fast and how much you can do. *Andre is only focused on increasing the stock price and selling the idea that Intertek is doing well to shareholders

    Continue reading
    Intertek2020-05-28
Found 973 reviews