Ipsos Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ipsos Chairman and CEO Didier Truchot
Didier Truchot
554 Ratings
Pros
  • "Colleagues and working environment is the best I've worked with(in 110 reviews)

  • "IPSOS is one of the best market research company among all other companies working in INDIA(in 96 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance - if you want to succeed you have to work a lot of hours(in 121 reviews)

  • "You will work long hours (it is looked down upon as not trying hard enough if you're not working 60(in 118 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ipsos is a very large company, with thousands of employees in the US only and many more abroad but it doesn't feel that way. Senior leadership is very approachable and transparent, there are many employee resource groups, happy hours, great office parties. At the same time you get the opportunity to work with most Fortune 500 clients. The Generation Ipsos program for analysts and senior analysts makes you rotate across various areas of the company, working on very different kind of projects and in different industries. Promotions can be quite fast, I know a VP who started at entry level 5 years ago in SMX and a President who started at entry level 12 years ago. The company is very family friendly, benefits are good, PTO is very generous and the new Family Leave policy is amazing.

    Cons

    Some projects can be very intense from a WLB perspective. It can take time to get resources to help. Some teams work on antiquated systems.

    Continue reading
    Ipsos2020-02-08
  2. "good first company to work for"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Research Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time

    Pros

    hard working team, commitment to clients, decent benefits. extremely respected company in the market research world.

    Cons

    the pay is not great, isn't competitive with other companies in the industry

    Ipsos2020-05-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for and grow as a market researcher"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ipsos is a great place to work, whether you are just starting out in market research or have been in the industry for a while. The people I have worked with on the client services side of the business are smart and engaged with research, and committed to providing the best insights and strategic recommendations to clients. The current economic uncertainty with the Covid-19 pandemic has only strengthened the company's offerings and resolve to meet clients' changing needs. Ipsos has a variety of validated methodologies and research tools that it offers to clients to help them understand the health of their brands in the market, and how and why their advertising works (or doesn't work). It takes a while to get up to speed on all of these methods, but once you understand how they work and how to interpret the results, it's satisfying to see how you can leverage these tools in research for clients. For example, Ipsos has been very quick to offer new research tools and insights to clients to help them understand how consumer behaviors and perceptions may be changing as a result of Covid-19. It's exciting to be part of a company that has the resources and intelligence to be able to offer these services to clients. I have worked in market research for nearly two decades and I am still learning new things at Ipsos that keep my skill-set sharp. Ipsos has a very healthy, ethical and humane culture of respect for its employees. (As a European-based company, this is bred deep into their cultural DNA.) This probably explains the company's very high retention rate (some people have been with the company for 10+ years, which is increasingly rare in today's economy). Even with the current economic downturn, rather than lay off droves of workers as some other MR firms have done, the company chose instead to institute temporary pay cuts including among the highest senior and C-suite levels at the company, which were graduated so that lower earners took a smaller pay cut and the lowest earners took no pay cut at all. I believe this "shared sacrifice" enhances loyalty to the company and makes us all stronger as a unit in the long run. In my experience, the workload is reasonable, although it can be heavier during quarterly reporting time as might be expected. Overall, work/life balance is great, and the health care and other benefits are comparable to those of other companies. I have had to work some weekends in order to meet deadlines, but this is the exception rather than the rule. People are encouraged to take their PTO and disconnect and not be "always on" and available, which research has shown actually makes people more productive and engaged during work hours. The company recognizes and rewards extra effort and initiative. In large organizations, it can sometimes be easy to be overlooked but I have not found that to be the case at Ipsos, so long as you put in the effort to be visible, step up to contribute, forge relationships with those both in your immediate team and outside of it, and ensure you are a team player. The company often promotes from within, and provides a fair and thorough performance review process, so that employees can understand where they excel and need improvement, and what skills and steps are necessary to advance to the next higher role.

    Cons

    Ipsos is a large organization and with that comes a cumbersome internal bureaucracy that makes it difficult to get things done, from submitting and approving a budget, to getting a questionnaire programmed, to getting data tables and results back. At times, this can be frustrating, especially when working on tight deadlines for demanding clients. Internal tools and procedures are often cumbersome and take a long time to learn. Even people who have been with the company for years find it bewildering. If you are used to working in a smaller company, with less red tape, you will probably find this frustrating - although thankfully most people here are willing to show you the ropes. Also as a result of being such a large organization, some parts of the company seem "detached" or less responsive than other parts, particularly the data collection and data processing teams. As is typical of bureaucracies, some people will defend their "turf" when mistakes or problems arise, rather than try to work together cooperatively to resolve problems. As someone who has a client-facing role in the organization, I often have to keep a sharp eye out for data integrity issues that have been overlooked by those responsible for collecting and processing the data, who can seem rather cavalier about these issues.

    Continue reading
    Ipsos2020-05-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Stuck in their Ways"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ipsos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good clients and interesting projects, generous time off policy, including summer Fridays

    Cons

    The workplace culture can feel suffocating as many people have only worked at Ipsos and have no interest in innovation or creative thinking and are happy to continue to do things as they've always been done. Everything is ultimately driven by Paris, which isn't always conducive to the needs of the US market and leads to a lag in accomplishing things at times. The company seems to be continually restructuring, creating an atmosphere of uncertainty and unhappiness. The sense of teamwork and community that I've felt in other jobs was missing here with senior managers taking credit for other's work. I've also never encountered a workplace where people were continually being laid off like I experienced here.

    Continue reading
    Ipsos2020-05-26
  5. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in Chicago Ridge, IL

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to Make your own schedule

    Cons

    Work not always available every day

    Continue reading
    Ipsos2020-05-11
  6. "Balanced approach to business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ipsos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong focus on business development, good amount of autonomy, strong on accountability

    Cons

    Research product is average, staff frequently stuck in "ruts" working on only one client, too much focus on short-term business and not a strategic client management perspective

    Ipsos2020-05-11
  7. "Great Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in Jordan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the culture at the company and the type of work

    Cons

    the Job is quite demanding and requires some over-time work sometimes

    Ipsos2020-05-01
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Extremely Toxic, Top Heavy Company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ipsos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The content of the work is rewarding and will keep you there, working on interesting research. You get to work on some projects that really feel like they matter, especially some of the healthcare work.

    Cons

    Toxic doesn't even begin to describe this place. From some of the coworkers, and ESPECIALLY management. They reward employees who are bullies and make others lives hell, and ignore the multitude of voices from employees who are quality employees in lieu of toxic management / behavior. The employees are never listened to and are severely underpaid below market value, and the bonuses are laughable. Any advice employees try to give are often ignored and the company continues a streak of profit that employees who are overworked never see. You will work long hours (it is looked down upon as not trying hard enough if you're not working 60+ hour weeks), deal with bully behavior from management which is never addressed or punished (it is rewarded), and take on more responsibility for your role without seeing any time of promotion or reward unless you are favored from upper management. There is also a level of racism here where POC are overlooked for years on promotion opportunities for new young white counterparts, and paid less in some cases. People have been, and are currently leaving this place in droves, and once you leave, the response is always the same, every single time - "I am SO much happier that I left, I didn't realize how terrible it really was until I left". There is no respect for employees, and people are worked to the bone, under paid, and overall the organization is leaky and not optimal. You will wait years for either a raise, promotion, or bonus- take on 2-3 times the workload and responsibilities, and still- it will never come. This place is a top heavy pyramid ready to crash. They will continue to lose quality, effective, and skilled workers who leave for better opportunities elsewhere if they don't change their strategy and start focusing on promoting healthy company culture and remove toxic people, especially from their leadership and management roles. Do yourself a favor and don't get caught in the trap of starting here, because it can be hard to leave.

    Continue reading
    Ipsos2020-05-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Cliquey Culture and Underwhelming Support"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is slightly above average.

    Cons

    Ipsos SMX continuously fails to supply their employees with the structure necessary to succeed in a fast-paced, high-volume role. Leadership has clear favorites, making it difficult to do well and stand-out if you're not one of the gang. Employees are expected to buy-into a relatively toxic workplace culture in exchange for nothing but continued stress. The tasks and responsibilities of my role would be spread across 2 or more individuals at any other organization. If you so choose to seek-out support, leadership will instead micromanage and berate you for being incapable of handling the workload of 2+ people in an entry-level role. While the compensation is slightly above average, I urge you to know that it simply isn't worth your mental health and stability. I urge you to avoid this toxic, kool-aid culture at all costs.

    Continue reading
    Ipsos2020-05-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Hard to move up"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom depending on Manager and location.

    Cons

    The pay is pretty low and they will keep you there.

    Continue reading
    Ipsos2020-04-23
Found 1542 reviews