Jackson Hewitt Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Jackson Hewitt CEO Alan Ferber (no image)
Alan Ferber
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company helps others in making the best decision for their taxes(in 58 reviews)

  • "Job training, Flexible hours, on the job support(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, could use more learning materials(in 47 reviews)

  • "Seasonal work, only 5 months of out the year(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Winter seasonal"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Preparer in Payson, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jackson Hewitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great job for people who are self starters

    Cons

    learning is ongoing, mistakes and carelessness are costly

    Continue reading
    Jackson Hewitt2020-05-06

    Jackson Hewitt Response

    May 7, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback. We encourage direct communication with your leader to help resolve any areas you feel you need additional training in. If you work for one of our franchise locations, please reach out to the owner to discuss your situation. Thank you.

  2. "lot of work, not much on pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jackson Hewitt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The corporate benefits are decent

    Cons

    Management - ranges from incompetent cheerleaders to micromanagers. Only interested in keeping their "clients" happy.

    Jackson Hewitt2020-05-19
  3. "Steady job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Preparer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Jackson Hewitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, supportive management, bonuses based on performance

    Cons

    It was either VERY busy/swamped or totally dead. No in between

    Jackson Hewitt2020-05-17
  4. "Having a great experience."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Income Tax Preparer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jackson Hewitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job training, Flexible hours, on the job support.

    Cons

    Some co workers don't take team work serious enough.

    Jackson Hewitt2020-05-02

    Jackson Hewitt Response

    May 7, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback . We value and appreciate honest comments from our employees.

  5. "Competence, Integrity & Professionalism Lacking"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Tax Preparer in Rome, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Jackson Hewitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free training course, flexible schedule, reasonable workload

    Cons

    poor communication from company & supervisors, lack of concern for customers, inadequate training & support

    Continue reading
    Jackson Hewitt2020-05-11
  6. "Okay job"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at Jackson Hewitt full-time

    Pros

    Nothing, just a regular job

    Cons

    Too many hours and management does not care

    Continue reading
    Jackson Hewitt2020-05-11
  7. "Decent and easy daily job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jackson Hewitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy daily routine and not a lo of difficulties

    Cons

    Have to dealing a lot with clients

    Jackson Hewitt2020-04-02

    Jackson Hewitt Response

    May 7, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for sharing! We appreciate your honest feedback. Tax Preparers and those who work in our retail locations are the back bone to our organization.

  8. "Overall, a good company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Jackson Hewitt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get bonuses for the numbers of returns submitted, products sold, and other bonuses.

    Cons

    It is really slow and it is only temporary.

    Jackson Hewitt2020-04-02
  9. "?"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Seasonal Tax Preparer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jackson Hewitt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company helps others in making the best decision for their taxes.

    Cons

    There is a lot of information to remember but its an opportunity to challenge yourself which is great!

    Jackson Hewitt2020-04-01
  10. "Don’t work here!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Jersey City, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jackson Hewitt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not many except for maybe the food and a few coworkers.

    Cons

    They tend to hire new people and fire prior employees due to the fact that have a life outside of JH. They also don’t care if you have a day off as they will constantly email or call you.

    Continue reading
    Jackson Hewitt2020-05-03

    Jackson Hewitt Response

    May 7, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you feel your experience was not ideal. If you’d like to discuss your situation please reach out to us at recruiting@jtax.com. We are continuously working on ways to improve and feedback is a valuable part of this process.

Found 732 reviews