MEMIC Reviews | Glassdoor

MEMIC Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
65%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
MEMIC President and CEO Michael Bourque
Michael Bourque
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, time off, the best group of people to work with(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great company culture, welcoming employees at all levels(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "While we are growing at a rapid rate, a lot of the new ideas are rooted in its past ideology(in 3 reviews)

  • "The pay is OK and it's pretty competitive in the Maine insurance industry, but it has to be considering it's a monoline carrier(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A company who cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Director in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEMIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enables employees, work/life balance, training, engaging, people focused, understands people are its best commodity, has a solid mission to deliver the best products and value to its customers.

    Cons

    Yet to find one

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-05-01

    MEMIC Response

    May 22, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing how much you enjoy working at MEMIC! Keep up the good work, we’re glad you’re a part of the team.

    Continue reading
  2. "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premium Auditor in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEMIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company runs in values and integrity and has consistent growth year over year- Knowledgeable upper management-amazing work/life balance atmosphere-promotes from within-tuition reimbursements-excellent benefits and 401K package

    Cons

    Working out all of the data kinks As the company is rapidly growing

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-10-19
  3. "I enjoyed my time there~"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mailroom Team Leader in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MEMIC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, time off, the best group of people to work with.

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything.

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-09-18
  4. "New employee... and I'm lovingit! I enjoy the work and colloborative environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEMIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I do work enjoy, the people are optimistic and customer-focused. People are very welcoming

    Cons

    I've only been here a short while and don't yet see any cons

    MEMIC2019-07-17

    MEMIC Response

    July 24, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share! We are so excited to hear that your experience has been so positive. We’re happy to have you on the MEMIC team.

    Continue reading
  5. "Wow, fun place to be (and work)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at MEMIC full-time

    Pros

    I like the location and my boss is open to working at home and also like the benefits. Tons of time off and good system for tracking time off

    Cons

    Add more umbrella's for outside commuting

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-05-21

    MEMIC Response

    July 2, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re thrilled to hear how much you enjoy working at MEMIC! In regards to your Con and Advice to Management, thank you for your feedback. We will bring these suggestions to the appropriate people and see what improvements can be made. Keep up the good work, we’re glad to have you on our team!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEMIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Senior management lead from the heart. Culture of service. Treated with respect. Limitless growth opportunity. Modern, comfortable office environment. In the beautiful Old Port!

    Cons

    Legacy software applications, but replacement is in progress.

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-05-02

    MEMIC Response

    May 22, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for the positive review and suggestions, we’re glad to hear you think MEMIC is a great place to work. Thank you for your 5+ years of service!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEMIC for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission of the company, great culture, supportive bosses, great teamwork, 401k (includes 5% match, discretionary contribution and profit sharing that has the potential to go up to 21.8% of your base salary), PTO.

    Cons

    Healthcare plan is a high deductible plan

    MEMIC2019-05-02

    MEMIC Response

    May 22, 2019Human Resources

    We’re happy to hear you think MEMIC is a great company to work for! In regards to our Health Plans, you are correct, MEMIC does offer 3 High Deductible Health Plans. In response to employee feedback, we also began offering a PPO plan in 2019. Employees who select a High Deductible Plan also have access to contribute pre-tax dollars into a HSA account and in 2019 MEMIC began contributing a yearly match. If you have any suggestions on how we can continue to improve our benefits package, please share with Human Resources. Thanks for your positive review and your 5+ years of service!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Culture and great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MEMIC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    MEMIC has great employees who work hard and provide excellent customer service. There is a lot of opportunity for growth, I've seen many co-workers promoted across the company. I think we have a great benefit package, I particularly enjoy the 401(k) and profit sharing. I am proud to work at MEMIC.

    Cons

    It is difficult to see negative reviews on social media because MEMIC is a great place to work. We have grown a lot in the past few years and change can be difficult for some employees, however, I have found that it has made the company stronger.

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-04-22

    MEMIC Response

    April 26, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for leaving us a review and we’re happy to hear MEMIC is measuring up to your expectations. As you know, everyone’s chipping in to make it just that much better. Keep up the good work!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MEMIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The actual job itself was rewarding as I loved helping injured workers receive the compensation they deserved

    Cons

    My manager was extremely negative and critical of me. He never gave me helpful advice and kept telling me I wasn’t the right fit for the job after only 2 months. It got so bad I got anxiety attacks just being around him.

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-05-30

    MEMIC Response

    June 6, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your perspective. Your experience, however, is not consistent with the majority of reviews by MEMIC’s other employees. We’re sorry MEMIC was not the right place for you. We hope you have found a better match for your career goals and that you will work with your supervisor and senior managers should issues arise in the future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Overstaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MEMIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MEMIC focuses on the community

    Cons

    WAY overstaffed. Sometimes go several days maybe even a week without doing a single thing. Pay is below average with little room for advancement The company tells workers what to do with their money by requiring bonus to go to non-profits.

    Continue reading
    MEMIC2019-04-19

    MEMIC Response

    April 26, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for flagging your situation. We recommend that you speak to your supervisor or Human Resources and explain your sense of having too little to do as well as your expectations about your career path. We are a learning organization and want to be sure you are not only busy but building skills that will help advance your knowledge of this business and the performance of the company. As for the charitable contribution program, for the last two years we have encouraged employees to direct $100 to an organization of their choice and the response has been terrific. Animal welfare groups, health organizations, education, environmental causes and dozens of others have benefited from our employees’ choices. This community engagement has nothing to do with bonuses – it’s about us reflecting the values that light us up. In terms of compensation, we are competitive in all the markets in which we do business. We also have a generous profit sharing plan that is above the norm for most industries. It is performance-based and goes straight into each employee’s retirement plan. In addition, annual performance reviews result in merit increases in compensation. We ask you to share responsibility for your workload and take ownership in your career path. We hope you’ll make the most of this opportunity as there is plenty of work to be done.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews