New Relic Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
New Relic CEO and Founder Lew Cirne
Lew Cirne
372 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of many high growth companies(in 42 reviews)

  • "No cons that are worth mentioning(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Generous Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The attitude around here is very positive and I am not just trying to plug the company. People are treated with respect, executive leadership is courteous and down to earth. There is a lot of opportunities to grow and take on new challenges. I didn't realize what a good company really was until I got here and I have worked at some major global companies. The feel here is to build a long term company that will last by building great products and having a deep vision, as opposed to salting the earth looking for more revenue and letting the products slide... And yes, great offsite meetings used to connect and learn with coworkers out of the office.

    Cons

    Normal growing pains that come with scale. Because of the growth and success of the company leadership has been known to get headhunted for bigger opportunities then New Relic can offer. This can be stressful but everyone seems to take it in stride, they let things evolve and we all seem to grow and mature.

    Continue reading
    New Relic2019-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is fair and can be great for good performance. Management team is solid, and unusually empathetic to market conditions and individual contributor specific situations - a rarity in the enterprise software space, especially for a leader. Lew Cirne is probably the most approachable founder/CEO you will ever meet.

    Cons

    We stalled in new product introduction / innovation ~ 2 years ago. But it is more than being made up for now, with so many new capabilities being introduced that it is hard to keep up with.

    Continue reading
    New Relic2020-06-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work, hands down"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The culture of New Relic is open, honest and welcoming. As a member of the LGBTQIA+ community, it is refreshing to be part of an organization that doesn't just pay lip service to inclusion but actively seeks it out. * New Relic is used by many companies small and large as critical infrastructure. The scale that New Relic operates is impressive. * There's a constant appetite to do better and be better. Our leadership team constantly asks for us to be BOLD. From what I've found, most are ready to take this on full force.

    Cons

    * Some reluctance to adopt new technology or ways of operating. We've only just now started a cloud migration. * Employees that were "here from the beginning" are reluctant to change their ways and are often stuck in the small company mindset. * 401k match is low for the industry

    New Relic2020-06-01
  4. "Front Desk Coordinator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very welcoming company environment and lots of great benefits. You can tell the people working there really are passionate about the work.

    Cons

    A tad less professional than I'm use to. Training was very lax and unstructured.

    New Relic2020-05-29
  5. "New Relic has it all!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Trainer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros: People, culture, values that are ACTUALLY driving all employees and leaders actually are invested in these values, clear mission, treatment of customers, learning & development opportunities, benefits, etc.

    Cons

    None so far that I see. I see the company trying to streamline a lot of things for customers and I believe that they are doing the same for employees as well.

    Continue reading
    New Relic2020-05-28
  6. "Great Culture and full of amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture Easy to grow your career within the company and change function Community presence Good benefit and pay Strong management and leadership some of the best people I have ever worked with Equal pay regardless of gender or status

    Cons

    Not a lot of diversity Becoming more or less like a corporate and no longer feel like a small hip company

    Continue reading
    New Relic2020-05-15
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -My Work has Impact - I feel like the work I do has direct impact to the life of the company. -My Work is Recognized (Positively) - My team and other teams have expressed their gratitude for my contributions. It is a great feeling to be appreciated. -I get Meaningful Feedback - We get reviewed on a regular basis. The feedback, both positive and negative, help me to become a better employee -Great Work/Life Balance - My manager works with me to make sure I take plenty of time off. They also help support my work schedule so I am not dealing with crazy commute hours. -Great Opportunities for Career Advancement - My manager works with me about advancing my career.

    Cons

    Honestly, there are no major cons that affect me on a professional level.

    New Relic2020-05-14
  8. "Dynamic company with incredible culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, people, people. I never dreamed I'd work with so many thoughtful, dedicated, compassionate colleagues. No end of challenges and the support to succeed.

    Cons

    The closest I can come to a con is that things are constantly changing here, so if you're after nice, boring, easy work this may not be the place for you.

    New Relic2020-05-15
  9. "If you're thinking of making a change - come to New Relic!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture; PeopleTeam support; support to managers; clear expectations; values we actually live by; C-Suite we can trust! We care about clients and that's everyone's North Star. During COVID not only New Relic has been kind, supportive, and inclusive to the employees - we are committed to helping the local communities as well. I can proudly say I work here, any day!

    Cons

    Literally NONE! Everyone is genuinely wants to do their best work, business outlook is exciting, product is superb!

    Continue reading
    New Relic2020-05-14
  10. "Best organization I've ever worked at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer Level III in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Relic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Real focus on healthy work-life balance Conscious avoidance of siloing information Highly functional teams, with strong collaboration Management is there to clear the path and provide guidance Strong career growth opportunities VERY robust D&I department Strong focus on company values -- not just a collection of words, but ideals which are constantly being striven toward

    Cons

    If you are not some sort of nerd, you may feel out of place

    New Relic2020-05-14
Found 430 reviews