Octopus Reviews | Glassdoor

Octopus Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working is encouraged though the culture doesn't make this easy(in 11 reviews)

  • "Lots of social events, charity work and groups people can get involved in(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management skirt around the issue because they don't want to commit to spending more money on staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very long hours for the salary paid(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MBA Intern in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Octopus for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing company + team. highly recommend for finance professional londoners

    Cons

    very long hours + work on weekends

    Octopus2016-08-24
  2. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Octopus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers, bad customers, alright food

    Cons

    Terrible management, and lack of order

    Octopus2019-06-27

    Octopus Response

    July 11, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid. Should have left earlier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Octopus full-time

    Pros

    Some great, likeminded people working there. Good social programmes

    Cons

    Poor middle management, many of whom lack basic people skills let alone leadership quality. Numbers driven and uninspirational. Toxic gossip environment, reminded me of a school playground full of adolescent teenagers. I personally witnessed a culture of victimisation and bullying, forcing a number of highly talented people to leave the company. The company is full of politics, getting the right people on your side by any means whether it's lying or shamelessly brown nosing is key to progression. A number of high profile senior leaders brought into the company, only to leave 6-9 months later with litter to no explanation. A real concern. Very little racial diversity. Desperately trying to be a Fintech company and failing, most of the tech within large part of the organisation is backward and not fit for purpose. Work life balance non existent, it's frowned upon if you leave on time.

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-02-09

    Octopus Response

    April 2, 2019Octopus Team

    Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. We’re really pleased to hear that you enjoyed working with the colleagues in your team and that you benefited from the wide range of social programmes we provide. We know that a highly competitive, target-driven environment is not for everyone. But we don’t agree that work-life balance at Octopus is non-existent - we actively encourage and promote flexible working and your manager would have supported your request for flexible working had it been raised with them at the time. We know staff turnover has been high in the past and we understand why this was a concern to you. With a business model like ours, change is going to be inevitable. Without change we can’t develop and progress. In January this year, we significantly restructured the business, appointing a new CEO for Octopus Investments and a new CIO. We share your concerns over technology and we are working hard to remedy this. We have also now appointed a new Chief Technology Officer and we’re excited to see how our infrastructure will improve as a result. We’ve invested millions in the latest tech already and have plans to make additional investments in the future. We’re sorry that you have not always enjoyed the time that you spent working with us, but we genuinely wish you all the very best for the future and hope that you’ve now found somewhere to work that suits you better.

    Continue reading
  4. "Growing business, great ethos."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture at octopus is strong, effort is clearly made from the top down on this. It's noticeable compared to other companies I've worked in. Charity, social events and to have an entrepreneurial spirit in your work. Everything is based around making it simple for the customer and staff work hard to achieve that. Not everything is perfect, but what is? I only hope as the business grows it doesn't lose the spirit it still has right now. The initiatives to train staff are very much appreciated.

    Cons

    Hours could be a bit shorter. The salaries can be bettered elsewhere, but the culture and benefits can make up for that. If hours were 9-5 or 5:30 (or early finish Friday??) it may make the lower salaries slightly easier to swallow.

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-12-10
  5. "Great place, great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Highbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best place I ever worked so much effort into staff

    Cons

    Hard work at times,

    Octopus2019-12-07

    Octopus Response

    December 9, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We’re glad you’re enjoying your time with us, and are delighted to hear that Octopus is the best place you’ve ever worked. We recognise that working here can be challenging at times, but we hope the rewards we provide, such as excellent staff benefits and social opportunities, show how much we value the hard work of all our employees. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Strong culture of value led behaviour - permeates through the organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, exciting, respectful environment with 100 percent customer focus.

    Cons

    Very few and far between

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-11-13

    Octopus Response

    November 28, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re always pleased to hear our employees are enjoying their time with us, and we’re glad you find our entrepreneurial spirit and unique atmosphere exciting. We’re looking forward to seeing how your career with us develops, thanks again for posting a review.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal company to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People Flexible working A place that cares about its employees Will look after people who work hard and care Social element

    Cons

    Fast pace but rather than that than a huge corporate entity

    Continue reading
    Octopus2019-10-30

    Octopus Response

    November 8, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your time with us and it’s great you feel proud to work here. It’s true that we place our employees at the centre of everything we do and we always reward people who work hard and show they care about our customers. We’re proud of the Octopus culture and although this type of fast-paced and ambitious environment may not be for everyone, it’s clear that it suits you! Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.

    Continue reading
  8. "Management Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Employees are treated well Benefits and social inclusions Charity work

    Cons

    Not paid fairly to market Hours can be much longer than contracted depending on your role

    Octopus2019-11-01

    Octopus Response

    November 15, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. The Octopus culture is unique and we’re pleased to hear it suits you. We really care about our employees and we’re proud of our inclusive values and the range of benefits and social opportunities we provide. We have a ‘work hard, play hard’ culture here which does mean sometimes people work long days, but if you feel that your workload is too much, please speak to your line manager in the first instance. We offer flexible working to all employees where practicable, and this may be something you’d like to consider. We know there will always be companies that pay more than we do, but we believe our excellent range of benefits and the career progression opportunities we provide to all our employees makes Octopus a fantastic company to work for. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "My 'feedback'..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewards employee's efforts Social events are good - we have a great number of clubs at Octopus that bring people together with similar interests eg theatre club, gigs club, garden club, gaming club etc Offices are great Parental leave policy is good

    Cons

    Long working hours (45 working hours week) The need to provide feedback at everything is becoming excessive - people should be giving this when they find it would add value, it shouldn't be a weekly/monthly task otherwise the feedback will either become false or just a tickbox action - surely we want it to be developmental rather than not used in the correct context?! Ask opinions on this, a great number of people think the same! The company is very big and has separate business units - which makes it feel like you only below of a certain business unit rather than the company as a whole Some systems aren't great - accounts system is something from the 1980's and is extremely clunky. Appraisals need a revamp

    Octopus2019-11-04

    Octopus Response

    November 15, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you’re making the most of the social activities we provide and appreciate our fantastic office space and employee focused policies. If you feel your workload is too much for you, please speak with your manager in the first instance. We provide flexible working opportunities to all employees where practicable and it may be that a different work pattern may suit you better. We think that listening to our people is important and the feedback we receive from our employees helps us to make changes that benefit everyone. We’ve taken your points on board though and will look at the way we gather feedback. We agree with you that Octopus is a big organisation, but we’re proud of our ambitious growth and can’t see things slowing down. We do our best to ensure that all departments are aligned, but appreciate that this isn’t always going to be the case. It’s true that some of our internal systems have not kept pace with our growth, but we’re investing in new technology and things are improving. Regarding the appraisal process, we’d be interested to hear your ideas about this, could you please raise it with HR? Thanks again for taking the time to give such a considered review. We’ll certainly be looking into the points you’ve raised.

    Continue reading
  10. "Fantastic Company, Fantastic People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    95% of people are like minded, fun, outgoing, spontaneous and driven. I'll never have a dull day with my team, great social life, great training, great support. There is such a mix of people that you'd never imagine getting on, but everyone just does

    Cons

    Mistakes happen like anywhere, relatively high employee turnover

    Octopus2019-10-23

    Octopus Response

    November 8, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re pleased to hear you’re making the most of your time here and are benefitting from the great social opportunities we provide to all our employees. We’re really proud of the Octopus culture, and although we appreciate that our unique environment may not suit everyone, it’s good to hear you’re enjoying your time with us.

    Continue reading
Found 150 reviews