OhioHealth Reviews | Glassdoor

OhioHealth Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 414 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
OhioHealth CEO David P. Blom
David P. Blom
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, flexible work environments as well as locations(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, treat employees very well(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Culture is similar to a caste system where upper management treats staff with disdain(in 10 reviews)

  • "Low morale and hostile work environment(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Good Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OhioHealth part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Based in central Ohio, they seem to really care about the success of the hospitals. Give resources to nurses to help them care for patients well

    Cons

    Large company, can feel somewhat impersonal.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to retain your nurses. The small things they do for nurse retention is offset by taking away shift differentials/call pay

    OhioHealth2018-10-23
  2. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician - Systems Float in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OhioHealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is always helping you grow. Most locations are very welcoming and treat you like family. Great first shift hours. Management is approachable and receptive to criticism and strives to understand what the day to day looks like for non-management associates.

    Cons

    Insurance is on the more expensive side versus what’s covered. Second shift hours are on the late side.

    OhioHealth2019-06-14
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OhioHealth full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture at OhioHealth. Teams are supportive, both personally and professionally

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    OhioHealth2019-06-05
  4. "Staff Nurse in the ICU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse At RMH in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at OhioHealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -amazing teamwork -respected by authority -weekends every 3rd not every other

    Cons

    -lowest pay in central ohio when I started out

    OhioHealth2019-06-02
  5. "Just another body"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can work as many hours as you want Discounts to local places Tuition Reimbursement Scholarships for school

    Cons

    Hard to get any time off They will hire anyone so coworkers can be difficult Constantly getting texted, called, and emailed to pick up more shifts and they make you feel bad when you don't pick up extra No incentive to pick up extra

    OhioHealth2019-06-10
  6. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Marion, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Salary, Great Benefits, Company gives back to the community and encourages volunteerism

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for a great company!

    OhioHealth2019-05-25
  7. "Love Ohio Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OhioHealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere, positive attitudes, good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    staff turnover, sometimes short staffed, patients with unsatisfied surveys

    OhioHealth2019-05-15
  8. "Nice coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - RN New Grad 

      I have been working at OhioHealth full-time

      Pros

      Loved it. Great staff good benefits

      Cons

      Fellowship was ok. Could use more flexibility

      OhioHealth2019-05-15
    • "Flexible and Caring"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Athletic Trainer in Columbus, OH
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at OhioHealth part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great work/life balance and good culture with helpful/supportive leadership team

      Cons

      Large hospital system with a lot of "big initiatives" that did not impact athletic training

      OhioHealth2019-05-15
    • "Corporate takeover"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Reimbursement Specialist in Mansfield, OH

      I have been working at OhioHealth full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      independent workflow most of the time

      Cons

      crammed more employees in smaller spaces for poor pay

      OhioHealth2019-05-24
    Found 414 reviews