KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

OpenTable

Engaged Employer

OpenTable

Add a Review

OpenTable Reviews

Updated May 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 407 of over 434 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
OpenTable CEO Debby Soo
Debby Soo
73 Ratings

What people are saying about OpenTable

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Met some great people and social life was not bad(in 68 reviews)
  • "Historically has had a great culture(in 45 reviews)
  • "Work life balance is good in Operations as one is required to operate only during IST hours.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Competitive benefits package(in 23 reviews)
  • "OpenTable has an amazing company culture that I could not imagine matching at many other companies.(in 12 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of OpenTable and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best company I’ve worked for so far

    Apr 11, 2022 - Senior Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture No micro management Good work life balance

    Cons

    compensation could be comparable to the top companies in the bay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Start, New Opportunities

    Mar 10, 2022 - Account Executive in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The AE New Hire Training was very effective and helped prepare me for going into the field and start pitching to restaurant operators based in the anatomy of a sale at OT.

    Cons

    No formal salesforce training to follow up the NHT. I was encouraged to get in the field and figure that out as it came. I reached out to some veterans on my team for help but that took a lot of time and was reactive. I have not attended/shadowed a veteran AE in their market to see time management, pipeline management, Forma management, or sales meetings drop-ins or calls. I am a hands on learner and think that I would stand to benefit greatly from going to someone else's market to see the model behavior. Right now OT is sending people to my market to watch me, which is good, but in my opinion backwards.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Complete Change since I started

    May 11, 2022 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. It is a good company out of college as a first job.

    Cons

    Salaries are low in comparison to the current landscape. KAYAK runs the show. It is not the same start up company as it was 5/6 years ago, and it is becoming a nightmare. Fearful revenue structure. Not sure how the company is going to make money in the long-run as revenue model keeps getting discounted. Not many career growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great but could be better

    Mar 14, 2022 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary is $17/hour & $19 for bilingual as of March 2022 Phone/Chat/Email For restaurants So far everyone has been pretty helpful. They are pretty understanding. I worked for about a week and had to leave for family emergency. Instead of firing me they let me join the next training class. Good schedule options, I currently have Sat, Sun, & Mon off. You can choose a 30min or 1hr lunch.

    Cons

    I work 10 hour shifts and only get 2, 15 min breaks and a lunch. Every other job I had has been 3, 15 min breaks per 10 hour shift. Training is 2 weeks then they put you on the floor. I honestly think training should be extended to 4 weeks! Its a lot of information to learn in 2 weeks and I think that's why half the class quits before the second week starts Benefits are decent. No company perks other than a discount at 1 hotel in Miami, Fl There is no Overtime. There is no Bonus Pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Work/Life Balance

    Feb 23, 2022 - Senior Security Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - There is actually work/life balance here. I can adjust my schedule to accommodate my life outside of work. Kids, doctor's appts, home maintenance emergencies...no one ever gives me the side eye or a hard time. Ever. Plus, we get to work remotely from (almost) anywhere! - I feel valued for my contributions to the company - Benefits are commensurate with other tech companies - I am encouraged to expand my knowledge, and given resources to do so - I get to work on a variety of projects. It does not get boring.

    Cons

    - We could use some more people, but what company doesn't have that problem?

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Doesn’t pay enough for the micromanaging to be worth it

    Feb 25, 2022 - Customer Support Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mostly kind people working there A good job for those who need a bit more professional experience

    Cons

    Micromanaged by all managers. Daily schedule was so precise it was hard to adhere to— adherence was also a metric used in assessments. Every action you do is timed and if you’re taking longer than they think you should, they will message you to basically tell you to go faster. It was excessive. Remote for most of the pandemic but forced us to go into office July 2021. Got hired on full time from contract and only got a 50 cent raise. Took on a ton more responsibility and didn’t receive any more compensation.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun Place

    Apr 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and it's a fun environment.

    Cons

    I don't have anything bad to say about it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great place to work, female CEO

    Mar 14, 2022 - Lead Creative Producer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    awesome people. opportunities for travel. flexible work from anywhere structure. great work life balance.

    Cons

    limited growth after the lead level on the individual contributor track. not as much innovation as other competitors in the industry.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Job

    Mar 29, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture. excellent for self motivated individuals. solid compensation.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity for growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    My Second Family!

    Dec 9, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can choose from many flexible schedules, and they will work with you if something comes up, or needs to be changed. Great benefits for all! The first place that I have worked for focuses on positivity and mental health. Everyone is supportive, and always ready to help you succeed.

    Cons

    There are a lot of metrics/pillars to hit, and time limits on work done after phone calls. I feel like if there were less, there would be more success and eagerness.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 407 Reviews

OpenTable Reviews FAQs

OpenTable has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 434 reviews left anonymously by employees. 81% of employees would recommend working at OpenTable to a friend and 62% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, OpenTable employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at OpenTable. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

81% of OpenTable employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated OpenTable 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at OpenTable to be benefits, culture, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with OpenTable Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at OpenTable? Share Your Experiences

or

OpenTable Careers

Cover image for OpenTable

With millions of diners, tens of thousands of restaurants, and 20 years of experience, OpenTable, part of Booking Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ:...More

  • Our Locations
  • Giving Back
  • Technology
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

OpenTable

701 days ago

New OpenTable Feature Spotlights Safety Precautions at Restaurants
Shared image - New OpenTable Feature Spotlights Safety Precautions at Restaurants
New OpenTable Feature Spotlights Safety Precautions at Restaurants
glassdoor.com

OpenTable Photos

+ Add Photo
OpenTable photo of: Just a glance at our Sales Team!
OpenTable photo of: Our Product Development team
OpenTable photo of: Our Marketing team at their best!
OpenTable photo of: Our Design Team!
OpenTable photo of: Behind the scenes
OpenTable photo of: OpenTable Software
OpenTable photo of: WhiteParty!
See All Photos