OpenTable Reviews

Updated May 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
OpenTable CEO Debby Soo
Debby Soo
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "good hours, respects work-life balance, flexible hours(in 51 reviews)

  • "Good Food Great People Just great(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "should spend more time addressing technical debt (though really most tech companies needs to do this)(in 11 reviews)

  • "Ever since OT merged with Kayak things went downhill(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Best company I have ever worked for!!

      Aug 11, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and culture are amazing! Great opportunity to advance. Everyone helps you succeed. I have had the best supervisors too! Everyone is so helpful and loves their job. People are just so up beat and personable.

      Cons

      COVID and having to work from home! I miss the interactions of the other employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for overall

      Apr 26, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive pay and benefits - Acceptable work-life balance - Sold core technologies used in products - Great collaboration between sales, marketing, product, engineering - Products and features are growing rapidly as company takes on "Pickup", "Delivery"... - In my experience managers genuinely care about their employees and help them grow

      Cons

      - OpenTable reporting to Kayak has some downsides - Covid pandemic showed OpenTable business model could be vulnerable - Sometimes product development cycle is too fast and can be stressful

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, better people, and everyone cares about the restaurant industry

      Apr 22, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive Pay - Great work/ life balance - Diversity and Inclusion is baked into the culture - A company that truly cares about the restaurant industry - Benefits packages are great - No one micromanages you if you are hitting your goals or are a self-starter. - Despite the crippling impact of COVID on the restaurant industry and company revenues, a long-term approach was taken and the very vast majority of employees were retained during and through the pandemic.

      Cons

      - We do such good for the restaurant industry, but we aren't the best at being our own cheerleaders or getting the word out to our restaurant partners. Our good deeds often go under-noticed. - The company often takes the high road when competition talks smack. Sometimes I think we should hit back. (Guess that happens when you're the industry leader) - How is it possible that when I tell people I work at OpenTable 2-3 of every 10 people don't know what it is? We've been the industry leader for 22 years! We should be a household name like uber.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Micromanagement at the highest level

      Mar 20, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Decent people to work with. - Decent pay for entry-level work.

      Cons

      - Micromanagement: expect every single thing you do to be monitored and under a microscope. Breaks are ridiculously short for call center work. - You have to work weekends. No life/work balance at all. - Politically infused: if you are not a liberal, be prepared to be ostracized for differing views. BLM and LGBTQ are forced upon you, despite your religious or personal beliefs. Diversity only applies to political agenda and nothing outside of it. - Inappropriate conduct from supervisors; lack of professionalism in the work place. - Limited mobility - Biased, unclear and subjective assessments on employee performance based on "Pillars of Excellence". No room for authenticity or personal creativity, but required to conform. - Poor communication from supervisors - Expect to experience burnout from a steady influx of angry customers.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Unclear Strategy

      Apr 2, 2021 - Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture and colleagues. Love working with & helping our restaurants thrive.

      Cons

      Leadership is unclear about direction or strategy. Product teams are out of touch with customer needs and slow to innovate.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      May 1, 2021 - FIN Ops Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/life balance. Consistent workflow. People are friendly and hardworking willing to go above and beyond.

      Cons

      As a company that works with restaurants, hotels and hospitality, the customer side is incredibly inconsistent and demanding.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work if Trying to Transition to 9-5

      Apr 9, 2021 - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great place to work for people with hospitality backgrounds who crave a more corporate atmosphere -Great culture and people -Competitive benefits -Flexible schedule -Work/Life balance

      Cons

      -Goals attainment is sometimes out of your control -Unclear communication from above -Not a lot of upward growth

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Sales Manager

      Apr 14, 2021 - Sales Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dedicated Team members that work together for the best outcomes for the company and our restaurant partners

      Cons

      Bandwidth for Engineering team is tight for product innovation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Always striving for better

      Apr 5, 2021 - Bilingual Customer Service Representative in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot has evolved to make a better workplace. Totally new office to enjoy

      Cons

      Fixed schedule means always working at least 1 weekend day

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No growth

      Apr 26, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good relationships, good culture, different schedule opportunities, good office environment, good health insurance

      Cons

      Poor salary, no pto, poor management, no growth opportunities

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 323 Reviews

    Popular Careers with OpenTable Job Seekers

    Restaurant Services Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at OpenTable? Share Your Experiences

    OpenTable logo
    or