Paychex Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Paychex offers great benefits including a very generous tuition assistance program that you can start using on the second month of employment(in 235 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance is amazing, flexible(in 179 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paychex goes above and beyond to keep in touch with their employees and foster a culture that is inclusive, diverse, and committed to personal growth and development. I come to work and I'm surrounded by some of the most amazing, talented people I've ever met. I can't say enough about how much I love it here. I'm #PaychexProud

    Cons

    I haven't come across any yet. There are rough days, or weeks, like anywhere else. But the people here are great about buckling down and getting it done, and then celebrating the success!

    Continue reading
    Paychex2019-12-11

    Paychex Response

    December 17, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    We're thrilled to hear you're happy here and appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us!

  2. "Baton Rouge Rocks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. The benefits are fabulous and the opportunity to advance is great. Contrary to what a few disgruntled ex employees have to say there is no favoritism from management, you simply have to be willing to work for your commission as is the situation with any sales job. The Baton Rouge sales office will set you up for success provided you are willing to learn, work hard and absorb the training you are provided. With that being said Paychex is a choice you won't regret.

    Cons

    There are absolutely zero cons

    Paychex2020-02-24

    Paychex Response

    March 4, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and we're so happy to hear that your experience has been so positive. #PaychexProud

  3. "Paychex Cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stability, Culture, Benefits, and employees. Large company with small company feel.

    Cons

    The organization is slower to evolve or change.

    Continue reading
    Paychex2020-05-20
  4. "So Grateful"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong company, many resources to do job, great benefits, love my manager

    Cons

    activity, activity, activity; if it's not is SalesForce then it didn't happen. Continually changing comp plan

    Continue reading
    Paychex2020-05-18

    Paychex Response

    May 19, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback!

  5. "Fantastic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Conusultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company is so great. I had to leave a second review with a 5 star. It changed my life financially and emotionally for the better. They have programs to help their employees through tough times. You can make very good money if you put in the time. Also, during this COVID-19 they're actually doing alot for their employees. I told my manager I was exhausted because I work very hard...he gave me time off and was happy to do it. I can go on and on, but Paychex is the greatest company with fantastic technology. I don't care if a company offered my 7 times what I'm making now. I'm not leaving.

    Cons

    -Sometimes customer service isn't the best for clients. But you have to come in and make sure your clients are taking care of, its annoying but you get referrals from it.

    Paychex2020-05-18

    Paychex Response

    May 19, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    We are happy to hear this has been your experience as the safety and well-being of our employees is one of our main priorities. That said, so is the service we provide our clients and we'll make sure your feedback is shared internally for awareness. Stay well and thank you for your review.

  6. "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paychex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and development opportunities

    Cons

    Very competitive environment amongst staff

    Paychex2020-05-12

    Paychex Response

    May 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  7. "This a good company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Sales Representative in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paychex is one of the best companies to sell for a reason.. 1. Unlimited PTO 2. Great Culture 3. Great managers that want to make you better for the future

    Cons

    None. Anybody reading this should know that the negative reviews are from people who didn't do well in their position. Moral of the story is if you put the time in you can make a lot of money, but it your choice to control the destiny that awaits in front of you

    Continue reading
    Paychex2020-05-10

    Paychex Response

    May 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. Our company culture, leadership, and benefits are all great reasons to be #PaychexProud.

  8. "Perfect For A Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Coordinator in West Henrietta, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great close community, knowledgeable colleagues who are always willing to help out

    Cons

    Certain times of the year are hectic. Zero time off during these times, and it's "all hands on deck".

    Paychex2020-04-28

    Paychex Response

    April 29, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - National Sales Support Representative in Rochester, NY

    I have been working at Paychex full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Long hours and small pay

    Paychex2020-04-21

    Paychex Response

    April 26, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  10. "Don't work here."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Keep searching and look for another company.

    Cons

    Micromanagement. Lack of autonomy. Pay falls short to competitors.

    Paychex2020-05-05

    Paychex Response

    May 14, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Your experience is important to us. Please contact us at glassdoor@paychex.com if you'd like to discuss your concerns in more detail.

Found 1410 reviews