Philips Reviews | Glassdoor

Philips Reviews

Updated November 22, 2017
823 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Brent Shafer
31 Ratings

823 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "R&D Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Framingham, MA
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly and collaborative work environment, plenty of resource and help available.

    Cons

    Few opportunities for entry level engineers.

    Philips Response

    Nov 23, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there,

    It's good to hear from one of our former colleagues. We hope you are doing well and that you have found another awesome job in the meantime. Thanks for reviewing Philips as an employer... More


  2. "Sr Construction Managet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and support

    Cons

    Slow periods due to seasons

    Advice to Management

    None-doing well

    Philips Response

    Nov 23, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Good morning!

    We appreciate you took the time to share your opinion here. Sounds like you enjoy working for the company. Wishing you a nice day!

  3. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good work-life balance
    Exciting innovations, done to improve lives

    Cons

    At times, too many decision making layers

    Advice to Management

    Simplify and accelerate


  4. "Research quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Briarcliff Manor, NY
    Former Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Briarcliff Manor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Focus on research qualities: Research papers and patents; encourages to attend conference: research quality is good; environment is good, nice.

    Cons

    You had less freedom for the proposal of projects: very limited career path ,need to add more intermediate level, more encouragement

    Advice to Management

    From the career path of senior scientist to principal scientist, add more intermediate level


  5. "A good place to work with fabulous working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They will hire you on full time basis depending on your ability to work hard.

    Cons

    There are minimal training opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities in- house should be available in order for in - house staff to get hired on and move up the ladder.

    Philips Response

    Nov 23, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there,

    We'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate that a lot, as we want our colleagues to feel comfortable working for us. :) We think personal... More


  6. "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Andover, MA
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Competitive salary and benefits
    - 401K and generous tuition reimbursement
    - Large town hall meetings quarterly to share company achievements
    - Open desk policy and agile office spaces, plenty of conference room/work stations
    - Flexible work from home policy for many departments
    - International team collaboration
    - Plenty of training and development opportunities

    Cons

    - People don’t like change
    - Lots of micro managing and delegation in IT
    - Team members didn’t collaborate or engage with rest of team
    - Not a lot of young employees but they’re working on it
    - Constant reorganizing of departments and shifting resources internationally - low job security

    Advice to Management

    Implement a more structured on-boarding process, and reduce layoffs.

    Philips Response

    Nov 16, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    It’s nice that you elaborate on quite a bit of points. That gives quite a good insight in your experience working with us over the last years. Thanks!


  7. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Philips Research North America in Cambridge is a great place to work. Working with smart people gives me the opportunity to learn every day. Also, people respect work-life balance.

    Cons

    It is a little bit slow and is hard to propose new ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Help employee in development of new ideas that has impact.

    Philips Response

    Nov 16, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    It’s really nice to hear that the work enabled you to learn a lot. I do hope we’ll continue learning and innovating together! Thanks for sharing your experience.

  8. "Solid step in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing in Framingham, MA
    Former Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Stable company with room for advancement across the organization

    Cons

    Big company mentality and slow to make change but will make change if required.

    Philips Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello, many thanks for sharing your feedback, it’s very much appreciated.


  9. "Good times ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bothell, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance was ideal

    Cons

    Slow moving conglomerate hindered growth

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any

    Philips Response

    Nov 16, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    I appreciate that you’ve taken a moment to quickly reflect on your time with us. It’s nice that you’ve mostly had a great experience and I’d like to wish you the best in your future endeavors.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've worked with Philips for over 10 years and have always been interested in working for this company. Philips has great products and surrounds themselves with great people.

    Cons

    There are none so far!

    Philips Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Wow, it's quite impressive that you've been with us for more than a decade! It's really wonderful to hear that it's been such a positive experience so far and we want to thank you for all the work... More


Showing 2,843 of 3,204 reviews
Reset Filters