Philips Reviews | Glassdoor

Philips Reviews

Updated July 19, 2018
907 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Vitor Rocha
37 Ratings

907 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work Life balance may be effected depending upon work" (in 95 reviews)

  • "too many layers for decision making" (in 83 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with interesting engineering projects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I work with a great group of people in Carlsbad, CA.

    Cons

    Pay raises as small and promotions slow. Lateral move opportunities are also not abundant.

    Advice to Management

    We have had some turn-over in managers, and the new executive team is doing a great job.

    Philips Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – recruiting

    It's great to see an employee who has been with us for 8+ years is still having a positive experience! Thank you!


  2. "Order management resolution specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management Resolution Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Order Management Resolution Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Employees are enthusiastic and absolutely amazing.

    Cons

    So far so good. At this time there is nothing I see as a con!

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for hiring me

    Philips Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    We're very happy to have you on board, and are excited to hear that you are having a wonderful experience! Thank you for your positive feedback.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Andover No Longer Relevant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineering Manager in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineering Manager in Andover, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Plenty of parking is now available on the Andover campus. Open office space is ideal for monitoring workers and watch managers. Keeps everybody honest.

    Cons

    The Dutch mgmt team has destroyed Andover with the decisions to move to Cambridge and outsource mfg to PA and Israel. The local mgmt team is making life miserable for the AUS dept with unachievable goals/demands and creating ridiculous rules du jour. Break a rule, get dinged or even fired on the spot. This creates a hostile work environment. The economy is getting better. Engineers and assemblers are quickly finding jobs at other companies.

    Advice to Management

    There is no advice to give. Over the years, I've been reading the feedbacks from the talent brand managers here. I have not seen any improvements mentioned on this board or within the company.
    Lastly, get rid of the open collaboration desk environment. It's a fad. It is distracting. It's like trying to do engineering design in the cafeteria.
     Please, I want a layoff package.

    Philips Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to review your experience in working for Philips. We regret hearing that it is not a positive one. It’s difficult to comment properly without all the detail, and we... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Order Management in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good pay
    Decent Benefits
    Good opportunities to advance your career internally over time
    Good internal education courses

    Cons

    This is a large company, so if you do not like to be part of a large team, this might not be for you

    Advice to Management

    Make onboarding easier

    Philips Response

    Jul 12, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there,

    We appreciate you listing your pros and cons. This is very valuable and insightful to us. We do are a big company with big teams and we realize some people may be struggling to get on... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Had potential but constant dramatic resulted in dysfunction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Delivery Manager in Andover, MA
    Former Employee - IT Delivery Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Environmentally ethical, great products, flexible work atmosphere, long-term strategy and vision in place for success and normal to high compensation.

    Cons

    10+ years of dramatic transformation, inclusive of pushing key components to outsourced/partners resulted in broken down processes, extensive delays in resolution of issues, dysfunction, lack of 'cultural atmosphere' and implementation of work-place-innovation has provoked a lack of in-office attendance to provide enhanced culture and collaboration; but isolation. Difficult to balance given many roles require 'odd' hours to work(early AM, late PM).

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully time will be given to meld things into place before 'hitting the pulse button on that blender'.... in order to develop the culture, collaboration, review & resolution of 'gaps' and set the path forward without too many more redirections

    Philips Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to reflect back on your experience in working at Philips. We can imagine that you have seen quite a few changes in the 10+ years that you were with us. Your input and... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "The culture could use a lift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bothell, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people around me, at my level are fantastic to work with. The office environment, while cubicles, is nice and the campus is beautiful. There is a lot of meaningful work to be done. The salary, benefits, and work life balance are good.

    Cons

    The director level is horrible. There is a huge disconnect between the directors and the people actually doing the work. The corporate norm is for directors to get all the credit. The folks doing the work might get a thank you if they're lucky while the directors get full credit for having an idea along with monetary incentives. It's incredibly frustrating. The director level is currently making bad choices regarding future data grown and report maturity, reverting away from centralized visualizations to Excel only solutions.

    Advice to Management

    Clean sweep of the director level and culture shift coming from the top would be a breath of fresh air, attract fresh top talent, and boost the bottom the line because you would have more valuable information with which to make decisions. Invest in and recognize the people actioning the ideas and stop the culture of blame-shifting. One of the corporate mottos is be fearless and unrelenting - leadership should uphold this standard.

    Philips Response

    Jul 12, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello,

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Coming from a current employee, this means a lot to us and we'd like you to know that we take your input seriously. Everyone... More


  7. "global marketing operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Operations Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Marketing Operations Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    great people, process and products with an awesome culture!

    Cons

    not many - Philips is a large global company and that can be an issue for some.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up- you are doing all the right stuff and the shareholders know.

    Philips Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    Sounds like you enjoyed your time at Philips! We appreciate the warm and sincere review. :) Thanks for all the hard work and we wish you a the best.

  8. "great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer IV in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Engineer IV in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    All colleagues are very helpful and friendly

    Cons

    The gym is not 24/7.

    Advice to Management

    Since there is no one watching the Gym, why is Gym not 24/7?

    Philips Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    It's great to read that you are having a great experience, and are surrounded by wonderful colleagues! Thanks for letting us know


  9. "Mission , vision and perspectives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Mission , vision and perspectives of senior management to drive innovation towards contributing to the betterment of society makes me believe that I am working towards a bigger goal of life.

    Cons

    not sure if its a cons yet

    Philips Response

    Jun 28, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for your positive words, they are much appreciated!


  10. "Welcoming Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I absolutely love working for this company! I work at the San Diego office (Image Guided Therapy Devices) business group and enjoy coming to work everyday. I am surrounded by hard working individuals who care about what they do and show it. Benefits are awesome and this company knows how to take care of their employees!

    Cons

    I cannot say anything negative about this company!

    Advice to Management

    I would just recommend to provide a little more communication from a site level. Other than that, I can't really say anything negative about management.

    Philips Response

    Jun 28, 2018 – Talent Brand Manager

    We think hearing that you love coming into work everyday is just the best compliment! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we're very happy to have you as part of our Philips family.... More


Showing 1,889 of 3,681 reviews
Reset Filters