Philips Reviews | Glassdoor

Philips Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1027 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Philips CEO Vitor Rocha
Vitor Rocha
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance enforced by managers(in 486 reviews)

  • "Good work environment with great opportunity for upgrading your professional skills(in 241 reviews)

Cons
  • "Druck im Vertrieb sowie teilweise schlechte work life balance(in 117 reviews)

  • "A little slow in some decision-making due to layers and hierarchy(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work with interesting engineering projects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    I work with a great group of people in Carlsbad, CA.

    Cons

    Pay raises as small and promotions slow. Lateral move opportunities are also not abundant.

    Advice to Management

    We have had some turn-over in managers, and the new executive team is doing a great job.

    Philips2018-06-09

    Philips Response

    June 12, 2018recruiting

    It's great to see an employee who has been with us for 8+ years is still having a positive experience! Thank you!

  2. "the best place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible work schedule fantastic work/life balance encouraging manager involved community

    Cons

    only downside is parking at the stadium & taking a shuttle to building, but even then not bad at all. shuttles come frequently enough.

    Philips2019-04-09

    Philips Response

    April 11, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, great to hear you're a happy employee and that you experience a healthy work-life balance! Thanks so much for sharing this and all the best with your career at Philips. :)

  3. "Can be better, losing the edge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent salary, High visibility, Easy going

    Cons

    Salaries can be better, not as competitive as they can.

    Advice to Management

    There seems to be favorites in the strategy space. Work on creating a flat culture.

    Philips2019-05-19
  4. "Senior Design Quality Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Quality Engineer in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    work life balance opportunities for grow

    Cons

    Pay Lack of opportunity to travel

    Advice to Management

    Pay is sub-market

    Philips2019-05-14

    Philips Response

    May 16, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi and thanks for sharing your thought here. It’s very good to see that you’re experiencing a great work life balance and enough career opportunities. Thanks for the points about traveling and the salary as well, that’s always much appreciated. We hope you’ll have a great time ahead ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work if you like Cambridge, MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, annual bonus

    Cons

    Consolidation in Cambridge, MA is alienating a lot of veteran employees

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to work from home and remote employees

    Philips2019-05-09

    Philips Response

    May 10, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for sharing a few words about your job at Philips. Good suggestion about working from home! Your feedback is duly notes. Thanks again!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Reedsville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Life-changing product that helps people around the world True management team that works together to achieve results Mature improvement culture Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Facility expansion is behind the power curve due to explosive growth in recent months

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path

    Philips2019-05-07

    Philips Response

    May 10, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for reviewing us as a company. We're proud to read you feel at home at Philips. Keep up the good work!

  7. "Worked at philips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    High quality work, good infrastructure.

    Cons

    It is in Albany. Boring town. Nothing to do in the evenings.

    Philips2019-05-09

    Philips Response

    May 9, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, We regret hearing you weren't entirely happy in Albany. Although we definitely understand that our people have a life outside of their work as well, so we can imagine that this played a part in your decision to leave Philips. We wish you all the best in your future job(s)!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome company but overwhelming at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Quality in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very diverse company with wonderful benefits and resources. A true commitment to supporting people in the careers they want.

    Cons

    60-70 hours weeks are the norm for my dept and we have a lot to do. Regular 5AM meetings. Travel only by economy, even 10+hour flights. Death by powerpoint - I think 50% of my job is updating them or getting others to update them. No organization of data Outdated software tools

    Advice to Management

    I love my department but we're woefully understaffed. We ran numbers and we're asked to do the work of 150 people with only 43. Priorities are ever-shifting and everyone wants their powerpoint "just so". I travel ~40-50% for work and that often involves weekend travel and it's always by economy so I arrive exhausted and expected work straight away. Sure.. i get vacation but I can't imagine taking it because there...

    Show More
    Philips2019-05-03

    Philips Response

    May 9, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, Thanks for pointing this out to us. We can imagine that you are exhausted and we can promise you that we take this very seriously. We don't want anyone to over-do it and we think a healthy work-life balance is of huge importance. Have you been in touch with your manager ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of extra work for not much increase in pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Services Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Philips full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    If you like extra money theres lots of OT. 401k & health benefits, company car, cell phone, laptop & tools. Work from your home as your base location.

    Cons

    There's lots of OT & its often not optional. 2.5% average annual raises dont keep pace with inflation of 3%. So annually you are taking a .5% pay cut to stay employed. Poor life balance, constant pit in stomach when out during any small down time just thinking about the next piece of equipment to break.

    Advice to Management

    Pay to retain experienced engineers, you'll pay to steal a guy away from another company, but wont pay to keep a good guy you already have.

    Philips2019-05-11

    Philips Response

    May 16, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there. We’re sorry to see that you feel that you weren’t being properly valued during your time with us, but thanks for letting us know. Please know that management is also active here, so your concerns about pay and over time have been duly noted and taken into consideration. ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transport Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that really cares about its employees. There is a great work- life balance and the training you receive is fantastic. Joining the Philips team was as good as a decision as I’ve ever made.

    Cons

    Salary seems to be a tad lower for entry level jobs. The rate of increase will not be as high yearly as some will want or expect.

    Philips2019-04-21

    Philips Response

    April 25, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    That's just lovely to hear, thanks for sharing! We will make sure to share your feedback with the concerned team, so we can use it to learn and grow as an employer.

Found 1027 reviews