Philips Reviews | Glassdoor

Philips Reviews

Updated October 21, 2017
803 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Brent Shafer
18 Ratings

803 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "The BEST company in Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Philips is consistently on the cutting edge of Patient Monitoring development. Philips is the undisputed leader in the space and by default they get a seat at the table in any opportunity. I have seen may 'start ups' come and go and the idea that you have to be a 'small' company to innovate is simply not true. Philips has a culture that believes in and heavily invests in being the leader. That is why other players copy them.

    Cons

    Like all major companies there are plenty of things that can irritate an employee. With that said, many of the people I work with here have been employees for a decade or longer, even in high turnover jobs. This alone speaks volumes.

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on the quarterly report metrics and more on the long term viability of the business, especially toward the end of the year.

    Philips Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, we’re very glad about hearing from a current employee with this much experience! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences, it’s very valuable to us. We’ll take your feedback into... More


  2. "Supervisor Collections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Supervisor in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Collections Supervisor in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great organization to work for..diverse and educated employees. Management does backup employees. Strong culture and core values.
    .

    Cons

    Need more of growth opportunities to further people's career.

    Advice to Management

    Need to provide recognition of extra efforts put in.

    Philips Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! It’s great to hear that you enjoy working with us.

  3. "A great learning experience in a large international company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Manager in Andover, MA
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Manager in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great career advancement opportunities. Easy to reach campus. Good pay and decent benefits. Great team.

    Cons

    Large workload can be daunting. Sometimes it can be hard to show yourself within a large organization.

    Philips Response

    Oct 12, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, we're happy to hear you had great career opportunities and colleagues. We want to thank you for all the work you've done for us and wish you all the best in your future career.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for in the healthcare industry! Innovation is a standard. I would highly recommend this company to family and friends.

    Cons

    I do wish that the career ladder was better defined for growth opportunities within the company.

    Advice to Management

    There's a strong need to enhance training.

    Philips Response

    Oct 6, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to speak about your experience when you were part of our company as well as for recommending us so strongly! I wish you the best in your career from here on out.


  5. "Good company. But low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Bothell, WA
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits and good environment

    Cons

    Low pay, miss communication with upper management

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your employees

    Philips Response

    Oct 6, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for elaborating a little on your time with us. I wish you all the best going forward!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great jobs and benefits, work culture could use some work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Cambridge Site is particularly great to work, as it's in a faster paced version of corporate Philips.

    Work life balance is good, colleagues leave the office whenever they want. There is no real pressure to stay long through the day.

    401K benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Even in a faster-paced environment, there are a lot of dependencies and communication across sectors is lacking.

    Work culture and work ethic is not unified.

    Advice to Management

    Be proactive in your involvement with direct reports. Philips has a large remote work culture, so it is critical to continue a 2-way communication.

    It is also very helpful to help guide direct reports through their career interests and make sure there is a place for them five to ten years down the road.

    Philips Response

    Sep 27, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi there, good to hear about the Cambridge Site and how you enjoyed the work-life balance. That's one of the things we aim to provide. We really appreciate your feedback and encourage you to discuss... More


  7. "A Good Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Reedsville, PA
    Former Employee - Assembler in Reedsville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, Work, Overtime, Cleanliness

    Cons

    Management, Co-Workers, Evaluations, Safety Standards

    Advice to Management

    There is too much overhead in most areas where i worked. One area does not need three managers who are equal in decision making. There should only be one manager in each area to make the final decision.

    Philips Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello, thank you very much for sharing this. Of course, we’re always looking for ways to improve, so your feedback is very valuable to us!

  8. "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Andover, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Highly skilled and experienced engineers
    Lot of Innovation, company encourages new ideas.
    Collaboration and working on cutting edge technology.
    Brilliant benefit plans, 7% match to 6% in contribution to 401K
    Good Work life balance

    Cons

    Food in cafeteria is a bit expensive, would be nicer if it was subsidized.

    Philips Response

    Oct 4, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hello, and thanks for leaving some comments on your current work situation at Philips. I’m glad to hear you’re satisfied on many levels with your job and excited about the knowledge and technology... More


  9. "SALES ANALYST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Sales Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment. Excellent chances for growth

    Cons

    None. I really enjoyed my time working there

    Philips Response

    Oct 4, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    It's appreciated that you've taken the time to spare a couple of words reflecting on your time with us. Perhaps our paths might even cross again in the future!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Just OK, large bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Region Service Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Region Service Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great co workers, generally positive reputation with customers, products are competetive in performance and price, the overall vision for the company is strong

    Cons

    Executive team too isolated, product marketing is poor, employee morale is not strong, it takes too long to implement change in the organization

    Advice to Management

    Cut out 5-6 levels of management, clean house at the senior level

    Philips Response

    Oct 12, 2017 – Talent Brand Manager

    Hi, we appreciate hearing from a current employee who's been with us for more than 8 years. Thank you for sharing some of your experiences and feedback with us.


Showing 2,770 of 3,114 reviews
Reset Filters