Promega Reviews | Glassdoor

Promega Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Promega CEO Bill Linton
Bill Linton
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Change in upper management resulted in reorganization and elimination of many positions(in 6 reviews)

  • "Management (particularly in R&D) is selected and promoted on the basis of reinforcing their management's (frequently ill considered) biases and desires(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Buyer/Planner in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Promega full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and people to work with. Very forward thinking.

    Cons

    Multiple buildings on campus can make attending meetings in person hard.

    Promega2019-04-02
  2. "Great company and great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Promega full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great campus to work on and walk around on!

    Cons

    Raises tend to be on the 'lite' side when the economy is humming along.

    Advice to Management

    The labor market is tight, raises should reflect the good work people are doing. To retain good employees the merit pool may have to be increased in good times.

    Promega2019-04-30
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Promega full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food every Friday

    Cons

    None really. People Are nice

    Advice to Management

    None

    Promega2019-02-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "They Might Be Giants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Promega full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique culture. Very Wisconsin no matter where in the world you may be working for Promega. Very, very, very, very smart chemists; some outstanding non-science folks, too.

    Cons

    Promega has these magic chemistries that can solve several of the world's most pressing problems; I'm not exaggerating here. It sells some for RUO, some to bigfish biotech, and many forever languish in the dark corners of RDC. Why? Search for... Usona, Bill Linton, Kellner and Bland, lawsuit, lawsuit. Dane County, lawsuit. Until and unless the struggle for control is resolved, no major business decisions will be made....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to get those magic chemistries out to the people. I don't know how; beyond my pay grade.

    Promega2018-11-11
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Services in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Promega for less than a year

    Pros

    Work is very laid back, allows for schedule flexibility, strong safety procedures

    Cons

    lack of constant workload in warehouse

    Promega2018-10-14
  6. "review `"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Promega full-time

    Pros

    good work life balance, good benefits

    Cons

    very little mobility management needs more autonomy from the owner

    Promega2018-09-18
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist Intern in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Promega part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Higher-ups are very approachable, willing to teach, good work/life balance, great culture

    Cons

    Little room for growth as a young employee

    Promega2018-08-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good for Gen X, not for Millenials"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Promega full-time

    Pros

    Promega has a relaxed environment with benefits that go far beyond most companies. Perhaps the best part is that the people who work there are fantastic. It's probably a great company if you're coming in at the mid-management/senior position level and have more room to make an impact.

    Cons

    Promega is still a corporation and you're still a cog. This is especially true for any position requiring less than 10 years of professional experience. You have specific job duties, and there is little to no room for growth when so many employees have up to 35 years of tenure. Ambition is not rewarded. The pay is not great—in my case, 40% below my subsequent employer.

    Promega2018-08-15
  9. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Promega full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment. Nice company perks.

    Cons

    Low pay, too much politics

    Promega2018-07-10
  10. "Fun biotech in Madison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Promega full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Laid back atmosphere. Great cafeteria food.

    Cons

    Low pay. Not much career growth.

    Promega2018-06-26
Found 96 reviews