Prudential 1,473 Reviews | Glassdoor

Prudential Reviews

Updated March 26, 2017
1,473 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Prudential Chairman and CEO John R. Strangfeld
John R. Strangfeld
652 Ratings

1,473 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (5)

    "Director of eMarketing, Digital Strategy & Customer Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of EMarketing, Digital Strategy & Customer Experience in Roseland, NJ
    Current Employee - Director of EMarketing, Digital Strategy & Customer Experience in Roseland, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Prudential has many business opportunities within its US Businesses. Commitment to diversity, innovation, development and work life balance is apparent throughout all of them.

    Cons

    Much like all companies benefits are a huge investment from the employer. Prudential takes benefits seriously and has put together a competitive package for its employees. However, benefits are costly.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Leadership is mostly transparent to all levels of employees. Strategy is clear and communication is solid. Leaders of people are encouraged to continually develop their leadership skills. These are the makings of a good company to work for.

    Prudential Response

    Oct 4, 2016 – Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled you've been having such a great experience working for Prudential!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "They walk the walk"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Product Management in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Director, Product Management in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Company made up of principled, responsible, highly competent people. Strong emphasis on innovation and meaningful collaboration. Great work atmosphere.

    Cons

    Stuck between what they were - large, slow, cautious - and where they're headed. Still some friction as change is introduced, but moving in the right direction.

    Prudential Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughtful feedback. We're glad you're enjoying your time with us, and in particular, the people you work with. Our employees often say that our people are what makes the ... More


  3. "Good ethical company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Great corporate senior leadership that provides clear vision and values

    Cons

    Lots of new comers that do not fully understand or imbibe the core ethical values of Prudential well.

    Prudential Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the positive review! We're proud to have amazing leadership.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great if you're willing and able to put the time in."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    1. You make your own schedule

    2. Relative autonomy to do what you want as long as you're successful

    3. Your bosses get paid based on the milestones you achieve so they have a direct interest in your success and will always help, quite literally as much as they can as long as you let them know and keep up a line of communication.

    4. As long as you listened during the training process, are not a train wreck at talking and relating to people and have a target market that you can actually go see the quotas aren't that difficult to hit.

    5. The more people that pass through training, the more management gets paid too, so there isn't so much a sink or swim period unless you don't listen and try to do things your own way, which I don't recommend.

    Cons

    1. It takes a long time. It's only viable to people that have sufficient savings and a spouse or recent college grads with parents that can support them. The reason is that the training while you get your licenses is unpaid and depending on how motivated you are to complete it all can take anywhere from 3 weeks to 6 months. After, they want to see if you can get 5 sales with a specific amount of revenue to again test out how good you are in front of people and if you actually have a target market or need to find one. For that you get 10 dollars an hour and have 200 hours to complete

    2.100% commission so it takes a while to build a residual income base and I mean years. Now you aren't broke by any means, but sometimes a 6 month pay cycle can be like 12k, 1.8k, 0, 3k, 0, 7k so you need to be good at budgeting your own money

    3. You will bust your butt building your book of business. I mean like 65-70 hour weeks where you only eat sleep and work so your social life will take a hit, but eventually it does even out later in your career when you do have the residual income and are a smart worker

    Advice to Management

    Think about changing the pay structure. 100% commission in just a little too risky, I have a feeling a lot of employees would prefer mix of salary plus either commissions or some form of profit sharing

    Prudential Response

    Mar 14, 2017 – Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your insights and recommendations about the Financial Professional Associate role. It can be challenging getting started and building your market, however the role can also be ... More


  6. "Vice President"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent Firm. Innovative, supportive, Ethical.

    Cons

    The firm can be a bit siloed.

    Prudential Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the positive review - we're glad you're enjoying your time here!


  7. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Solid company, good benefits, centrally located

    Cons

    poor departmental leadership, rather look outside the company than within for promotions


  8. "Senior Investment Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Nice balance between women and men

    Cons

    Toxic culture inhibited professional development

    Advice to Management

    Inspire rather than disrespect employees so that they will want to work hard for you

    Prudential Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and we wish you had a better experience working for us. We'd be interested in hearing more about what went wrong, so we can address these ... More


  9. "Financial professional"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Professional in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Financial Professional in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Open Hours, decent bonuses when you are first starting out.

    Cons

    100% commission based , feest or famine job. we were not given any leads

    Advice to Management

    When you have 53,000 clients that have outdated contracts and we don't have any leads, it might help to give those to us.

    Prudential Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your comments. The Financial Professional Associate role is a challenging one. We hope you felt comfortable voicing your concerns to your Manager while you were here and we wish ... More


  10. "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Director in Newark, NJ
    Former Employee - Consulting Director in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, compensation & good people to work with. Potential to learn and explore new technologies and work with different teams/vendors.

    Cons

    higher management vision and strategy, not so great competition within teams and at times work culture.

    Prudential Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience here. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us, and had the opportunity to grow and learn, and work alongside some great people. We most often hear that the reason ... More


  11. "Good company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    It is good company which Respect employee

    Cons

    It is far from my house and needs ong commute



Showing 1,473 of 1,605 reviews
Reset Filters