Prudential Reviews | Glassdoor

Prudential Reviews

Updated May 21, 2018
1,831 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

1,831 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work Life Balance is definitely not one of the thing if you are a high achiever (in 60 reviews)

  • Long hours but good options to work from home (in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and culture are big pros. Employees are valued. High ethical standards. Lots of benefits and perks.

    Cons

    Pay in NJ is obviously not as high as in NYC but the culture and work like balance are worth it.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t really have any real advice. Keep doing what you’re doing.

    Prudential Response

    Mar 29, 2018

    Thank you for the great review! We’re so glad you are happy with your employment at Prudential.


  2. "Senior Financial Reporting Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company culture there is very good, the work life balance is perfect, which can be very useful when it is a down period.

    Cons

    Year end reporting can be very stressful

    Prudential Response

    May 22, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value the opinions of our employees and encourage you to have open discussions with your manager.

  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    pay is good after you get established

    Cons

    paying after 2 years is bad


  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Has a strong brand and competitive products in addition to offering competitive benefits and compensation. The company is well positioned for the future with diversified areas of expertise.

    Cons

    Non-innovative and slightly bureaucratic with a senior management team that has created tension among divisions internally, which sometimes results in executing the best possible for our customers.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of some of the McKinsey & Co. Consultants and replace them with doers instead of thinkers.

    Prudential Response

    May 22, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value the opinions of our employees and encourage you to have open discussions with your manager.


  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Work flexibility, benefits, salary, PTO

    Cons

    career progression, there seems to be a good ole boy network.

    Prudential Response

    May 15, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value the opinions of our employees and encourage you to have open discussions with your manager.


  6. "Balanced and Conservative Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They care about their employees, continually offering self improvement opportunities

    Cons

    Challenging environment - need to be at the top of your game.

    Prudential Response

    May 15, 2018

    Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. We’re glad your overall experience has been so positive and appreciate your candor about the opportunity and challenges that the role presents. We invite you to... More


  7. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Great company, wonderful resources, renewed strategic direction

    Cons

    Stable workforce can mean limited career advancement opportunities

    Prudential Response

    May 15, 2018

    Thank you for the review. We invite you to submit additional feedback and suggestions for improvement at staffing@prudential.com.

  8. "Small teams but strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Small teams means younger employees get more attention/development

    Cons

    Technology is a bit dated but gets the job done

    Prudential Response

    May 15, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value the opinions of our employees and encourage you to have open discussions with your manager.


  9. "Just reached my 10 year anniversary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Shelton, CT
    Current Employee - Manager in Shelton, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance
    - Good benefits (medical/dental, salary, bonus, 401k, etc.)
    - Solid company

    Cons

    - very top heavy with VPs and even Directors
    - career development can be challenging
    - main locations limited to NJ, CT and PA

    Prudential Response

    May 15, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad your overall work experience has been positive and we wanted to address your concerns. While it is a competitive environment, there... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Adviser in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Financial Adviser in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Branding & name recognition
    Product selection

    Cons

    Lack of guidance
    Compensation
    Lack of communication

    Advice to Management

    It's commission based with a meager base so if you don't sell, you don't earn. That's an awfully hard setup for someone just entering the business. A bad month will cause someone to quit. Consider revamping your compensation for first year advisers.

    Prudential Response

    May 7, 2018

    Thank you for your comments. As you know, a career in financial services can be very challenging yet also rewarding. While it sounds as if the Financial Professional Associate opportunity may not... More


Showing 1,831 of 2,026 reviews
Reset Filters