Prudential Reviews | Glassdoor

Prudential Reviews

Updated August 15, 2018
1,891 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

1,891 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work Life Balance is definitely not one of the thing if you are a high achiever" (in 60 reviews)

  • "Long hours but good options to work from home" (in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Technology in Newark, NJ
    Current Employee - Vice President Technology in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Smart, ethical leaders
    Great business strategy that resonates with employees and customers
    True Talent mindset with a focus on diversity and inclusion
    Significant opportunities for development (both lateral and vertical)
    Very competitive comp package (Salaries on low end, but bonus and other perks are great such as 15% discount Stock Purchase plan)

    Cons

    A little slow moving sometimes - usual red tape with big companies, especially with technology

    Advice to Management

    Great job setting the direction. Don't be afraid to let new people flourish quickly. Embrace technology quickly to engage younger associates and customers.

    Prudential Response

    Aug 12, 2018

    Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. We’re glad your overall experience has been so positive and appreciate your candor about the opportunity and challenges that the role presents. We invite you to... More


  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Benefits are pretty good and everyone is friendly. Company is moving the right moves to keep up with competitors such as parental leave.

    Cons

    Suit and Tie environment is very dated. Really wish they would increase their 401k match to be more competitive with the market. Given we're a leader in retirement plan servicing, would expect that to be the forefront of the benefits package.

    Prudential Response

    Aug 15, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We value the opinions of our employees and encourage you to have open discussions with your manager.

  3. "Prudential Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    The company is well managed at the top and very focused on developing talent and talent mobility. As a global financial services leader you will have opportunities to move among business lines to gain valuable experience if you request it. The company is also financially stable and will be around for a very long time because of how they approach their capital management and investments.

    Cons

    There's a culture that's called "Pru polite" meaning that, in general, people are averse to taking risks and 'shaking things up'. Also, the physical environment in many locations in the US still resemble an old, sterile insurance company. The company talks about digital transformation but does not yet have the internal capabilities, nor the fortitude, to truly become digitally agile in business areas that are badly in need of them.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in becoming more digitally agile so you're not late to the market with products and services that smaller, more nimble insurance companies are capitalizing on right now.

    Prudential Response

    Aug 15, 2018

    Thank you for the review. We invite you to submit additional feedback and suggestions for improvement at staffing@prudential.com.


  4. "Great company to learn from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Management Manager
    Former Employee - Account Management Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - Great place to start right out of school and work your way up
    - Great work/life balance
    - Great flexibility
    - Pru pride runs deep
    - Learn a lot and always resources available

    Cons

    If you can manage the politics then you'll be just fine. For me the politics, just with any large corporate environment, was overwhelming. Some leaders have gotten away from being true leaders and focus more on checking the box with talent development and recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Leaders- Just listen to your team. They do they work, they know where improvements need to happen. Stay open to change. Companies that don't change will sink

    Prudential Response

    Aug 15, 2018

    Thank you for the review. We invite you to submit additional feedback and suggestions for improvement at staffing@prudential.com.


  5. "Prudential audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and good hours

    Cons

    located in Newark, which is still on its way up

    Prudential Response

    Aug 12, 2018

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We’re glad you recognize our efforts to support talent through challenging work and a focus on professional development.


  6. "Managing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and very fair pay if you come externally. Lot's of support from the home office and really upholds a great brand. Lots of career opportunities to be promoted or go across channels.

    Cons

    Very corporate and HR sensitive, which can be good as well in it's own way. The level of compliance is much more stringent.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the local leadership teams much more to make decisions. HR and legal is too dominant in the decision making culture and not on par with most organizations that are like kind.

    Prudential Response

    Aug 12, 2018

    Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you had some positive things to say about your experience with Prudential. We hope that you find Prudential to be a safe and open environment to voice... More


  7. "Working At Prudential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dubuque, IA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, Opportunity to grow in the company

    Cons

    Frequent over-time (up to two hours per day)

    Prudential Response

    Aug 12, 2018

    Thank you for the positive review! We value our employees and recognize the contributions each person has on the success of the company.

  8. "It’s a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Horsham, PA
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Horsham, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, people are great and location

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind now

    Prudential Response

    Aug 12, 2018

    Thank you for the review. We invite you to submit additional feedback and suggestions for improvement at staffing@prudential.com.


  9. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Prudential is a great place to work. You got work/life balance and lots of opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    The interview process is a bit old school and they should not ask those behavioral questions. Interview process should be a little easier.

    Prudential Response

    Aug 12, 2018

    Thank you for the positive review! We value our employees and recognize the contributions each person has on the success of the company.


  10. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prudential full-time

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with, supports working from home, great benefits.

    Cons

    A lot of job eliminations

    Advice to Management

    None at this time

    Prudential Response

    Aug 12, 2018

    Thank you for the review. We invite you to submit additional feedback and suggestions for improvement at staffing@prudential.com.


Showing 1,891 of 2,096 reviews
Reset Filters