Prudential Reviews | Glassdoor

Prudential Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2313 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Charles Lowrey
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor work/life balance most of the time(in 63 reviews)

  • "Remote location from the main office in Newark(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    HR driven. Opportunities to grow. Excellent resources.

    Cons

    Prudential Advisors operates as small silos. The structure can limit growth.

    Advice to Management

    Put a system in place to award funding good talent that might not be a fit in the current location but would be a great asset for the company somewhere else (another business unit).

    Prudential2019-07-13
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forensic Analyst 

    I have been working at Prudential full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very quality management. Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    No cons so far. Hopefully, I will not see any in the future either

    Prudential2019-07-10
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Marketing Assistant 

      I worked at Prudential full-time

      Pros

      Great internship out of college. Tons of learning and leadership opportunities.

      Cons

      None at this time.

      Prudential2019-07-03

      Prudential Response

      July 8, 2019Event Coordinator

      Thank you for the great review! We’re so glad you were happy with your employment at Prudential.

    • "Good WL Balance, ~5 years behind on technology"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - work life balance prioritized for senior members of investment teams - great culture

      Cons

      - behind on technology / productivity initiatives

      Prudential2019-06-30

      Prudential Response

      July 8, 2019Event Coordinator

      We’re glad to hear how much you appreciate the culture you have helped to create!

    • "Good culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Prudential full-time

      Pros

      Culture, benefits, collaborative, maternity/paternity program

      Cons

      Risk averse, if you have weak leadership it can be a struggle

      Prudential2019-06-27

      Prudential Response

      July 8, 2019Event Coordinator

      We’re glad to hear how much you appreciate the culture you have helped to create!

    • Helpful (2)

      "Change is good...but not like this!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Individual Contributor in Newark, NJ
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      As large corporations are concerned, Prudential ticks all the boxes related prestige and good reputation. Their work facilities are pleasant and comfortable and they offer decent pay and health benefits.

      Cons

      As large corporations are concerned, Prudential is typical (not in a good way), when it comes to career advancement, real inclusion and diversity across all organizational levels and hiring from within. Culturally, Prudential espouses "employee development" and "career advancement", but in reality does not demonstrate support of their employees when they try to accomplish this. Like most large companies, advancement...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Begin to demonstrate real appreciation of your current talent pool in addition to external candidates. Take a holistic look at "inclusion and diversity" from the top down and make the unpopular decision for real change.

      Prudential2019-07-04

      Prudential Response

      July 8, 2019Event Coordinator

      We value the feedback we receive here on Glassdoor. This information is valuable as we assess our processes and programs.

    • "Good Company to Work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Analyst 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Prudential full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Prudential is a stable company, with many people working within the company for 20 years or more. A great thing about the culture is the ability to move across not only departments but functional areas. I've seen more of the cross-functional moves recently which tells me the company is becoming more progressive. The company also provides generous vacation days and depending on the area you work in, a flexible work/life...

      Show More

      Cons

      Overall a hierarchical company. Decisions are made at a level higher up than you. Level of autonomy depends on your manager. The company also does not move very fast.

      Prudential2019-06-20

      Prudential Response

      June 24, 2019Event Coordinator

      Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. We’re glad your overall experience has been so positive and appreciate your candor about the opportunity and challenges that the role presents.

    • "Great place to start career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Senior Investment Analyst in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Prudential full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Prudential utilizes on the job training which can be difficult at first but in the long run you learn a lot, very quickly.

        Cons

        You have to learn a lot very quickly.

        Advice to Management

        Keep supporting your analysts

        Prudential2019-06-17

        Prudential Response

        June 18, 2019

        Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We’re glad your time at Prudential was a positive experience, and we wish you success in your career.

      • "eperience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Representative in New York, NY

          I worked at Prudential full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          good training, good coworkers, food for overtime

          Cons

          overtime too often, little communication with management

          Advice to Management

          less overtime

          Prudential2019-06-14

          Prudential Response

          June 18, 2019

          Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We’re glad your time at Prudential was a positive experience, and we wish you success in your career.

        • "Financial Advisor with Prudential"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Chicago, IL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Prudential full-time

          Pros

          Large company presence. Good Life insurance products.

          Cons

          no direction in management. Investment platform lacking compared to peers in industry.

          Advice to Management

          focus on existing advisors rather than hiring larger numbers of inexperienced advisors.

          Prudential2019-06-24
        Found 2313 reviews