Quantcast Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Quantcast CEO and Founder Konrad Feldman
Konrad Feldman
250 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people and ambitious KPI,(in 35 reviews)

  • "The usual tech company pros - Free Food, Health Insurance etc(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "lack of 401k matching, the company offers stock options but that's not liquid nor guaranteed money (though we all hope it is worth something, someday)(in 17 reviews)

  • "This is not something I blame on the middle management directing our business but instead goes right to the top of management(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Quantcast is a truly innovative company

      May 7, 2021 - VP-HR in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative culture Innovative-adapts to challenges in the marketplace Technically innovative

      Cons

      Talent in engineering is stable and long term but lots of turnover elsewhere in the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Solid company, good culture, strategy pivoting

      May 6, 2021 - Senior Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good culture - open and transparent leadership has good values

      Cons

      the company is switching from managed service to self-service. a little bit late in the game though (self-serve ad platform) comp is not very competitive lean team and limisted resources

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great WLB, people. culture, and company

      Feb 10, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Amazing WLB with great food (pre-pandemic) and really good perks (dental, vision, etc) 2) Absolutely amazing culture, the happy hours were some of the best in the Bay and the people are really worth staying for 3) Really smart people that help you learn and take responsibility 4) A lot of space to grow and take ownership, a perfect place to start and grow fast

      Cons

      1) Competitive market so it's harder to differentiate and keep revenue 2) IPO idea's been hanging for a while and isn't gaining enough momentum

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A Toxic Cesspool of Lies, Fear, and Irreversible Damage - Stay Away!

      Apr 12, 2021 - AdOps Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You could basically live at the office as work-life didn't exist.

      Cons

      I was hesitant to write a review on this company, as the fear it made me feel every day truly followed me for years. I reported to a mentally unstable woman with a brain injury, which wouldn't have been a problem had she not lied to our overall managers and HR about the most insane things to keep the focus off the fact she was useless while making the rest of us work 15-hour days. She blew through employees like they were dandelion seeds. However, shortly after I left, I heard that her house of cards came tumbling down (not to mention she was married to three different guys across two years, claiming she was abused and would talk about her personal life as if any of us cared about her pathological lying). Completely unprofessional and uncomfortable. The Sales team was a revolving door of panicked, verbally-abused, blinded-by-lies folks who wanted to advance their careers but ended up blemishing their resumés with a blip because nothing they did could keep them off a PIP and ultimate boot. There was a definite "in-crowd" of old-timers that kept their heads down and their mouths shut, and after a few months it became clear why . . . pay was just decent enough to stay through the abuse and advancement became inevitable given the steady rate of attrition. The office environment felt like a mortuary. You could hear a pin drop, the somberness of everyone was palpable, and you were expected to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner at your desk or you were given dirty looks by either people who were just as miserable as you, or were trying to have ammunition in their back pocket to keep the light off of themselves. Typical work hours were 8 am-6 pm and even then, the first person to leave either snuck out pretending to go use the restroom so as to not be seen as "that person", or used a doctor's appointment as an excuse to leave at a normal time. I would be remiss to say I don't still have nightmares every once in a while about this company. I wake up in a cold sweat, out of breath, and thankful that it was a nightmare and that I never have to step foot in there again.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Smart People, Cool Technology, Dedicated Leadership

      Feb 20, 2021 - G&A in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Global company - Extremely smart, talented and motivated colleagues - Learning environment - Inspirational leaders

      Cons

      - Internal data infrastructure needs a lot of work to power meaningful BI - We do not articulate our core strengths well - Relative to our size and industry leadership, we do not have great brand recognition due to lack of a marketing presence

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Benefits, Tough Work

      Feb 10, 2021 - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, good benefits, team environment, good products, great technology team that is building for the future.

      Cons

      Company is trying to run two different businesses at once, sometimes losing sight of how to best position to customers and keep them happy. In the commoditized DSP space, QC as a company hasn’t yet done a good job communicating to the market what will future proof the business

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Overall a great company.

      Mar 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good perks, very smart people.

      Cons

      Mostly none upper management could be more transparent.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A great springboard to someplace else

      Jan 29, 2021 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a lower-level employee, it's a great place to learn the industry and develop your skills to then finally, leverage your title to move vertically to another company. There are some amazing people at the lower levels of the company and one or two gems as you move up the company ladder, but sadly it gets worse as you move up the chain. Pre-COVID, the office had great catered lunches and all the snacks I could want, however that will most likely never return as budgets have contracted significantly. My Advice if you don't want to read the rest: Get in, get paid, get out somewhere better. The stock options are worthless

      Cons

      The majority of problems at Quantcast come down to too little, too late. The company has been stagnant for years and will be left behind by better players in the space in a year or two. Product: Quantcast has consistently been 2-4 years behind key competitors (MediaMath, TTD, etc) in most regards. Leadership consistently makes poor decisions on what trends to hop on, typically opting to pass on things, and instead focus on our outdated managed service offering. A quick list of trends they have almost completely missed the boat on: Self-Serve, CTV/OTT, dCPM pricing, TRANSPARENCY, and Incrementality. They have recently released a self-serve platform that initially showed promise as it poised to be a cheaper alternative to incumbent platforms like TTD, but it's been mired in delays and positioning issues. At this point, it's not a cheaper solution to democratize programmatic advertising, but just another platform with similar pricing to TTD but lacking in many key features. Management moves the goalposts on what an 'Ideal Client" looks like for self-serve, that the reps selling it never have time to build their prospecting books and start getting traction in the market. On the managed service side, the product works really well, but instead of delivering truly incredible performance, we charge triple industry standard margin and deliver average performance. Pricing on a flat CPM is awful in this case, as the company is incentivized to purchase gutter-tier inventory after getting a conversion to backfill guaranteed impressions and make the company more money. Every client should be asking for site delivery reports with EXACT impression counts, and audit them your self. Management: The overall quality of management at QC is poor at best. Many sales managers don't know how to motivate their team beyond telling them to "send more emails" and micro-managing their activities in general. In the worst cases, some managers are wholly incompetent, having never taken the time to learn the product or industry, and at in other times, extremely shady. Certain managers will skew incrementality tests via incorrect methodology to ensure good results. Additionally, another issue is forecasting, and this issue goes all the way to the top. Each quarter we are asked to forecast our pipeline 3-6 months out. When the individual numbers don't add up to the company goal, they will force reps to lie on the forecast by putting estimated revenue against sales that has no chance of closing, then act surprised when the quota generated out of it isn't achieved.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Solid culture but a lot of smoke and mirrors

      Feb 26, 2021 - Account Executive in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and people work here. Enjoyed nearly everyone I worked with.

      Cons

      We were encouraged to sell smoke and mirrors. We were selling prospecting campaigns when in reality, we were selling brand campaigns with some retargeting impressions snuck in that drove 99% of the conversions so clients were led to believe we drove a ton of results when that simply wasn’t true. We all knew it and we’re walking egg shells every time we hopped on performance calls.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Okay company

      Feb 17, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good career opportunities, free food and snacks.

      Cons

      industrial is not in a growing stage.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 377 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Quantcast Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineer, New Graduate
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Quantcast? Share Your Experiences

    Quantcast logo
    or