Raven Software Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Raven Software Co-Founders Brian Raffel & Steve Raffel (no image)
Brian Raffel & Steve Raffel
14 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Workplace, Better Pay

    Jan 10, 2021 - QA Functional Tester in Middleton, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Work in Video Games - Meet Industry Stars - Develop AAA Titles - Heavy Team Based Environment - Free food and Beer Fridays

    Cons

    - Pay - Crunch is rough - Moving up takes time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Raven is where I find my place of gratitude

    Sep 27, 2020 - Anonymous in Middleton, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + AAA title development + Culture + Amazing Benefits + Competitive Salary + Family picnics and parties + Room to grow and the support to do so

    Cons

    For me, this is a labor of love and true passion. Even with that being said, when it comes time to crunch, I lose sight of what a healthy work life balance means. Fortunately, time to crunch doesn't forever.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    The best Mid West company to work for! Where creativity thrives.

    May 4, 2020 - Senior Art Director in Middleton, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They care about your well being, physically and mentally, they've raised their cultural game. They're inclusive, and always interested in opinions and new ideas. They've worked on and developed some of the most iconic games in history. They're driven and when asked to help other studios from Activision, they were such an incredible support, they've been asked to work on and owned, pieces of every single Call of Duty product for the last dozen years. HR is very supportive and the company is filled with folks who are incredibly good at what they do. They have an amazing mentorship program for anyone who wants to be a part of it or learn something new. Madison Wisconsin is beautiful, there are places here in Wisconsin that will take your breath away. The food has become incredibly diverse in the last 5 years.. You never know what new game is on the horizon. Each day is something new. Oh, and I'll bet you look a long while before you find a gaming studio that has people that have been there over 20 years. Raven has loads, more than any other Activision studio. Some have been here over 30 with new employees coming in all the time. Most come here and stay.

    Cons

    Being an incredible support studio is wonderful, you get to work on something new all the time and it's very lucrative! Occasionally, when a new IP presents, you've got a lot of super talented people that would love to drive and own the challenge. That's not an insurmountable hurdle and not a bad problem to have. Most of the folks at Raven have the years and talent to back them up so they could Run a new IP. But it does occasionally cause tension, which more often than not, is soon lost to the drive for "Gold" in the end.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Aug 27, 2020 - Designer in Middleton, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and great location

    Cons

    Not many, you get what you put in.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A place to have a full career

    Jul 26, 2019 - Studio Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teams feel like a family, still can have a small studio feel even on big projects. Everyone talks to everyone, no harsh divisions between departments or management and teams. Tons of talented, creative people passionate about their work. Emphasis on work/life balance. Extremely low turnover. Some people have been here over 20 years. Someplace you can have a full career. Some excellent people in upper management.

    Cons

    Because of low turnover, this is not someplace you try to climb your way to the top at. Communication and transparency sometimes isn’t the best. Activision needs to trust Raven to lead more projects. Some very negative people can bring a team down.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great development studio with a great culture.

    Jul 8, 2019 - Animation Director in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working on the number 1 game Call of Duty. Even if you are not an active Call of Duty gamer, the opportunities are great and allows you to bring your creativity to the development. Work/life balance second to none. Madison offers fantastic cost of living and no long commutes to work. 15 minutes...seriously 15 minutes door to door. Surrounded by lakes and beautiful countryside with great outdoor activities

    Cons

    It's Wisconsin, so be prepared for winter...it's coming. Spring, summer and Autumn are beautiful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great people, mediocre business

    Nov 11, 2019 - Senior Environment Artist in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the people I work with. Pretty stable place to work.

    Cons

    Management is constantly trying to "prove themselves" to everyone and the workers suffer in low compensation and work that no one else wants to do. Crunch can be very bad depending on your manager and/or department.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    It has jumped my career leaps and bounds faster than I could have done anywhere else.

    Jun 23, 2011 -  in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In Madison, I can own a house and have a commute less than 10 minutes. But that's not the main reason. The main reason is because my manager lets me do my job. He gives me plenty of opportunities to shine and to fail. He supports me thru both and helps me learn from the failures so they don't happen again. I have learned so much here. My resume is 100 times stronger because I have been here for 4+ years.

    Cons

    It's sometimes hard to work under a publisher. Activision gives us a lot of freedom, but they still hold the purse strings. It's that way almost everywhere though. My boss fights the hard battles and tries to keep things smooth for me so I can focus.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Pros

    - Healthy pay and good all-around benefits from Activision - Middleton/Madison area is a great location to live in, family-freindly - Can be a fun place to work with cool and talented colleagues, which helps make the long hours crunching at the office more palatable

    Cons

    - Not the most fulfilling place for creative people who thrive on change and challenge - Management too focused on preserving the status-quo instead of rewarding performance or innovation - The work itself is not terribly exciting or motivating, because the games you work on are not terribly exciting or groundbreaking, and the general direction has a habit of following whatever currently 'hot' feature or gimmick in the latest game is. - This is a company that's lost the confidence it once had as one of the premiere developers, no longer willing to take risks on new ideas, technology, or gameplay necessary to create the kind of first-rate titles that set the bar for everyone else. A part of this may not be entirely self-inflicted, but could be the result of excessive money-pinching and short-term focus imposed by their Activision overlords.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Games, Great People, Great Culture

    Jul 7, 2015 -  in Middleton, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Longevity (25 years and counting) - AAA titles (Call of Duty franchise) - Work life balance (no 6 month or year long crunches) - Winning culture - Management listens to concerns and acts on them - No a-holes rule - So much talent in every department - Competitive pay + yearly bonuses - Swag...so much swag

    Cons

    - Remnants of "good 'ol boys" club (some people have run out of value and are still here) - Communication of deliverables - Outward facing studio recognition

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Popular Careers with Raven Software Job Seekers

Junior Environment Artist
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Raven Software? Share Your Experiences

Raven Software logo
or