Snap Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Snap CEO Evan Spiegel
Evan Spiegel
216 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food and snacks whenever you need it(in 43 reviews)

  • "Good work environment with good support system(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes the work-life balance suffers a bit(in 19 reviews)

  • "The company will not be successful long-term with Evan Spiegel at the helm(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Best place to work - great values, great team, thoughtful leadership, innovative, fun, fulfilling.

      Jun 16, 2020 - Public Relations in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is amazing -they focus on being kind, smart and creative and really mean it. Innovation is in abundance. They want to make a positive impact on the world and it's super authentic. Rare to find... And the business is doing really well so it's the real deal. Great work/life balance.

      Cons

      Honestly, none. It's the best place I've ever worked. Never been happier.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Join Snapchat

      Apr 12, 2021 - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, benefits, total comp and IC culture

      Cons

      Lots of randomization, management needs good trainings

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company but certain teams are total garbage

      Mar 9, 2021 - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive pay & benefits - Great work-life balance

      Cons

      my experience with a team is terrible but the impression I have for the company is very decent. the team I worked at is formed based on an acquisition and I'm the only non-original employee. my teammates' mindset conflict with the rest of the company and it's been miserable for me since week1. basically, Snap cares about you as a human being and this is reflected from many things: e.g. unlimited PTO policy, healthy lunch options, snack bar & kitchen. However the particular team I worked at denies that culture and requested me to work during sickness and bereavement leave. reason being, according to the manager of mine (former CEO of the acquired company) "I lost one of my parent when I was focused on this startup company and I chose my career over that" I was reminded repeatedly about how difficult it is for them to let-go a person in UK due to employment law, hinting me if I don't work during these time I would be let-go since it's much easier to be done in US. I don't believe what I've experience can speak for the company. On the contrary, people I've interacted with outside this team left me great impression. one con about the company: upper management (C-level)'s decision making on where to spend money has consistently been questionable.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Growing and it shows

      Apr 8, 2021 - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Culture and assistance during the entire Pandemic. Caring employees and Management. Fun and exciting work. Encouraged and trusted autonomy

      Cons

      Growing rapidly again, while "old school" employees have been through some really painful times the enthusiasm for growth and change is low given past experiences. Poor recruiting funnels Confusing work streams and priorities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing workplace with incredible impact

      Mar 21, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I never thought I would work somewhere that prioritizes people over profit, but Snap is just that place. I’m over the moon to see how genuine and kind everyone is (plus the benefits are much better than some sites claim them to be). The impact is also huge with hundreds of millions of users.

      Cons

      Nothing so far to be honest

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome

      Apr 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Active community of socially aware innovators and deeply committed team members.

      Cons

      Not sure it’s a con but it is very fast paced.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      no

      Apr 7, 2021 - Engineering Tech III in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very competitive working environment. staff are enthusiastic

      Cons

      working long hour and stress

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Ambitious fast paced environment that is under resourced

      Apr 15, 2021 - Senior Technical Recruiter in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ownership Plenty of Areas for impact Direct Access to Hiring Managers/Stakeholders

      Cons

      Bureaucracy (Recruiting reports in to HR) Disorganized (Org is scaling faster then it’s staffed for) WLB (will get over worked if you don’t set clear boundaries, still operates like a start up)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great for many

      Mar 18, 2021 - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, great benefits, great flexibility, executives are trying to improve company culture and set new standards in the industry for DEI

      Cons

      Not everything set at the top trickles down well to the bottom. Working at break neck speed leaves no room for making more inclusive processes, impacting the performance of those who do not work in _exactly_ the same manner as the majority.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work life balance and scattered focus from leadership

      Apr 17, 2021 - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good perks, travel and internal operations work like a well oiled machine

      Cons

      Work life balance is not good. There is constantly pressure for new products.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 325 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Snap Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Snap? Share Your Experiences

    Snap logo
    or