Snap Reviews | Glassdoor

Snap Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 194 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Snap CEO Evan Spiegel
Evan Spiegel
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food with option to dine out at restaurants(in 37 reviews)

  • "Headlines aside, there are only a few apps in the world that touch as many people per day as Snapchat(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance; a ton of OT(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company will not be successful long-term with Evan Spiegel at the helm(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (27)

    "A home for people that like to get stuff done."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Ability to make an impact big or small Tons of development opportunities Benefits are amazing Lots of interesting events every day Investment in current employees skill set FOOD!

    Cons

    The Pace can be hectic for some people Being tactical is sometimes required regardless of your level

    Advice to Management

    When making changes to the way our business operates, make sure to do a good job of explaining the why. As long as employees feel like they know why a decision was made, it will help the company feel more transparent.

    Snap2018-10-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    In the past few months, I'm seeing very positive changes in the company's engineering culture. We are becoming more transparent, building a data-driven decision-making culture and are also starting to value more on code quality. Similar to what some Wall St. analysts are saying, I think we are learning to become a more mature company.

    Cons

    I really don't see any.

    Snap2019-04-21
  3. "good overall, not much else to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Intern 

      I have been working at Snap full-time

      Pros

      really cool cv related things, amazing research

      Cons

      hard to find fast work sometimes, but reasonable scales

      Snap2019-05-23
    • "Decent Experience With Standard Concerns"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Snap full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good work environment with good support system.

        Cons

        Confusing company structure and objectives.

        Snap2019-05-20
      • Helpful (3)

        "There are great days and there are horrible days"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Great benefits (Health/Dental/Vision, Meal Cards) Good product

        Cons

        Weak culture in offices other than the HQ Horrible upper management No clear path for growth Unfair promotion cycles Teams are lead by employees who are considered "OGs" who lack qualifications

        Advice to Management

        Promote people who work hard and actually deserve promotions. Don't just promote people because of their tenure. Its important to value employees or they will leave.

        Snap2019-04-04
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Snap full-time

          Pros

          I enjoyed my time there.

          Cons

          Tough management to deal with there.

          Snap2019-04-09
        • Helpful (2)

          "Great place to work in LA"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Manager in Santa Monica, CA
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          -- I moved to LA from SF to take a job at Snap and honestly dreaded the location. But I learned that LA gets a bad rap in the smaller, colder, pricier SF. Between better weather, broader cultural and social opportunities (not everyone works in tech), and generally more affordable cost of living, I love it and don't imagine I'll move back up. Sure, LA traffic is bad, but that matters much, much less if you live in Santa...

          Show More

          Cons

          -- Morale righly suffered due to layoffs and decline in metrics and share price last year. I think most employees would say that feels behind us. -- History of hiring execs w/ irrelevant background or lacking experience. That said, I think the entire management team has shifted in the past year, w/ more experienced execs now calling shots.

          Advice to Management

          -- Cool to manage for long-term innovation, but keep a close eye on the short-term as well.

          Snap2019-03-26
        • Helpful (1)

          "Company still has a lot of growing up to do"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Snap full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Some good engineering directors and VPs

          Cons

          Company commits to bad ideas and pushes them out regardless of metrics Some really bad managers

          Snap2019-04-11
        • Helpful (6)

          "Style over substance"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Snap full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          -- fun people -- great comp -- huge huge huge scope -- new leadership is breathing life into the company

          Cons

          -- The company is run by people who a) have never done their job at a different company before b) have child-like egos. Most mean well, but it is not enough. -- Most have been promoted beyond their experience level because a combination of friendships with Evan and The Others and there being no one else. -- Leadership doesn't know what good work looks like, so their is a culture of manipulating optics and hiding problems....

          Show More
          Snap2019-04-26
        • Helpful (1)

          "Just OKay"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

            I have been working at Snap full-time

            Pros

            Decent base pay and initial stock

            Cons

            N/A, too much office politics

            Snap2019-04-29
          Found 194 reviews