KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Solution Design Group

Engaged Employer

Solution Design Group

Add a Review

Solution Design Group Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 of over 93 reviews

4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

468

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great culture and great resources to work with and learn from(in 17 reviews)
  • "The people are awesome.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Good work/life balance(in 5 reviews)
  • "caliber developers and everyone is always happy help one another.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Good pay and benefits, including sdg being an ESOP (stock and stock valuation increase annually)(in 4 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent Employee Owned company

    Aug 26, 2022 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, smart people, continue to invest in consultants, consultants are cared about and supported, being employee owned people take initiatives to make it better and get involved.

    Cons

    There are always down sides to any company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company, great people, but needs to keep compensation in line with market rate for top tech talent.

    Jun 20, 2022 - Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall a really great company with a talented pool of software professionals. I have worked at several companies in the Twin Cities metro that have large software engineering groups and SDG has some of the strongest tech talent I have ever worked with. Most people who work here are smart, friendly, and hardworking. Fair PTO structure and good health insurance.

    Cons

    Overall compensation could definitely be improved. The 401k match is very bad. There is an employee stock plan that you get enrolled in after TWO YEARS of working here, but it doesn't even fully vest for SIX YEARS. The talent pool is strong here and we have had consultants leave for big tech companies. Top tech talent is in high demand and this company is flush with it, so hopefully management keeps up with market rate.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lives up to its reputation!

    Aug 8, 2022 - Consultant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance! perks- esops, cabin, 401k, nice healthcare benefits, advanced education options Opportunities to connect in a meaningful way.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solution Design Group Response

    Thanks for taking the time to give us a review!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The VERY Best Consulting Firm to work for in the Twin Cities!

    Dec 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been in the consulting field in the Twin Cities for over 20 years, and have worked for a number of firms. SDG is, HANDS DOWN, the best consulting firm I've ever worked for. Their commitment to an amazing employee experience is unlike any other firm. At SDG, you are far more than "just a contractor" but an integral part of the company. It's great to work for a company in which I am also considered a part-owner as well! The culture here is great, I think the sense of ownership we all have in SDG brings us all together in ways other consulting firms can't match. Overall, my experience with SDG has been incredible. I think staffing firms and "body shops" give consulting work a bad name, but with SDG, I take pride in working for a great company, and also with great clients! We work on really cool projects that allow me to grow my skills. I also don't have to worry about working more than 40 hours a week on most projects - which gives me a great work-life balance as well!

    Cons

    As a consultant, sometimes you don't end up with a "great project" though SDG's clients all seem pretty great, so that's less of a concern here. Sometimes you may have to commute a bit longer than you'd ideally like, but of course over the past couple of years that hasn't been an issue either.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Worst mistake of my career so far

    Aug 7, 2022 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - sponsored conference so you can go, have fun, and talk about stuff - don't have to look for new gigs when you want to be consultant

    Cons

    - Don't fall for the hype; this is basically just an IT body shop with a slightly different operating model - Reviews are tilted positive bc they make everyone sign a comical document when they leave stating they or their children or heirs will never ever ever say anything bad about the company, so take them with a grain of salt…or a kilo - 401k match much lower compared to other companies - “Employee Owned” refers mostly to more senior folks & upper management. ESOP takes almost a decade to vest, so unless you stay that long you’re basically losing every year. Even after that I don’t think you’d ever catch up - Culture very cultish; there's definitely an in-group and everyone else. If you're not in the in-group it's very lonely and you feel like you could be fired at any moment for anything. Lots of suburban soccer mombies, so if that’s not your thing steer clear. - As others have mentioned DEI is pretty much lip service. They make sure to trot out their token diverse people at their events – corporate propaganda at its finest - Sometimes it feels like upper management still thinks everything is like it was in the 1980s... - High turnover and no common assignments, so you never know who you're going to be working with and rarely an opportunity to engage with them - Little support when things get tense or go awry at clients - don't expect your "manager" to actually go to bat for you - you are on your own and if you screw up you'll be shown the door (I’ve seen it happen too many times) - Basically no opportunity for advancement - Salaries significantly behind market (while senior management golfs constantly and drives nice new cars) - HR is woefully incompetent; doesn’t even know what to do with the most basic scenarios. I don’t even use my benefits half the time because I don’t trust them

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Solution Design Group Response

    Our goal has always been to build a supportive and inclusive culture at SDG, while focusing on the experience of the individual. While we know we are not perfect, it is especially troubling to hear how far off your experience seems to be from that goal. If you don't feel comfortable speaking with your assigned consultant manager, we would encourage you to reach out to someone else to see if any of your concerns can be resolved.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Wonderful company with healthy business outlook

    Apr 29, 2022 - Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic HR and employee success program in place, strong clients, interesting and challenging work, talented co-workers, high transparency from leadership, active DEI initiatives in place, excellent work-life balance and respect for personal time, great business outlook

    Cons

    Sometimes the practices become a little siloed. It would be nice to have more intentional communication and learning opportunities between java and design, low code and Microsoft, etcetera.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great consulting company with excellent employee engagement

    Jun 7, 2022 - Senior Full Stack Javascript Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee engagement through various slack channel groups that host events.

    Cons

    If you have a short contracts you may have to do lots of interviews at clients. You don't get to pick the clients you get placed at.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Great Place to Grow

    Apr 7, 2022 - Software Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Other employees are extremely helpful and kind, work is rewarding, good benefits

    Cons

    Nothing bad to report yet!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solution Design Group Response

    Thanks for the review, we are glad you are having a good experience!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lives up to their status as #1 employer in MN

    Sep 17, 2021 - Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dedicated consultant manager that keeps you informed and connected to sdg while you are working 100% of your time at client sites. Strong and intentional culture built by genuinely good/fun sales, operations, and management people. Good pay and benefits, including sdg being an ESOP (stock and stock valuation increase annually) Almost everything I have ever suggested or asked for has been received, from extra time off, market-matching pay increase (during annual review), assistance with navigating a client situation, sdg delivered. Exceeds expectations. "sdg has your back" when working client engagements. As a Consultant this helps me take risks such as stepping up for bigger/new roles, being direct when working through challenging situations (which has turned out to be the magic trick in coming out of these situations well for all.

    Cons

    No cons that I have experienced.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Consistent and well meaning

    Feb 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid company culture that supports learning and self-organized communities. Good set of clients, generally has a plethora of good technical talent, and spends a decent amount of time creating opportunities for employees to engage with each other.

    Cons

    Highly conservative, risk adverse company which can make it hard to innovate. Generally have a flat structure, which can be detrimental to growth opportunities for talent (i.e. a consultancy with no partner track).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 91 Reviews

Solution Design Group Reviews FAQs

Solution Design Group has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 93 reviews left anonymously by employees. 90% of employees would recommend working at Solution Design Group to a friend and 90% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Solution Design Group employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Solution Design Group. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

90% of Solution Design Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Solution Design Group 4.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.7 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Solution Design Group to be management, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, workplace.

Popular Careers with Solution Design Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Solution Design Group? Share Your Experiences

or

Solution Design Group Careers

Cover image for Solution Design Group

Solution Design Group (SDG) is an employee-owned digital product services firm. We help companies embrace technology, leveraging digital...More

  • What we do
  • Culture
  • Community
  • ESOP
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Solution Design Group

0 days ago

Culture
SDG consultant Melanie Sorensen join the podcasters for a part two on User Research! This time diving further into getting started with research, and what tools and methods are best! Listen by clicking the link below!
Shared image - Getting started with User Research
Getting started with User Research
solutiondesign.com
See all

Solution Design Group Photos

+ Add Photo
Solution Design Group photo of: Volunteering at Second Harvest Heartland
Solution Design Group photo of: Coffee Club Meetup!
Solution Design Group photo of: Job fair
Solution Design Group photo of: Work from the office days!
Solution Design Group photo of: Work from the Office days: Pride Month Celebration
Solution Design Group photo of: Beer Club Meetup
Solution Design Group photo of: Coffee Meetups
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Solution Design Group Job Seekers Also Viewed

Nerdery Logo
Nerdery

3.1

209 Reviews
Compare