Standard Chartered Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Standard Chartered Bank Group CEO Bill Winters
Bill Winters
951 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Standard Chartered Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn, work life balance

    Cons

    Hierarchical management structure in all teams

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-02-15
  2. "Standard chartered"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Standard Chartered Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to work in

    Cons

    gucg hdygcgu ygdg gdgd gdgd

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-05-20
  3. "High level review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Standard Chartered Bank full-time

    Pros

    Overall a great place to work and think of long term!

    Cons

    Could be a better payer.

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-04-28
  4. "a place for innovation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Product & Technology 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Standard Chartered Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    trying to leverage global talent and fintech experience, SCB is a relatively liberal and innovative bank compared to peer.

    Cons

    too many countries to run business, hard to focus; hard for local business to adapt given corp center allocates funding.

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-04-22
  5. "good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDE1 in Califon, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Standard Chartered Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy to work Compensations & Benefits

    Cons

    no so good Career Opportunities

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-03-31
  6. "Good place"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Standard Chartered Bank full-time

    Pros

    Very helpful management. It was my first job, they made it easy

    Cons

    In a year, no cons

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-03-19
  7. "People - Good, Processes - Need improvements"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Standard Chartered Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance, people are good.

    Cons

    Strategic execution is slow Necessary improvements are not priority.

    Continue reading
    Standard Chartered Bank2020-03-15
  8. "Good benefits and flexible working hours"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Standard Chartered Bank full-time

    Pros

    company provides 100% coverage if you are becoming a parent

    Cons

    little growth within unless you know someone from the top

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-03-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good for entry level, not much else."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Standard Chartered Bank

    Pros

    - PTO and Benefits - Most people are nice and friendly - Good place to learn the business primarily

    Cons

    Too much nepotism and politics. If you’d like to advance in this company, better learn how to affix your lips to a posterior! There’s always an excuse for lack of advancement. Inept people somehow get all the promotions, and actual knowledgeable people stay at the bottom.

    Continue reading
    Standard Chartered Bank2020-03-25
  10. "It's been decent overall"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Analyst in Newark, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Standard Chartered Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Good vacation policy Good people overall, though it depends on department

    Cons

    Little room for growth Lack of meritocracy Preference to outsiders Unequal pay for work Shift around upper management every few years, give themselves pat on back Lack of post-work activities/events In US it's more of a branch, most decision-makers are in Singapore/London Lack of transparency Lack of collaboration between teams/departments Must clock in and out 4 times a day for overtime-eligible employees

    Standard Chartered Bank2020-03-20
Found 2945 reviews