KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Study.com

Is this your company?

Study.com

Add a Review

Study.com Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 225 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Study.com CEO Adrian Ridner
Adrian Ridner
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work from home opportunity(in 17 reviews)

  • "Flexible work (work as much or as little you want)(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Very low pay for time commitment required to complete each assignment(in 15 reviews)

  • "Compensation is below minimum wage considering the amount of work(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    8m

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,827

    951 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Study.com and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great benefits

      Aug 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of PTO, 401k matching, good health plans

      Cons

      Combined PTO and sick days

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Stay away if you can

      Dec 22, 2020 - Manager in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice People Collaborative Culture Equipped Kitchen

      Cons

      One of the notorious things to me is how overly money-hungry/cheap the company is. Here's why. First, it's cheap to its employees. As everybody knows, salaries are relatively low and my impression is the company seldom, if ever, gives out bonuses. It's also cheap to the department budget. There's a lot of red tape and little money to invest in tools or contractors that build the internal capabilities of the departments. Thus, people have to compromise quality. Maneuvering there like a budget makes things a struggle. Sadly, the focus of senior management seems to be more focused on making a company that will sell soon and not really invested in its long-term brand neither its customers (the product as you can see evidently is not very pretty to look at) nor to its employees (high turnover is evident as well). The all becomes more evident on the quarterly meetings. The company is growing double digits quarter over quarter and yet everybody knows the salaries are low. It’s like they flaunt in internal meetings how much money they're making and yet they don't give back it to its employees or departments. They display a 'we're good flag/got a good mission' flag that ultimately they use to pay less. Finally, to me, it's interesting that everybody claims that work and life balance is good here when I thought it was not. I think the expectation is to work closer to nine hours a day.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Decent Place to work

      Mar 3, 2021 - Other 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers truly are accommodating and helpful

      Cons

      Company has very strict no work-from-home policy

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      So much potential.. but not a great environment

      Jan 15, 2020 - Partnerships in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a lot of benefits and a great product. Chris, Adrian and Ben are awesome!

      Cons

      I felt like I was in high school, lots of cliques and hard to relate to others. The increases are super unfair, you have no chance to advocate for yourself to prove your worth. Team members are constantly left out of the planning, so you don't really have the opportunity to be part of the strategic development. Also, wfh is crazy. You get 2 days a quarter, so you better not be sick. Not flexible at all... unless you are part of the cool club where it doesn't matter as much.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      An amazing place to work

      Mar 10, 2019 - Senior Content Generalist in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, amazing mission, and some of the best people in the bay area. Company makes a concerted effort to provide professional growth opportunities.

      Cons

      These growth opportunities are often framed as lateral growth, given the company's relatively flat organizational structure.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Clear leadership and focus on teamwork leads to great work environment

      Apr 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been at Study.com for over 5 years and have seen it grow from a small company of 10 employees to over 70. The clear leadership has helped sustain this growth and create a a culture that makes coming to work each day enjoyable and inspiring. Some key pros: * There is a focus on teamwork and goals, which means there is no politics or egos * Inspiring mission to make education accessible means we're working on an exciting educational product that is making a difference for people every day * Leadership trusts employees and empowers them to grow * Employees are rewarded for being strong contributors by getting increased responsibility and compensation * The company moves fast, making it an exciting place to work * The company constantly iterates on processes and products, so that if something isn't going well, you can expect to see improvements * There is transparency across the whole company so everyone has the opportunity to know what each team is working on * Employees are incredibly smart and talented and genuinely like each other. * Decisions are data driven and clearly communicated to the company * We use scrum to get work done, which leads to buy in and team ownership of projects

      Cons

      We're growing quickly and encountering some growing pains. HR and the executives are doing a great job of trying to maintain the culture but we're encountering a few bumps as we grow. It can also be hard to maintain focus and prioritize because there are so many great ideas to pursue.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Study.com Response

      HR Manager

      I'm so glad you appreciate our transparency. We've worked hard over the years to make sure that employees have insight into what the company is working on and why. In addition to quarterly kick offs and wrap ups that are presented to the whole company, each initiative team records a demo of their work every two weeks. These demos are available to everyone, and even aired during catered Monday lunches. If you don't know where to find the demos, feel free to ask anyone on the HR team as we'd love to share them with you! We know that it can be hard to stay focused since there are so many great ideas. We start each quarter fresh by evaluating ideas and prioritizing them so that initiative teams can stay focused on the highest value projects. But don't worry, your ideas are not forgotten. We keep a backlog of all ideas so they can be evaluated again. And you can always use your Innovation Friday or hackathon time to prototype an idea and prove concept.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people, Great Mission, Great Place to Work

      Mar 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been here for almost 4 years and cannot overstate how much I enjoy working here. Every company in the Valley brags about how you will be working with the best and brightest, the thing is, it is actually true at Study.com. Further, there is an abundance of care taken to ensure that these people will actually be decent, engaged, and valued employees. The mission is also something that is able to keep me motivated and enthusiastic. I have worked in a variety of industries and I can honestly say that it is so much more fulfilling to work for a company that truly helps people, as opposed to just selling a widget or peoples data. You really can't beat working for a highly successful company that truly delivers societal impact. The perks that the company provides are tremendous. Highly competitive bonuses and salaries, a piece of the pie in the event of acquisition/sale, great benefits, free food, free gym membership, free Caltrain passes, tons of events and happy hours. Finally, the culture of the company is great, yet constantly being worked on. Providing input is encouraged and accepted with open arms.

      Cons

      - The closely held nature of the company precludes a lot of visibility into financial results. - The flat nature of the hierarchy may be frustrating for people who are looking for a new title every year or significant management opportunities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Study.com Response

      HR Manager

      We're so glad you enjoy working with the great team we've built. Culture comes first for us, and we've worked hard to hire smart, engaged people as we've continued to grow the team. Thank you for the feedback on the flat nature of the company. We value our flat structure because it allows employees at all levels to work together and have a voice in the company's direction. At the same time, we understand how important growth and promotion opportunities are, and our HR team is working to create new pathways for growth for all employees.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome Place To Work & Grow!

      Jan 28, 2017 - Product Manager in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at Study.com for 2 years and I truly feel lucky to have found such a great place to work. Perks aside (fully stocked kitchen, open work stations, company trips to the beach, etc), the best part about working at Study.com is the fact that the company believes in its' employees. Over the last few years, I have been able to gain an incredible amount of knowledge and experience due to the fact that the company recognizes and rewards hard work and passion. I am constantly challenged to think of new areas I want to grow in professionally and then given the opportunity to do so. The people who work here are incredibly friendly and intelligent. The product we have is unique and has the ability to revolutionize the way education is accessed. I am eager to see the growth the company will have in the next few years and I look forward to being a part of it.

      Cons

      No stock options. Profit sharing only occurs if the company gets bought out. Employees who leave before this occurs do not get any compensation.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A fantastic place to work that keeps getting better

      Jun 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was drawn to this company because it's a tech company with a great mission - make education accessible. I've stayed at here because it's so well run. The leadership team cares about the employees and goes to great lengths to make it a positive, motivating work environment. The co-founders are accessible and supportive, but also challenge people to grow and learn. The Operations Team is top notch, too. I firmly believe that they're going to continue to do great things for the employees as the company grows. I've also stayed here because the whole company is made up of a terrific group of people. Study.com has grown by leaps and bounds in the time I've been here, but they continue to find smart, fun people that make the office a great place to be. I love working with everyone here and I love hanging out with them at the many social events (happy hours, bowling league, team events, parties, beach trips, etc.).

      Cons

      There aren't many cons. Mountain View is expensive and you have to commute from pretty far to live somewhere affordable. They do offer free CalTrain passes and a flexible workday to make that easier.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Study.com Response

      HR Manager

      As a member of the ops team, I'll make sure to pass your feedback on! We really appreciate the positive feedback. We're doing a lot to help the company maintain its great culture, including company events, new company benefits, and, of course, building a brand new office to support all of our exciting growth.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      The most I've ever learned, the best team I've ever worked with and the most fun I've ever had.

      Apr 9, 2015 - Senior Human Resources Manager in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Working for a company that you can stand behind proudly for its efforts to make education more accessible, saving students money and time, and helping them make better decisions about their educational choices. - Company bowling league, beach day, team events, snacks, meals, beer cart Thursday, happy hour Friday, Hack-a-thons, innovation Fridays, company-wide team building events, celebration trips to Las Vegas - FUN, FUN, FUN! - Working with some of the most intelligent people that are willing to help you learn and grow (and that are fun). - Having endless opportunities to work on many different things. - Working in an environment full of collaboration, learning, fun, excitement, humor... and friendships. - A company that is financially stable and has a clear vision for strategic growth. - Highly competitive compensation plans and benefits

      Cons

      - Tremendous amount of growth within a small period of time can make it hard to keep the culture stable. The company seems to be doing a great job so far, but just be weary. - A ton of meetings... granted we are in a high growth time and brainstorming new ideas is critical. - Too many snacks causes lots of munching (thank goodness for the gym membership)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Study.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Study.com? Share Your Experiences

    or