Study.com Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Study.com CEO Adrian Ridner
Adrian Ridner
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of the editors introduce grammar mistakes into the answers before they are published(in 11 reviews)

  • "20 for a 500-1000 word article that is expected to take you 2 hours (their estimate)(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "An amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Content Generalist in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, amazing mission, and some of the best people in the bay area. Company makes a concerted effort to provide professional growth opportunities.

    Cons

    These growth opportunities are often framed as lateral growth, given the company's relatively flat organizational structure.

    Continue reading
    Study.com2019-03-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Rude"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Study.com

    Pros

    You can work from home Pay is consistent

    Cons

    Tattletale culture Inconsistent work No opportunities for growth Won’t tell you when you are let go

    Study.com2020-03-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "So much potential.. but not a great environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnerships in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Study.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a lot of benefits and a great product. Chris, Adrian and Ben are awesome!

    Cons

    I felt like I was in high school, lots of cliques and hard to relate to others. The increases are super unfair, you have no chance to advocate for yourself to prove your worth. Team members are constantly left out of the planning, so you don't really have the opportunity to be part of the strategic development. Also, wfh is crazy. You get 2 days a quarter, so you better not be sick. Not flexible at all... unless you are part of the cool club where it doesn't matter as much.

    Continue reading
    Study.com2020-01-16
  4. "Study.com company review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Atmosphere, People, Product, Innovative

    Cons

    HQ's expensive to live nearby.

    Continue reading
    Study.com2018-08-15
  5. "Company that counts"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time

    Pros

    Great culture - a company that cares about employees, empowers young go-getters and has a great mission.

    Cons

    Not much. We're growing fast so there are growing pains as we figure out how to grow the organization but continue to keep everything we love about the culture.

    Study.com2018-08-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Endless Challenges"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting front end and back end challenges that really make a difference for the company and our users. Focused on big needle moving epics instead of endless minutia that I have dealt with in previous roles.

    Cons

    I wish the product had a bigger presence so we could make an even larger impact.

    Continue reading
    Study.com2018-05-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Wonderful, Supportive Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience/Visual Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not only is everyone here super ambitious and skilled, but they're incredibly supportive to their coworkers. As someone who wants to grow as a designer, this is exactly the environment I was hoping for when I looked for a new position. I'm able to reach out to anyone and ask questions, and everyone goes the extra mile to make sure you succeed. There are also regular design meetings when designers come together and talk about new design trends and best practices, so we're all able to learn from each other and make sure we're being the best we can be. The benefits are also fantastic (who doesn't love comfy health care and free snacks and meals?).

    Cons

    No obvious cons thus far.

    Continue reading
    Study.com2018-05-01
  8. "Great Culture, great benefits, great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I currently work at Study.com, and I love it. We get great benefits, happy hours sponsored by the company, the Leadership team is always available for chatting, and you feel that you are more than just a number, feeling that is quite common when working on big companies. I would definitely recommend Study.com to friends that are looking for a job if they a looking for a job.

    Cons

    The company haven't assimilated the "work from home" culture yet even though we are still allowed to work from home once a quarter.

    Study.com2018-05-01
  9. "Awesome company!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment working with people you want to be around. It's a fast-paced, exciting atmosphere where your contributions are implement and your voice is heard. They've created an atmosphere where giving and receiving feedback is a core part of our culture which is extremely helpful in continued professional growth within the company. Working here makes me feel like I'm really making a difference in the field of education.

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities can be limited, but my manager works very closely with me to make goals and helps me to achieve them. If you work hard and do a good job, it doesn't go unrecognized.

    Study.com2018-03-09
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Working with Purpose"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Study.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you ever wondered what a successful company with work-life balance looks like - here it is! Working at Study.com is so much more than having a job, it's like having an extended family of driven people with diverse perspectives who want to make education accessible and constantly find new ways to do it. And challenge, and encourage each other too. I could go on at great lengths describing all the perks of working here - they are amazing, but I think that ultimately it's the people who work here that make this place so unique. Study.com-ers care about their workplace, their customers, and each other. Many parts of the company are involved in the hiring process and the HR Team does an incredible job ensuring candidates understand the company culture before deciding whether it's the right fit. And when they say that they care about giving and receiving feedback - they mean it. Finally - I am so impressed with Study.com that I just sat down on my day off and wrote a lengthy review because I like it here, and I care about who joins us next. So if you consider joining, I hope this helps you in some way!

    Cons

    Like many places that care about their employees' feedback and think hard about the company's future direction - Study.com also faces some challenges with balancing new ideas and their implementation. We experiment, if we have to deal with failure - we try to fail fast and improve quickly, and that's the nature of business. If you cannot stand uncertainty and experimentation and have a strong preference for working with "fully-baked" ideas, this might not be the right place for you.

    Continue reading
    Study.com2018-01-15
Found 40 reviews