Tacit Knowledge Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tacit Knowledge General Manager and Senior Vice President James Bullock (no image)
James Bullock
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Outstanding work / life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "No politics, growing, solid and experienced peers(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Once the Newgistics merger went into full force, the culture went south(in 4 reviews)

  • "Typically not much travel from delivery offices (Moldova, Mexico) to full-service offices (San Francisco, New York, London)(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent company

      Nov 30, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance. Good benefits.

      Cons

      Career growth is limited .

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      e-commerce project manager

      Mar 3, 2021 - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great place to work i recommend it

      Cons

      cannot think of any negatives

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Once great, quickly went down hill...

      Oct 13, 2017 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Once had a highly regarded reputation in the eComm/CMS space. I worked with some of the most talented engineers and delivery professionals in my career, many of which I've stayed close friends with.

      Cons

      Once the Newgistics merger went into full force, the culture went south. HQ in Austin was absolutely clueless on how to maintain good culture with highly skilled knowledge workers in San Francisco. Benefits were cut, upward mobility was virtually nonexistent, and there was a mass exodus of top notch leadership. The managers that remained or were brought in were absurdly incompetent and sometimes unethical. It caused a steady outflow of top talent to where the great culture that once thrived became virtually unrecognizable. The sales pipeline was once overflowing and then it dried up. HR was the worst I've ever seen in any company. When they cut our benefits, they had an entire year to communicate the change, yet they waited until just before benefits enrollment. They were also very poor at time keeping, many times making mistakes in payroll and vacation accrual.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very smart, dedicated people and positive environment.

      Aug 6, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tacit Knowledge is an engineering-driven company, with a focus on quality. Employees are very supportive of each other, and take interest in each others' projects. This is genuine interest, not like my last job, where someone asking you what you were working on meant you should watch your back. I've never worked at a place where everyone likes each other this much, or where everyone was this good at their jobs.

      Cons

      This is a consulting company, so there is likely to be travel (this could be a "pro" if you really like to travel), though it's not excessive. The interview/hiring process is pretty long, but this is only a con until you get through it. I guess high standards have costs.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Working with your friends who happen to be experts

      Nov 5, 2014 - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tacit only hires drama-free people, so we all get along great. Coworkers fast became friends and drinks on Friday are the norm here. Everyone is easy to work with because they also experts. People know what they're doing so that means a frustration-free zone too. My manager is approachable and easy to talk to...about anything which means the company stays healthy and transparent, any small issues does not escalate and productive outcomes are assured. Our office is close to public transit so it's easy to get here. I get complete benefits and life insurance at no cost to me as well as a nice 4 weeks of paid time off per year.

      Cons

      Haven't had 401K matching but we will in a few months.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      My Best Working Experience to Date

      Aug 22, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good software consulting pros who know what they are doing and happy to share their knowledge. Hiring process is designed so people are a good fit both technically and culturally. Nobody takes themselves too seriously, but they are very serious about their work and the craft of software development. Whether it is eCommerce implementation, Dev Ops consulting, or 'proper' Project Management you want to pursue, this is the place to do it.

      Cons

      Typical consulting concerns; travel can be taxing, and projects that go on too long can feel stale.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Tacit Knowledge Response

      Office Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we value all of our employee's experiences. We know that there is always room for improvement and recognize that the nature of our work can require a fair amount travel. Thank you again for your comments!

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company outside of the US

      Nov 3, 2016 - Business in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * London, Guadalajara, Chișinău know how to deliver software. The developers and the PMO staff in these locations and NY are highly talented. * I have never had the pleasure of being employed at a company that is so dedicated to the Agile methodology before Tacit. * The Product Management side of the company is smart and enjoyable to work with. * PMO management in London is inspiring and should take a greater role in managing the NA offices.

      Cons

      * The San Francisco PMO management team went from greatly inspiring (2015) to less than uninspiring (2016). Reminiscent of a "Lord of The Flies" style - PMO management in San Francisco adopts practices like: ** Public humiliation in standups ** Alienating and talking over the Tech team ** Telling members of the project team that they are "Slowing down velocity" for taking vacation that was knowingly approved in meetings with project members. ** Failing to deliver projects where other PMO teams before 2016 have delivered before.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best job of my career

      Oct 14, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commitment to IT craftsmanship in a wholistic sense, work-life balance, no politics amongst colleagues, no passengers on project teams, colleagues who are balanced in having great skills and personality (you want to have drinks with them), lots of client-facing opportunities if you are at an onshore office.

      Cons

      Benefits aren't as great even though the salary is more than competitive. Currently we have more work than we can recruit good enough people for, and a lot of old-timers are leaving. There is still worry that Tacit will lose its culture of craftsmanship as it merges more closely with Newgistics.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best company I've worked for to date!

      Feb 11, 2014 - Office Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very bright software consultants that have a real passion for what they do. - No politics - The team quickly becomes like a second family - Growth is a real possibility- if desired - Everyone respects, helps and appreciates each other If you express an interest in something, everyone is willing to spend time to talk through and help you better understand that specific area of interest.

      Cons

      - No downside at Tacit, seriously!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Tacit Knowledge Response

      Office Manager

      We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on what it's like working at Tacit and are so happy to read your positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great and Focused Software Engineering Shop

      Aug 8, 2014 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, friendly, and studious. The problems can be tough, but there are always plenty of support from other engineers. Engineers work closely with the clients to define project goals, the politics are minimal, and there is nobody here who is in opposition to our goals of writing beautiful code.

      Cons

      I'd like to see more greenfield projects as opposed to work with smaller scopes.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 58 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tacit Knowledge Job Seekers

    Sales Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Tacit Knowledge? Share Your Experiences

    Tacit Knowledge logo
    or