Texas Tech University Reviews | Glassdoor

Texas Tech University Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 885 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Texas Tech University CEO Dr. John Opperman
Dr. John Opperman
138 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lubbock can be quite limited if you are arriving from the big city(in 56 reviews)

  • "low pay but expected for students(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible supervisors, positive work environment, flexibility

    Cons

    Coming from more professional backgrounds, some staff members lack professionalism as their only job has been at Tech

    Texas Tech University2019-07-13
  2. "Great Place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

    Pros

    People are nice and professional

    Cons

    I can not think of any

    Texas Tech University2019-07-07
  3. "ok to work here as researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Undergraduate Researcher 

      I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

      Pros

      easy money, good people to work with

      Cons

      none really, depends on who you work with

      Texas Tech University2019-07-17
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Very good on campus culture and support.

      Cons

      You pay to park at work, raises are minimum and infrequent.

      Texas Tech University2019-06-27
    • "A great way to give back and get paid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Transfer Ambassador in Lubbock, TX

      I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      flexible develops ones soft skills meet new people

      Cons

      Less hours during Fall semester

      Texas Tech University2019-07-10
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Texas Tech University part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Loved working with peers and fellow tech students and working at the sporting games.

      Cons

      Some late nights at end of games. low pay

      Texas Tech University2019-06-20
    • "Videography Intern for Texas Tech Athletics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Videographer/Editor in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Texas Tech University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, amazing opportunities, good people to work with. You wont find any other unique jobs out there for a college student.

      Cons

      A huge time commitment that is 100% worth it.

      Texas Tech University2019-06-20
    • "Wreck Em"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

        I worked at Texas Tech University part-time

        Pros

        Working at Tech gave me great experience to be able to take into the real world after finishing up my Masters degree

        Cons

        The organization of some departments is laughable. There were some hurdles throughout my grad career and organization could have been a quick fix to them.

        Texas Tech University2019-06-29
      • "Overall good considering"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Instructor, College Or University 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        TTU is a great place to work.

        Cons

        However, not every department values instructors (compared to tenure trac faculty), despite the fact that they may carry a great deal of responsibility and make significant contributions.

        Advice to Management

        Keep authority in tandem with responsibility.

        Texas Tech University2019-06-30
      • "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrator 

        I have been working at Texas Tech University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Benefits! Most people are easy to work with. Have been lucky enough to have a wonderful boss that cares about others.

        Cons

        You have to write something here. No complaints!

        Texas Tech University2019-06-13
      Found 885 reviews