Timken Reviews | Glassdoor

Timken Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 366 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Richard G. Kyle
97 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management can’t relate to field employees(in 13 reviews)

  • "Sending many salaried jobs to low cost countries after the major blunder of spinning off the steel business leaving middle management overburdened(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Company with Excellent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Timken full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    High pay, great insurance, mandatory time off every third week(not 6or 7 day weeks all year)

    Cons

    Union control of plant can make doing your job difficult

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, and hold 1st shift and union officials accountable

    Timken2019-04-12
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory in Springfield, MO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    My supervisor is great to work for

    Cons

    I was in a temporary role

    Timken2019-04-08
  3. "Timken Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Duncan, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours and shift are great and the environment as well.

    Cons

    The pay could be better.

    Timken2019-03-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Haven, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Timken full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is really nice.

    Cons

    HR and Controller are typical mean girls. Constantly rolling eyes, being rude, bullies and to “friendly” with certain employees. Everyone there is miserable, no one smiled, it was like working with a bunch of high school students. Most unprofessional bunch of people.

    Advice to Management

    Hire new people to run these departments.

    Timken2019-04-09
  5. "no 1 company aviation salary in ferndale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    opportunity to move up is good

    Cons

    less position is no good

    Advice to Management

    better package for seasoned engineer

    Timken2019-03-01
  6. "Big promise little return"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bearing Specialist in Laguna Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is decent

    Cons

    Upper management can’t relate to field employees. If your in the group then your in, but if your not then your not.

    Advice to Management

    There is a world outside of corporate. Compensation is very low in certain areas of the country.

    Timken2019-03-07
  7. "great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Analyst in North Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Timken. I'm going to give you a problem that has stemmed from an oversight 3 years ago. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you several directions to take and dependable resources team. Those associates and … consultants are going to be tenacious in coming...

    Show More

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Timken. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take a … ...

    Show More
    Timken2018-12-06
  8. "Team atmosphere working toward a common goal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior EHS Analyst in Mascot, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible, positive energy, growth opportunities

    Cons

    Pay ranges could be higher for some positions

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Timken2018-11-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Supply Chain Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Supply Chain Analyst in Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    They offer an Education Reimbursement Program

    Cons

    nothing at this time to remark

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance - Look at experience not just the degree

    Timken2018-10-29
  10. "Not difficult though slightly boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Packer in Lincolnton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Timken full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy work inside heated and cooled building

    Cons

    Boredom and no pay raises in the packer job

    Advice to Management

    Might be able to retain bearing Packers if there was a possibility of yearly raises

    Timken2018-10-27
Found 366 reviews