TitleMax Reviews | Glassdoor

TitleMax Reviews

Updated April 21, 2018
528 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tracy Young
280 Ratings

528 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The pay is Good, the people not so much (in 38 reviews)

  • PTO accrual, great pay in compensation for working hard (in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • Going to have to say work life balance, if you put the work in your there 10 hours a day to run a balanced business (in 40 reviews)

  • Upper management sometimes is trained at the store level, which means a GM is training his boss (in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Reseda, CA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Reseda, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great upper management and is transparent with communication from top to bottom. Pay is on par with the industry if not better. Closed on Sundays, Company truly understands work life balance.

    Cons

    There is no Cons working for Titlemax

    TitleMax Response

    Mar 5, 2018 – Operations

    It sounds like you are enjoying your time with us! Thanks so much for leaving a review. We wish you continued success in your career with the Company!


  2. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people. You learn a lot on the job. This includes management and sales. Pay helped me for college.

    Cons

    The pay is pretty low. The work itself feels kinda scummy. Loan business makes you feel guilty!

    Advice to Management

    Not much. I'm glad laws are changing regulating the business..

    TitleMax Response

    Apr 23, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    We value your honest feedback. We are always striving to improve and will take your feedback into consideration. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

  3. "General Manager Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Arleta, CA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Arleta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work life Balance is amazing! the company and President Otto bend over backwards to take care of their employees and their needs, they call this the TitleMax Family and they really believe it! it warms my heart everyday to be able to help people and work for a company who walks the talk and talks the walk!
    The pay and benefits are above the industry standards!
    oh! and closed on Sundays

    Cons

    There is truly no Cons to working at TitleMax, this is THE dream job, make an application if you want to love where you work :)

    Advice to Management

    Guys, just keep doing what you're doing! my team loves to follow you all on twitter!

    TitleMax Response

    Apr 12, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are thrilled to hear about your positive experience at the Company. It is important that we know what we’re doing right in order for us to... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "State and store location makes all the difference."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - General Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, opportunity to make decent money if you can land at the right location

    Cons

    GM's will work 55-60 hours a week, salaried and no OT pay.
    Extremely performance based, your job is never safe and they like to remind you of that. No vacation time from Thanksgiving through Christmas. They require you to host store events and pay for food and refreshments for customers out of your own pocket.

    TitleMax Response

    Mar 13, 2018 – Operations

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Our store hours are geared towards helping our customers when they need it the most. Our busiest season is in November and December and we... More


  5. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can manage your own store and your employees. Boss is visiting you once or twice per month

    Cons

    You canot get promotion next step is division manager..This position is never open and sdo many candidates for position. Working a lot of hours..hard to balance family life .

    Advice to Management

    They should listen more employees and give more chances to the manager who wants to be promoted

    TitleMax Response

    Mar 13, 2018 – Operations

    Thank you so much for leaving a Company review on GlassDoor! We are dedicated to providing our team members with opportunities to advance within the Company, and even have an entire Workforce... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Arleta, CA
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Arleta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Vey strong leadership. This company demonstrates unity within its employees. The direction we are going as a company is amazing.

    Cons

    To be very honest there is no con. From the CEO all the way down to the ASM everyone is on the same page.

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving for greatness to be the best Title loan company

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2018 – Operations

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are thrilled to hear about your positive experience at the Company. It is important that we know what we’re doing right in order for us to... More


  7. "District Director of Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay. Good job for a min of 2 years to pay of debts or relocate where you want to go.

    Cons

    Absolutely no control. Have no say when it comes to people. As a 6 figure salary you are just an auditor. Not one GM is safe in their JOB. Again every position is good for a year or two.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the field. Or work in the field so you know what is going on

    TitleMax Response

    Apr 9, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    We value your honest feedback. We are always striving to improve and will take your feedback into consideration. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Best of my years working with Titlemax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Woodbridge, VA
    Former Employee - General Manager in Woodbridge, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company to learn, and to get knowledge of a lot of things . . . . Loved my job !

    Cons

    They are closing stores, not telling us if we will be still working with Titlemax. Doesn't look like they care much about their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Know better your employees. There are really hardworking people working for you that seems like you don't care.

    TitleMax Response

    Mar 21, 2018 – Operations

    Thank you for your review! Sometimes companies go through transition periods where they need to right-size. Unfortunately, that does mean that we have to close stores occasionally. However, whenever... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, environment and benefits. PTO accrual, great pay in compensation for working hard. Promotions are alaways available and being able to work in different places makes for a great experience. Management is dependable, understanding, motivating and flexible. Work schedule is great, stable with Sunday's off.

    Cons

    No cons until this day, keep up the great work TitleMax!

    Advice to Management

    Continue working with and motivating your employees to grow the company. The compensation of being a part of an amazing team is a great feeling.

    TitleMax Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – Operations

    It sounds like you are enjoying your time with us! Thanks so much for leaving a review. We wish you continued success in your career with the Company!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "No transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Newport News, VA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Every other weekend off. Holidays off.

    Cons

    They don't have specific guidelines other than firing you, if your numbers are bottom 20 for the region. I am always short staffed due helping other stores. High expectations that are really hard to execute well when having to many obstacles in place. For example, scanning each page , slow computers, conference calls, flyering cars in saturated market, title audits, marketing binders, recovery , e.t.c....

    Advice to Management

    Don't expect somebody to turn around a slow store in one year when they drop T/A during tax time right before they take over . Look at how they maintained growth , NL, and transaction count. You can't profit a store unless it is in good location and less saturated market.

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2018 – Operations

    We value your honest feedback. We are always striving to improve and will take your feedback into consideration. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.


Showing 528 of 528 reviews
Reset Filters