TitleMax Reviews | Glassdoor

TitleMax Reviews

Updated July 17, 2018
540 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tracy Young
285 Ratings

540 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The pay is Good, the people not so much" (in 39 reviews)

  • "PTO accrual, great pay in compensation for working hard" (in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Going to have to say work life balance, if you put the work in your there 10 hours a day to run a balanced business" (in 42 reviews)

  • "Centers are understaffed upper management cannot hire the right people" (in 74 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "LOVE, LOVE, LOVE TitleMax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - District Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great career path, room to grow! We help people everyday! Many of our customers can not get help anywhere else. TitleMax is here to HELP!
    Love how much we volunteer in our communities!
    Lot's of fun prizes given away weekly for performance.
    The job is fun and self-fulfilling!

    Cons

    I really love what we do and who we are!

    Advice to Management

    Keep being innovative!

    TitleMax Response

    Oct 11, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience with us! We love that you enjoy helping our customers get the financial assistance they need, helping out in our communities, and that you... More


  2. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to grow business and make contacts

    Cons

    Limited ability to make changes to close a sale

    Advice to Management

    Busy days are not due to mailers they are due to locations

    TitleMax Response

    Jul 18, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thanks so much for your review. It is important that we know both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continue to improve. We appreciate your honest feedback!

  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time

    Pros

    Off weekends good pay & benefits

    Cons

    Long weekdays, job security is based on meeting goals

    TitleMax Response

    Jul 18, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thank you so much for leaving a Company review on GlassDoor.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Don’t miss a paycheck, not hard at all. PTO time is fair. Easy and quick hiring process.

    Cons

    A little too much pressure put on to squeeze every dime out of customers. Have to say too many things with each interaction. Between asking for google reviews, referrals, and now the phone app it’s too much info to promote during a payment Phone shops are so 10 years ago. Pay is low for store managers and assistants. If you don’t like trying to sell credit challenged people and collection calls then this job is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Pay for experience with new hires, not a standard rate. As a new hire Store manager, with years of store manager experience, I’ve been looking because the pay is too low, but I needed a job. Lay off the 100 google reviews. Smaller stores don’t have as many interactions as larger stores. Pick one thing a month to promote not adding. It’s a mouthful. Maybe have a regional car lot for undervalued cars to get bids on.

    TitleMax Response

    Jul 11, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us; they will be shared with our management team. We are always looking for ways to improve!


  5. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and people. Office environment.

    Cons

    Management is inconsistent and unappreciated

    TitleMax Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us; they will be shared with our management team. We are always looking for ways to improve!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Salary means 60 hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Fort Oglethorpe, GA
    Former Employee - General Manager in Fort Oglethorpe, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The money is consistent and decent if you actually work 45 hours

    Cons

    They will overwork you. They won't apologize for it. I developed a stress disorder and was hospitalized for a weekend and my DM expected me to find coverage for my store. "Work Life Balance" isn't something they understand at all. The pressure to perform is intense and its a generally accepted fact that GM's won't be successful without working a 60 hour week -- every single week. I worked 3 months of 60 hour weeks and was not so much as given lunch breaks where I was allowed to leave the premise before I caved and left. My future was bright - I was in training to be a district manager. But my health was deteriorating every day I was left without help and it's too high a price to pay.

    Advice to Management

    The reason you are so short staffed is because you don't take care of the people you have.

    TitleMax Response

    Jul 2, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thanks so much for your review. It is important that we know both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continue to improve. We understand that our competitive culture may not be for... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager
    Former Employee - General Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay is decent, helping people in a time of need was great, too. It is very easy to get promoted within the company.

    Cons

    Long hours, very short staffed, down expectations were impossible, especially when working in an office alone for half a year, Management is very unprofessional, they’re getting desperate for staff so they will hire people that shouldn’t be hired in as managers.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff with respect and more people would stay longer. With Having such a high turn around, maybe you should look in to the DDO’s a little bit more.

    TitleMax Response

    Jul 10, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    We value your honest feedback. We are always striving to improve and will take your feedback into consideration. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

  8. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Savannah, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Steady hours/Good Pay/Good People/Good Atmosphere.

    Cons

    No quality of life/ High Turnover

    Advice to Management

    Treat your workers better.

    TitleMax Response

    May 29, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    We appreciate your feedback, thank you so much for leaving a review. It is important for us to recognize constructive criticism; we will be sure to review your suggestions with our management team.


  9. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time

    Pros

    The $$$ is the only good thing.

    Cons

    Google Reviews.
    They’re now mandatory but you can’t force someone to leave a review. It makes the customers uncomfortable.

    Lies
    I’ve never witnessed a company that is so dishonest.
    To its employees & customers.

    Promotion
    The opportunities for growth are a lie. They will continue to make excuses as to why they don’t promote & grow the workers they have. They will continue to give SM/GM/DM positions to outsiders.
    This goes back to the lying, after they have promised you.

    Breaking Laws
    There are laws in place but they will have you break them all if it gets the “sale”

    Training
    Even if you ask for feedback & more training.
    You’ll be instructed to take control of your training. Do it yourself.
    I’d love to call an EMT who took control of their training & taught themselves.

    The turnover rate is insane!
    It’s not because of low quality workers. It’s a direct result of negative upper management & outright lies from them.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to your employees.
    Be upfront & honest.
    Reward hard work.

    TitleMax Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thanks so much for your review. It is important that we know both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continue to improve. We appreciate your honest feedback! In terms of the specific... More


  10. "Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time

    Pros

    It's very easy to get promoted as long as you are doing your best and following and adhering to all companies policies.

    Cons

    They do not give raises and the collection calls can be a little stressful.

    Advice to Management

    To start giving out raises.

    TitleMax Response

    May 7, 2018 – Social Media and PR Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We take all reviews into consideration and will be sure to review this information with our management team. We know there is always room for improvement and... More


Showing 540 of 540 reviews
Reset Filters