TitleMax Employee Reviews | Glassdoor

TitleMax Reviews

Updated February 27, 2017
470 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tracy Young
241 Ratings

470 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Advancement opportunities for employees, ability to transfer with the company, good pay, good benefits, (in 32 reviews)

  • Great pay, great people to work with, very busy/ fast work environment (in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • Work/Life balance will sometimes take a back seat to getting last minute assignments completed (in 34 reviews)

  • Upper management or the ACV desk makes all of them (in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Decent place, I regret leaving."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The coworkers when I first got hired, loved them, loved the customers, learned a lot, definitely have to be able to handle difficult situations

    Cons

    Company changes frequently, eventually started going into work wondering if I may have a job or not.. and cleaning out the nasty, dirty repo cars

    Advice to Management

    Don't pick favorites, need more team work

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Sr. Talent Strategy Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are thrilled to hear about your positive experience at the Company. It is important that we know what we’re doing right in order for us to ... More


  2. "Store Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Titlemax is known for customer service. a lot of customer service experience you wont get in most jobs. Sundays offices are closed. Holiday pay. 401k, Benefits. Room for growth within the company. company promotes within the first 90days

    Cons

    Pay isn't that great. Long work hours . open on Saturdays. have to spend ur own money for marketing.

    Advice to Management

    start with a higher pay and increase hourly pay

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Sr. Talent Strategy Manager

    We appreciate your feedback, thank you so much for leaving a review. It is important for us to recognize constructive criticism; we will be sure to review your suggestions with our management team.


  3. "Depends on the store"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager
    Former Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun people to work with.

    Cons

    Collections! Sometimes the GM will push for a loan to get approved in order to get bigger bonuses but then it's hard to collect the money because the car isn't worth anything.

    Advice to Management

    Give ASM and SM a bigger bonus.

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Sr. Talent Strategy Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We take all reviews into consideration and will be sure to review this information with our management team. We know there is always room for improvement and ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "store manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time

    Pros

    its a very easy and friendly envirment

    Cons

    not great pay for the work and goals that are expected

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Sr. Talent Strategy Manager

    Thanks so much for leaving a Company review on GlassDoor.


  6. "Meh"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Lawrenceville, GA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Lawrenceville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It pays realy, reallyl well.

    Cons

    You will have zero life outside of work.


  7. "General Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There are none for this company.

    Cons

    1. Hours are inhumane, you have to be there by 8:30 in the morning and don't get to leave until 7:15. If you leave before 7:15 you are put on a list and if you do it enough times you will be written up, because somehow 10 hour days are not enough for this company.
    2. There is no room for growth, in the past maybe but now it is all about firing anyone who makes more than 38,000 a year and getting someone who will accept less than minimum wage for the at least 50 hours you will be required to put in.
    3. They fire people for absolutely no reason. I was in the top % for my store and my region as was my boss and my bosses boss and we were all still fired. When I asked why, they couldn't even give me a reason all I was told is I didn't make enough money for them, even though I was up 100% in loans for the month.
    4. Health insurance sucks
    5. Bonus program is a joke, and don't let them fool you it is a supplemental bonus so it is rolled into your salary. Which means if you ever actually manage to bonus, highly unlikely as that is, you will only get it if it is over a certain amount because every second check you get from them a month has your "bonus" on it which is not actually a bonus, it is profit sharing or some such nonsense. What really is is a way for them to say they will pay you x amount of dollars plus bonuses when in reality they pay you only the bare minimum and use loopholes in the law so they don't have to pay overtime nor are you being compensated for all the hours you are required to work.
    6. They do not care about you all they care about isomething they bottom line and how much money they can line their pockets with on the back of your hard work.

    Advice to Management

    You should feel ashamed to work for a company that treats it's employees like nothing more than numbers. You need to remind yourself that you are no safer than the people you lay off. You need to remember that these are people with lives and families that you are ruining in a race for the almighty dollar. I hope you all have trouble sleeping at night and looking your loved ones in the eye after the horrible unethical immoral way you have treated people.

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Sr. Talent Strategy Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. At TitleMax, we are committed to creating a positive working environment for our employees and are disappointed (and disheartened) to hear that you had a negative ... More


  8. "General Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager
    Former Employee - General Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay is ok insurance benefits are average to other companies

    Cons

    No life outside work. They sell you on getting to have 2 days off but punish you if your collections slow file is high by making you work on your day off. Not worth the headaches you will come home with. Keep looking.

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Sr. Talent Strategy Manager

    We value your honest feedback. We are always striving to improve and will take your feedback into consideration. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.


  9. "SHADY IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - General Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are ZERO pros for working for this company.

    Cons

    Deception, unprofessionalism, harassment, bullying and intimidation should be their Mission statement. They manipulate the numbers so you will never receive the pay you earned, will not pay you earned overtime and set unrealistic goals, setting you up for failure. When you get fired, and trust me, you will, they have the audacity to contest your unemployment claim. Research their lawsuits and do not work for this company.

    Advice to Management

    No advice....upper management is a joke!

    TitleMax Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Sr. Talent Strategy Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. At TitleMax, we are committed to creating a positive working environment for our employees and are disappointed (and disheartened) to hear that you had a negative ... More


  10. "Keep looking..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Located downtown near great restaurants

    Cons

    Poor Management and no room for growth.


  11. "Not too bad !"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay
    Friendly staff
    Awesome customers(most of them anyway)

    Cons

    My issue with this company is the favoritism. Management treat different stores differently. And then when there's a issue within the store between co workers the whole district knows. I also dont like the fact that i came into this store with experience and they tried to give me the lowest possible. Luckily i love my job ! And promotions are not given when due ! They give promotions to people who dont know what they are doing instead of to people whose ready

    Advice to Management

    promotions should be given to people whose work shows their worthiness. Also need better benefits , benefits are way to costly



Showing 470 of 470 reviews
Reset Filters