TitleMax Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

TitleMax Reviews

Updated January 16, 2018
519 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tracy Young
273 Ratings

519 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The pay is Good, the people not so much (in 37 reviews)

  • Great pay and room for advancement (in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • Going to have to say work life balance, if you put the work in your there 10 hours a day to run a balanced business (in 39 reviews)

  • Upper management sometimes is trained at the store level, which means a GM is training his boss (in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "It's okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits and overtime offered are well worth working for. No cap to OT accruing and get half a day in OT per paycheck. Benefits are fairly cheap with paid life insurance, and secondary insurance options.

    Cons

    Using personal vehicle to drive several miles despite reimbursement; long work days; and inconsistency in expectations. Pay isn't the best unless store management or higher with an unbalanced work load.

    Advice to Management

    It's not good motivation to people who don't benefit from bonuses (ASM bonuses are highly laughable) to get them to do work; and saying something like "You should work harder so your GM gets a better bonus" is just repulsive. Keeping a consistent method of growth tracking/goal setting would keep staff happier.

    TitleMax Response

    Jan 18, 2018 – Operations Supervisor

    Thanks so much for your review. It is important that we know both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continue to improve. We appreciate your honest feedback!


  2. "Titlemax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good. 50k

    Cons

    Long hours. No set schedule

    TitleMax Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Operations

    Thank you for extra efforts to be there for our customers when they need you the most. We value your honest feedback. We are always striving to improve and will take your feedback into consideration... More

  3. "GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - School Bus Driver in Frisco, TX
    Current Employee - School Bus Driver in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy, Fair, quick, friendly easy to talk to everyone was friendly and professional. I needed some cash quickly and Titlemax came to the rescue. They were very reasonable to deal with not to mention easy. I was surprised at the amount I could have gotten. I have had a title loan with another company that took forever to pay off due to a very high-interest rate. The interest rate with Titlemax is reasonable and fair. I'm retired from law enforcement and I believe I no an honest company when I see one and I believe Titlemax to be honest.

    Cons

    Absolutely positively not one thing it all worked well for me

    Advice to Management

    non

    TitleMax Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    Thank you for leaving a Company review on Glassdoor!


  4. "pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Promotes from with-in the company before looking outside

    Cons

    Long Hours and not enough family time

    TitleMax Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    Thank you for leaving a Company review on Glassdoor!


  5. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Socorro, TX
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Socorro, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Professional work environment and proud to be part TMX family.

    Cons

    All holidays paid if possible and increase supplemental bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Promote within company.

    TitleMax Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    Thank you for your review! We're so glad to hear that you are proud to be part of the TMX Family.

    Regarding internal promotions, we are dedicated to providing our team members with opportunities... More


  6. "Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    They pay decent, benefits are decent,

    Cons

    No work life balance,don't buy into 45 hours a week you will never see it

    TitleMax Response

    Oct 11, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    We appreciate your feedback, thank you so much for leaving a review. It is important for us to recognize constructive criticism; we will be sure to review your suggestions with our management team.


  7. "LOVE, LOVE, LOVE TitleMax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - District Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great career path, room to grow! We help people everyday! Many of our customers can not get help anywhere else. TitleMax is here to HELP!
    Love how much we volunteer in our communities!
    Lot's of fun prizes given away weekly for performance.
    The job is fun and self-fulfilling!

    Cons

    I really love what we do and who we are!

    Advice to Management

    Keep being innovative!

    TitleMax Response

    Oct 11, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience with us! We love that you enjoy helping our customers get the financial assistance they need, helping out in our communities, and that you... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "They preach work/life balance but there is none!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, PTO, great relationship with other employees, we are now closing at 2pm on Saturdays.

    Cons

    Being a single staffed store with no days off (except sunday) no lunch breaks. Working 8:30-7:15 over 11 hours a day and expected to grow your total accounts but there is no way to go out and market. Preach about B2B then have meetings and tell you it' takes 3 months to get 1 referral from a B2B partner. Corporate spends thousands of dollars on making videos (taping it, flying employees in) but are having us cut expenses (window cleaning carpet cleaning etc). No work life balance at all even though they preach it and say we should be so lucky to work the hours we do. After thanksgiving they make us stay open until 8pm. We get no business everyone already thinks we close at 6pm not 7pm anyway. Waste of time that could be spent at home with our kids that need us.

    Advice to Management

    Have some consideration for your employees. We miss our families.

    TitleMax Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We're so sorry to hear that you are having a negative experience with us, given that our goal is to provide a positive and engaging work environment for all our... More


  9. "Job specifically takes and wages are mixed. The CSR does the job of both the Asm and SM but does not get bonuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Athens, AL
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Athens, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Company offers training for new recruits and ensures that the training is recieved and applied. Easy transition between positions.

    Cons

    Unfair wage to work ratio. The CSR does alot of movements. Marketing, paid out calls, repoing and title work. Yet the CSR does not bonus or get any additional compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Fix it

    TitleMax Response

    Oct 4, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    We value your honest feedback. We are always striving to improve and will take your feedback into consideration. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.


  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Acworth, GA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Acworth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TitleMax full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This is a great place to work.

    Cons

    The hours aren't always conducive to the business. Also laws restrict you from being successful.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a bench to prevent offices from being short staffed.

    TitleMax Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Talent Strategist, Special Initiatives

    Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad to hear that you are enjoying your career with us! We appreciate your feedback, and will consider your specific concerns as we continue to look for ways... More


Showing 519 of 519 reviews
Reset Filters