Unum Reviews | Glassdoor

Unum Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 601 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Unum CEO Rick McKenney
Rick McKenney
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (14)

    "Best I could hope for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist II in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unum full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. I never have to take work home with me and get every single weekend and major holiday off. Scheduled to work on a religious holiday? No problem; they give you 3 floating holidays per year you can apply towards whatever you would like. The pay is above industry standard and includes not only matching 401k contributions, after a year they give you a defined contribution and stock options. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    The work can be trying at times. Mostly the calls are simple status update requests, but you will get the occasional irrationally angry caller that can muddy up your day. That, and it can get a bit boring answering 80-100 calls per day. Due to the sheer amount of calls we take in a day and the limited amount of people that can call out in a day, it can be very difficult to get a day off if you do not request it weeks...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I honestly could not ask more from management. I feel that I have gotten all of the encouragement and support that I need to be successful.

    Unum2018-09-05
  2. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unum full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, strong management, good compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of advancement opportunities within the field offices (they are sales only).

    Unum2019-05-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "So far, so good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Port Byron, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Unum full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The ability to work from home with competitive wages; the company provides equipment, internet & phone line; there is a supervisor available to answer questions in a timely manner; great communication about the company from the start; they want employees to stay and move up within the company.

      Cons

      I have not come across any as of yet.

      Advice to Management

      Save this for 30-60 days after start of the job. It's difficult to give a proper opinion of career opportunities and any future prospects with the company when you haven't started yet. Everything looks good at first, but to experience it first hand would give a more accurate account.

      Unum2019-05-13
    • "Na"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Business Operations Specialist 

      I have been working at Unum full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great benefits and great time off it keeps saying to add words

      Cons

      Hard to be promoted at work

      Unum2019-05-16
    • "Great place to work but very stressful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Disability Benefits Specialist in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommends

      I worked at Unum full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pay, culture, benefits, upper management takes the time to be a part of new hire success, very transparent.

      Cons

      Stressful, process expectations arent always clear which can set you up for failure, not all mentors help the same so your success isnt always the same as your peers if your mentor doesnt invest enough time into you.

      Advice to Management

      Try to have mentors on the same page to what they are teaching new hires. Set clear expectations as to when activities should be set so you arent creating more work for yourself and set yourself up for failure

      Unum2019-05-16
    • "Great worklife balance at unum"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Unum full-time

        Pros

        Health care benefits are good

        Cons

        None I like the company a lot

        Unum2019-05-12
      • "Great company, difficult job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Short-term Disability Benefits Specialist in Chattanooga, TN
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Unum full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        lots of PTO, understanding and approachable upper management, food court in the facility, decent pay, LOTS of room for growth and advancement

        Cons

        position requires a lot physically and mentally. i leave almost every day with a headache. the pay is probably not worth the decline in my health since I've taken over this stressful position

        Advice to Management

        Please get on the same page. Upper management has a habit of thinking their way of doing things is the "right" way, and no one is ever on the same page. Train your managers to train the new hires

        Unum2019-05-02
      • "Great opportunity, Great Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Consultant in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Unum full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        the corporate culture is conducive for growth. and the company truly invests a lot of time and money in their employees.

        Cons

        the interview process was lengthy, but understandable when considering hiring a new employee.

        Advice to Management

        Keep on going on.

        Unum2019-04-30
      • "There are lots of opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager - Assurance Services in Portland, ME

        I worked at Unum full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        There are a lot of opportunities to advance or take lateral moves into new areas. The company is growing with new acquisitions. Great people to work with! Great on-site gym in the Portland location. Newly re-vamp cafeteria with healthy meal options at a discounted price. Good benefits package and recognition programs.

        Cons

        After departmental re-organizations and lay-offs in IT there was no tolerance for rescheduling project deadlines. Already very aggressive timelines were expected to meet with less people, in some cases after losing resources with critical knowledge for the project or support of the initiative.

        Unum2019-05-14
      • "great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Intake Specialist 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Unum full-time

        Pros

        benefits and food. great management as well.

        Cons

        steep learning curve. you must be willing to work hard.

        Unum2019-04-25
      Found 601 reviews