Unum Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Unum President and Chief Executive Officer Rick McKenney
Rick McKenney
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and great people(in 95 reviews)

  • "Very good benefits and promote from within(in 72 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance is near impossible to maintain if you want to keep up with your work(in 32 reviews)

  • "Senior management can be all over the place in terms of goals(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Unum and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great company

      May 11, 2021 - Operations in Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      purpose driven. strong benefits. great people.

      Cons

      hard work but it pays off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Company policy of no raises

      Apr 10, 2021 - Associate Actuary 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work experience in terms of getting diversity of opportunities, exam support is adequate 401k plan is generous as you contribute 5% and they contribute 9.5%. Of course the previous pension plan was even more generous than the 401k plan, but overall that’s their best employee benefit.

      Cons

      A few years ago they just stopped giving actuarial students annual raises. So you get paid less every year thanks to inflation. They pretended this was like barely even a big deal even though raises had been part of the program for its entire 40+ year history. They also lowered the ‘meets expectations’ bonus ratio to 90-95% of target vs 100% that it had always been at. Also gaslighting that this was totally the norm. Every other major actuarial program I know of does do annual raises so Unum stands out here. Also you will be far less likely to be promoted, will be promoted far more slowly, and be far more likely to be fired the more you align with these three categories: older age, male gender, white ethnicity. Their HR stats show this to be an incredibly brutal reality here. Also the health plans get worse every year and more expensive. All costs are being passed to employees. To me it seems like they want a steady trend of people leaving rather than doing layoff rounds, but they do still resort to layoffs every other year or so. And if it’s a year without layoffs it’s probably just an outsourcing year with some layoffs included.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Ethical issues with a top executive

      Apr 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and pay are great in addition to job opportunities

      Cons

      One executive in particular has a far reaching organization, both IT and business leaders, within his scope. This person leads through fear and has successfully run off many very talented leaders within his organization. Although many have filed official ethical complaints using the ethics hotline and HR, nothing material has changed with his leadership style, it's beyond command and control, it's fear and intimidation like I've never seen tolerated at any other organization.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Team and Supervisor!

      Apr 10, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My team consists of 12 other CSRs which is great! Our supervisor is very involved with us and provides great advise. The managers and director is very approachable and down to earth. A lot of new roles and programs have been implemented for career growth and development.

      Cons

      Over the past couple of years there have been a lot of confusing changes. We were merged with Unum contact center, then we were not, then merged with other Colonial Life departments, then we were not, then merged again with Unum contact center. It's very hard to keep up. Also low pay, I'm only staying because I really like my supervisor and team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      High volumes, high stress, low morale

      Mar 12, 2021 - LTD Benefits Specialist in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, good benefits, job security

      Cons

      Low quality of life. I've met so many former Unum employees who left bc of the high stress, being overworked. This place will suck the life out of you and take over your entire life. There's also very little internal support. I felt like my coworkers were out to get me and everything is blamed on the Benefits Specialist even though other departments constantly drop the ball. Even when I did my job correctly something would go wrong (system/tech issues) to undo my work. Just such a frustrating place to work.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Benefits - Good; Co-Workers - Great; Leadership/Management - NEEDS lots of improvement

      May 7, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst IT 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plentiful amount of paid time off; tuition reimbursement; use paid time off days to pay down student debt; nice open work environment

      Cons

      Leadership/ 1st line managers not held accountable for deficient decisions and bad treatment of employees; culture is one of command & control to the extreme (e.g. fear, intimidation, no empathy or compassion); Work/Life balance does not exist.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not terrible but not great

      May 2, 2021 - Product Owner in Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you’re kind of a middle of the road employee who doesn’t want to grow, you can work here There is some room for growth About half the people are fantastic, the other half are horrible to work with

      Cons

      Leadership is a mess. From the c suite level down they are all disorganized, especially in tech. Dying industry Not able to adapt to new technology fast enough Constant layoffs due to mismanaged budgets

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company!

      May 3, 2021 - Scholar in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, great benefits, great work environment, truly care about their employees.

      Cons

      I have no cons about this company. it is a great place to work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      May 5, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Montville, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looks out for its employees

      Cons

      Can work long hours some days

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      Apr 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing team, amazing place to work!

      Cons

      Can’t think of any right now

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 964 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Unum Job Seekers

    Professional Development Program Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Disability Benefit Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Specialist I
    Learn About the Job
    Disability Benefits Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Remote Customer Service Specialist I
    Learn About the Job
    Remote Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Unum? Share Your Experiences

    or