WildWorks Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
WildWorks CEO Clark Stacey (no image)
Clark Stacey
27 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing employee and family values

    Aug 14, 2018 - Animator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They really take care of their employees and there families. Great benefits. Monthly company meetings with lunch provided. Annual summer company event. CEO really tells everyone true honest current news about company good or bad.

    Cons

    Not really any cubs while working here

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A fine place to work

    Mar 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance--no mandatory crunch. I'm able to work my hours and then go home, and crunch culture is not the law of the land here. - New production staff that are doing good work to tighten up the way things are run, get development running smoother, and better ensure there isn't crunch across any teams. - Diversity on the rise. It's been a process, and while the company still isn't perfect, there are more people fighting to steer the ship in the right direction. More diverse hires means more accountability and change for the better. I hope! (The alt-right employee mentioned in another review no longer works here either and that's quite a boon) - I enjoy the work I do, I love being able to work on products for kids and teens to enjoy. The company cares about the products they make and the people who make them. - I've had opportunities to expand my responsibilities in meaningful ways because my teammates/supervisors listen to what I have to contribute.

    Cons

    - Lack of a proper HR system. If I have a problem that requires nuance, I need to go through a supervisor.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    risk averse company with a lot of problems

    Jun 23, 2020 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -work with amazing talent -a huge passionate audience that is really fun to create for -used to have no crunch

    Cons

    -lack of respect for the audience. an attitude of shame for making 'girl games' -extremely difficult for women to get credit or move up at all -rampant nepotism -will always give in to conservative forces within company -almost 100 percent white in a very diverse city -speaking up is punished -they employ openly alt right people -when company loses money they make workers suffer for it with mandatory crunch -the company has been slowly downsizing so not sure how long it has

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Look elsewhere for employment. You can find something better.

    Jan 29, 2020 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance was great. PTO and other benefits were pretty solid.

    Cons

    This studio is the definition of insular and traditional, with strong enforcement of favoritism that sours everything else. Diversity is a bad word here. The same handful of long-time employees make all the decisions, and there is little room for innovation, constructive criticism, or anything they don't agree with. Office management/HR department frequently failed to provide the most basic studio support, including several errors that really should have been reported to the state labor board. Upper management is a self-aggrandizing boy's club, especially with tech and production. The siloing of departments never seems to be addressed, even after years of being acknowledged, and project management and pipelines suffer immensely for it.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A place to work

    Mar 30, 2020 - Tech Artist in Draper, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible for family time

    Cons

    - No very 'advance' friendly

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company but not innovative

    Oct 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    9-5 hours always. no crunch. family friendly.

    Cons

    bad upper management and poor out of date pipeline.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    WildWorks is Great!

    Feb 12, 2016 - Illustrator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WildWorks encourages and fosters creativity and innovation. It is a lean and efficient, but growing company, that bring on new skilled new talent when needed to maintain the demands of it's growing audience. It is a company that is growing not only in size but in opportunities as we venture into new and exciting markets. Most of the people who work here are passionate about what we do and want to make it the best it can be. It's a company where management is open and transparent and does not out number the staff. Work is fast paced and deliberate, so when things do take a turn it can slow things down, but as a whole it seems like most of the staff adjusts well to those twists and turns and learns from them to make it better the next time. WildWorks provides great benefits in the form of compensation, health care packages, as well as health initiatives. They try to provide whatever the employee needs to effectively produce what's expected and inspires effort above and beyond in an effort to make things better. The office is very relaxed and makes it a comfortable place to work. They also encourage a healthy work/life balance and are flexible to individual needs while still maintaining a core work-time environment.

    Cons

    With the growth of the company it has has been hard to still know and work with everyone, so it is not as family-feel as it used to be. This also makes communication harder and more important.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    WildWorks Response

    Global Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate all employee feedback and we're glad to hear your experience has been a positive one. Growth can come with challenges as you mentioned. We're working hard to ensure our culture and work/life balance are preserved as the company grows.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Place I've Ever Worked, But Room for Growth

    Mar 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The energy. It seems to me that everyone loves their job and this energy creates a great place to work. - Hours. I rarely have to work unexpected hours. - Content. I love working on games for kids. - Environment. I like where we work. It has a fun vibe. - Growth. I'm excited with the places the company is going. Though we are growing fast, I think that the executive team is handling this rapid growth pretty well. - Access to knowledge. WildWorks provides places for us to continue to learn. From books to conventions. - Tools. If I need a piece of equipment to do my job, it's provided. -The executive team. They aren't snooty or inaccessible. I trust in their ability to lead the company. -Bonuses. WildWorks provides the opportunity for quarterly bonuses dependent on specific goals. Overall, a really great place to work. I'd highly recommend it.

    Cons

    - Sometimes HR is overwhelmed. This makes it hard to utilize their services. - There is at least one instance of direct boss-employee nepotism. - While there is great interaction on each team, it seems that sometimes each group silos themselves from other teams.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great place to work - I hope they stick around in the long term

    Oct 5, 2013 - Artist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Almost no overtime for artists -Supportive environment for creative types -Great team -Great projects that are enjoyable to work on -Solid benefits & bonuses

    Cons

    While Animal Jam is a great game, I'm frustrated that it's not a breakaway success by now. My feeling is that management isn't unified on the game's direction, which perhaps may be a fatal flaw. I'm a big believer in having a solid business plan, and I worry that Smart Bomb is more reactionary than visionary.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay Away From This Sinking Ship

    Nov 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a fun job at times and I liked most of my coworkers.

    Cons

    They are down to a skeleton crew now and the nice people who are left know their days are numbered. It's very sad, considering that WildWorks tries to portray themselves as a caring, family-friendly organization. In short, the game is failing. Fewer and fewer children are playing. For some reason, WildWorks went on some hiring blitz before realizing membership was way down. So, a lot of good people have been axed in several mass culls this year. We knew the score - it's a contract position and work isn't guaranteed. But kicking people out of the system before they even know they're fired? Talking to their face like nothing is going on that morning? Heck, a lot of us who were fired were even Facebook friends with the people who fired us! We know you! You are supposed to be our friends?! This feels like such a cowardly betrayal. Just a warm, personal email would suffice. I'd understand. But a cold form letter, after years of working with you? Unbelievable. I don't see Animal Jam lasting much longer, period. They have some great people still there. I hope THEY can enjoy the holidays because Christmas probably won't happen for a lot of us who just lost their jobs.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

Popular Careers with WildWorks Job Seekers

Concept Artist
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at WildWorks? Share Your Experiences

WildWorks logo
or