WildWorks Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
WildWorks CEO Clark Stacey (no image)
Clark Stacey
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing employee and family values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WildWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They really take care of their employees and there families. Great benefits. Monthly company meetings with lunch provided. Annual summer company event. CEO really tells everyone true honest current news about company good or bad.

    Cons

    Not really any cubs while working here

    Continue reading
    WildWorks2018-08-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Artist in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WildWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Flexible for family time

    Cons

    - No very 'advance' friendly

    WildWorks2020-03-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Look elsewhere for employment. You can find something better."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WildWorks full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance was great. PTO and other benefits were pretty solid.

    Cons

    This studio is the definition of insular and traditional, with strong enforcement of favoritism that sours everything else. Diversity is a bad word here. The same handful of long-time employees make all the decisions, and there is little room for innovation, constructive criticism, or anything they don't agree with. Office management/HR department frequently failed to provide the most basic studio support, including several errors that really should have been reported to the state labor board. Upper management is a self-aggrandizing boy's club, especially with tech and production. The siloing of departments never seems to be addressed, even after years of being acknowledged, and project management and pipelines suffer immensely for it.

    Continue reading
    WildWorks2020-01-29
  4. "Good company but not innovative"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WildWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    9-5 hours always. no crunch. family friendly.

    Cons

    bad upper management and poor out of date pipeline.

    WildWorks2019-10-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Growing Technology"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WildWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WildWorks is a great place for tech. The tech team is growing as well as the quality of the tools and tech used. There is a lot of freedom when working on projects. Work life balance is fantastic with late hours being very rare. There some in office perks that just make the day to day a little better.

    Cons

    Compensation could be better. There are some departments that don't play well with others but this may be due to the former office being split up between floors.

    Continue reading
    WildWorks2018-05-16
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Not a great place"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WildWorks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good break room

    Cons

    Very haphazard management, LDS bias throughout, misleading about health of company

    WildWorks2018-02-05
  7. Helpful (8)

    "ASR"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ASR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at WildWorks for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, great flexibility with hours. Fun job.

    Cons

    Very disposable, they hired too many moderators, then laid off the majority of them. The laying off was done very unprofessionally and cowardly. You were blocked from everything, including the chat program before you knew you were laid off. Then a short email came saying you were no longer needed. When I tried to respond to the email in repsonse, I found out that my email had been blocked as well so I haven’t been able to communicate with them at all. Very frustrating and upsetting way to be let go, especially after all of the talk of what a great community they try to maintain. They could have at least reached out to the employees personally.

    WildWorks2017-10-24
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Stay Away From This Sinking Ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WildWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun job at times and I liked most of my coworkers.

    Cons

    They are down to a skeleton crew now and the nice people who are left know their days are numbered. It's very sad, considering that WildWorks tries to portray themselves as a caring, family-friendly organization. In short, the game is failing. Fewer and fewer children are playing. For some reason, WildWorks went on some hiring blitz before realizing membership was way down. So, a lot of good people have been axed in several mass culls this year. We knew the score - it's a contract position and work isn't guaranteed. But kicking people out of the system before they even know they're fired? Talking to their face like nothing is going on that morning? Heck, a lot of us who were fired were even Facebook friends with the people who fired us! We know you! You are supposed to be our friends?! This feels like such a cowardly betrayal. Just a warm, personal email would suffice. I'd understand. But a cold form letter, after years of working with you? Unbelievable. I don't see Animal Jam lasting much longer, period. They have some great people still there. I hope THEY can enjoy the holidays because Christmas probably won't happen for a lot of us who just lost their jobs.

    Continue reading
    WildWorks2017-11-09
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Small Office that is full of cliques and rudeness"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WildWorks full-time

    Pros

    Location is really the only good thing about this office. Close to the Green Line and The Gateway for food trucks and shopping.

    Cons

    Investors are constantly interfering, very little onboarding/training, no consistent leadership. Told one thing by management and then other things happen.

    WildWorks2017-05-20
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Stagnant, unstable studio"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WildWorks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's hard to tell the pros anymore. There used to be a commitment to employee well-being and a sense of stability.

    Cons

    A management coup happened last week. The founder who built the company was fired. At the same time, they fired 13 otherwise valuable employees, perceived as too loyal to the old founder. Understand that all reviews posted on Glassdoor prior to 5/14/2017 were under the leadership of the old founder. WildWorks is no longer the same company. In day-to-day terms, work is fractured between several small groups who hardly communicate with anyone else, and the level of frustration and political bureaucracy for a relatively small company is ridiculous. Post-coup, the remnants of empowered technical leadership are laughably unqualified. The treacherous executives and their cronies not only don't mind this state of affairs, but created it to give cover to their plots. They've conspired for years to remove the company's founder from power and block out the employees who had built the company from the ground up, replacing the company's core with image-obsessed cargo-culters. This is only the first round of layoffs. Expect more. Anyone not currently associated with WildWorks should not be fooled by the skeleton of the company that once was; the new boss will attempt to keep this up, but the heart has been gutted. Getting involved with this company now is a tragedy.

    Continue reading
    WildWorks2017-05-21

    WildWorks Response

    May 26, 2017Global Marketing Manager

    There were three original founders of WildWorks, and it is correct that the company’s investors recently removed one of the co-founders from the management team. It is not uncommon for the board of directors of a successful startup to prepare for the next phase of growth by replacing some early-stage managers with executive skillsets appropriate for growing larger companies. WildWorks is still led by the same CEO, CFO, and head of development that have presided over its past five years of growth and success, and it is positioned to continue growing with exciting new IP in development by the world’s greatest kids digital entertainment team. We are a stable, profitable company that is equally dedicated to providing a great creative work environment to our employees as we are to making great games. Over the past 14 years, we’ve lost vanishingly few team members to internal restructuring or performance deficiencies. We regret that there are evidently hard feelings with this former employee, but we wish them and all WildWorks alumni continued success and creative fulfillment in the games industry.

Found 32 reviews