Ace Hardware Reviews | Glassdoor

Ace Hardware Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1043 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ace Hardware CEO John Venhuizen
John Venhuizen
197 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great management, and you learn a lot(in 57 reviews)

  • "Great benefits & pay, fun work environment(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Many different responsibilities from a typical cashiering job yet pay was only slightly over minimum wage(in 40 reviews)

  • "Low pay, horrible benefits (if any(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Purpose-driven Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ace Hardware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The entrepreneurial spirit of Ace retailers is contagious and fuels your work. For the most part, the company is open to taking intelligent risks to out smart the competition.

    Cons

    The road to secure buy-in on new -- but legitimately good -- ideas was sometimes long and challenging. This was also understandable given the sheer number of stakeholders potentially impacted with each change.

    Ace Hardware2019-03-28
  2. "Wonderful Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ace Hardware part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great management, and you learn a lot

    Cons

    Sometimes customers can be unrealistic

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    Ace Hardware2019-05-16
  3. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ace Hardware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay and air-conditioning were good

    Cons

    slow day when not many customers came in

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Ace Hardware2019-07-17
  4. "Enjoyable but bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Associate in Pauls Valley, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ace Hardware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very relaxed and fun.

    Cons

    terrible pay and high turnover

    Advice to Management

    pay better and don't allow drama with cashiers

    Ace Hardware2019-07-17
  5. "nice stepping stone/ending place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ace Hardware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they don't look over your shoulder all day, they actually prefer you to be sufficient. A decent place to work.

    Cons

    don't get sick. attitudes with time off, but they tend to hire older people, end of career.

    Ace Hardware2019-07-15
  6. "no accountability at different levels, false promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ace Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with some really great and friendly people,assisted with set-up/ start-up of a brand new warehouse and maintenance shop

    Cons

    start-up of a brand new facility, perks and benefits promised at start-up were changed or deleted,on fourth person in maintenance manager position within 14mos

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the people actually doing the job, have accountability standards, stop changing the rules in the middle of the game

    Ace Hardware2019-07-12
  7. "Warehouse Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Specialist in Maumelle, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ace Hardware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance, 401k, Location, Coworkers

    Cons

    Extreme Hot Environments, Heavy Lifting, Lack of Cross Training

    Advice to Management

    Extended Breaks for 12-hour shifts, Better Trainers, Employee & Management Assessment every 12 months, Implement Student Loan Forgiveness

    Ace Hardware2019-06-27
  8. "Used to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ace Hardware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent, paid time off is awesome

    Cons

    Equipment is not great, 64 MPH automatic garbage

    Ace Hardware2019-06-26
  9. "Good choice for High School Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in North Royalton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ace Hardware part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the pros included flexibility with hours, close location to school, and valuable experience with home repairs and improvement. My position allowed me to earn some money while I was attending a local High School.

    Cons

    One of the only cons was the lack of promotion. I wanted to learn how to mix and sell paint as well as how to order product when we were out of it, but wasn't given the opportunity to learn.

    Ace Hardware2019-06-23
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ace Hardware part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work hard and you get a pay check

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Ace Hardware2019-06-18
    Found 1043 reviews