Akron General Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Akron General Health System Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Akron General Health System CEO Brian Harte
Brian Harte
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Easy welcoming job , good pay and great staff to help you feel appreciated , and great benefits as well which Is good(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great place to start and finish(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Union contract under re-negotiation with cleveland clinic(in 4 reviews)

  • "long hours, sometimes do not get enough hours (but that is because I am just prn status)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Navigator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Parking is A lot is very far especially in the winter.

    Akron General Health System2019-11-19
  2. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Akron General Health System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wages, good entry level jobs

    Cons

    Poor management, coworkers are ridiculous

    Akron General Health System2019-10-29
  3. "Akron General Nurse Tech Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Tech in Akron, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Akron General Health System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager and staff very nice depending on you unit, they give bonuses for coming in which is very nice usually 25$ per 4 hours worked

    Cons

    Parking is usually far and not in a great area

    Akron General Health System2019-08-12
  4. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing is good about them

    Cons

    Everything needs to change awful

    Advice to Management

    Improve everything

    Akron General Health System2019-07-18
  5. "Akron General Patient Access Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gaining experience and skills .

    Cons

    Management isn’t the best, co-workers are drama and rude! Not a team work environment at all.

    Akron General Health System2019-05-03
  6. "Nothing negative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist 

    I worked at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was close to home,convenient

    Cons

    Nothing to say at this time

    Advice to Management

    Listen

    Akron General Health System2019-03-06
  7. "The normal hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Akron General Health System part-time

    Pros

    Generally well staffed, same problems as every other hospital.

    Cons

    I’m replaceable in a moment. Expendable, an I know it.

    Akron General Health System2018-06-11
  8. "Good learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Practitioner in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is job security with scheduled yearly raises of around 1-3%. Very good learning environment because it is a teaching hospital. Doctors and nurses overall seem nice and helpful.

    Cons

    They do not pay a competitive salary. Long hours not worth the low salary. Not a lot of growth potential.

    Akron General Health System2018-04-25
  9. "tech II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech II in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    it is close to home

    Cons

    pay is low, you have to accrue PTO

    Advice to Management

    use your resources

    Akron General Health System2018-03-22
  10. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akron General Health System part-time

    Pros

    I love my job at Akron General. Everyone feels like family when I am there.

    Cons

    Everyone is not on the same page

    Akron General Health System2018-02-07
Found 66 reviews