AutoNation Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
AutoNation CEO Mike Jackson (no image)
Mike Jackson
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Transparent process for the customer, different than a traditionally dealership(in 69 reviews)

  • "is a very nice work environment(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "typically in the car business is the long hours(in 116 reviews)

  • "Commission plan is kind of lacking unless you go with the full commission option versus the pay plan plus which is safer(in 89 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of AutoNation and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great company

      Jun 29, 2020 - Internet Sales Manager in Hurst, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay plan for front and back

      Cons

      Not the best benefits for first job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Talent Ambassador

      Congratulations on your career at AutoNation! We hope you have many more wonderful years to come.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Such a Great Company!

      Apr 28, 2021 - Internet Sales in Tustin, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is fluid when you come in and the car selection is unmatched. You think Mustang, Explorer, Expedition, the new Mach- E. All this is some sharp stuff!!!

      Cons

      The extensive training is a lot but for the most part its streamlined for your success.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      Thank you for this feedback- we are so happy to hear about your experience working at AutoNation! Nothing makes us happier than hearing positive things from our Associates. Thank you for this review!

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Average experience

      Jun 13, 2021 - Marketing Financial Analyst in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to start a career for, just learn and grow. Nice people in the company.

      Cons

      Company is in mature stage and not much room for growth. Very stagnant. Salaries are very average. Many co workers felt the same.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      Thank you for your honest review of our management and compensation. This is valuable insight for us, as we continue to evaluate our compensation plans and benefits of being an AutoNation employee. We thank you for your time on our team!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Jun 9, 2021 - Finance Director in Bend, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, easy to advance

      Cons

      Tough hours, it’s high turnover and always understaffed

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback – it’s very important to us and the work we do to make AutoNation a better place to work. We hear your thoughts on hours and staffing as we strive to provide an acceptable work-life balance that is healthy for our associates. We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work ar

      Jun 2, 2021 - Sales Associate in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Programs to help you succeed in the car business

      Cons

      Long hours and have to deal with all types of people

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      Thank you for this wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback, and wish you a successful career at AutoNation.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Jun 1, 2021 - Parts Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, ongoing training, fun coworkers, fair compensation

      Cons

      Dealership business can have some long hours, days.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      We’re happy to hear about your experience with AutoNation! Thank you for taking the time to review our company.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Team Work

      Feb 16, 2021 - Administrator in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with AutoNation for now 3 Months. I can honestly say I love the Team I have and we make everything a group effort and everyone on my team has given me the ability to show that I can do anything to help where it's needed. My Team works well together and with me joining this Team I had no Collision Center Experience, all I had was the Administration Experience from a previous company I worked for and also from my wonderful parents who owns a Lawn service, I have gained all my experience from my Mother, She has taught me everything and I'm blessed to know that I am able to use that experience I gained from her in a company that needed a Strong-Willed and Ready to Take on any challenge type of person. I love my Team & I'm Blessed to be with them.

      Cons

      None, Autonation has been a Great Advancement and the Best Decision I ever made.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      Congratulations on your career at AutoNation! We hope you have many more wonderful years to come.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company

      May 18, 2021 - Sales Associate in North Richland Hills, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is no cap on the commission you can earn. Flexible with schedule, appts etc. GM bonuses

      Cons

      The hours provide little work/life balance. 100% commission based can be difficult on bad months.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      May 27, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The commission is always great

      Cons

      too many hours for work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us. While AutoNation is a job that requires a lot of hard work and dedication, it should never consistently interfere with an employee’s personal life. We'll keep your feedback in mind regarding hours and training moving forward, and thank you for this review!

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Decent place to work

      May 24, 2021 - SERVICE ADVISOR 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly co workers, good environment

      Cons

      Overworked, pay set up for Service advisors and sales teams

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AutoNation Response

      AutoNation Human Resources

      Thank you for providing us with your feedback and for the hard work you put in at your time with AutoNation as a Service Advisor. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,341 Reviews

    Popular Careers with AutoNation Job Seekers

    SERVICE ADVISOR
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Auto Parts Warehouse and Sales
    Learn About the Job

    Work at AutoNation? Share Your Experiences

    or