AutoNation Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
AutoNation CEO Cheryl Miller
Cheryl Miller
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Transparent process for the customer, different than a traditionally dealership(in 65 reviews)

  • "Longevity,bonuses over great company to work for(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "The long hours that come with sales, however the friendships you build make the hard work worth it(in 101 reviews)

  • "Pay plan change, Benefits dwindled(in 85 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GENERAL SALES MANAGER in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoNation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve worked for AutoNation for almost 5 years and love it. There is a lot of opportunity to move up within the company, and I’m a woman, and know that’s not easy to find in this industry.

    Cons

    Auto Sales is fast paced and high pressure, but that’s not really a problem caused by this company. It’s just the nature of the business. I happen to love it!

    AutoNation2019-06-14

    AutoNation Response

    June 17, 2019AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Congratulations on your career at AutoNation! We hope you have many more wonderful years to come, and are thrilled to hear you feel there are opportunities for advancement.

  2. "Finance manger"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AutoNation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Longevity,bonuses over great company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing really. A little bit unorganized as a whole company

    AutoNation2020-05-12

    AutoNation Response

    May 14, 2020AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your hard work, especially now in these trying times. Best of luck in your career at AutoNation!

  3. "Decent Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Hialeah Gardens, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoNation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for promotion. Opportunity to establish a cereer.

    Cons

    Below market pay. Management not up to date with the reality of day to day operations and business trends. They rely on outdated and outsourced training

    AutoNation2020-05-22
  4. "Be careful when considering employment with this company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoNation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good looking dealerships and facilities

    Cons

    don't treat employees fairly; expensive medical benefits

    AutoNation2020-05-21

    AutoNation Response

    May 22, 2020AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We encourage you to confidentially file a report by calling 1-800-597-0094 or visiting www.alertline.com and selecting AutoNation as the organization. Please know we strive to treat all employees fairly, and we will be looking into these concerns further.

  5. "Customer gets screwed"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Sales Professional 

    I have been working at AutoNation full-time

    Pros

    Make good money and upbeat work environment

    Cons

    Does a toll on your moral values. Customer consistently getting screwed

    AutoNation2020-05-22
  6. "Director of Operations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AutoNation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Growth potential, national presence, multiple brands.

    Cons

    Limited growth potential based on career path verses actual need.

    Continue reading
    AutoNation2020-05-05

    AutoNation Response

    May 11, 2020AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Thank you for this review, and for your hard work while at AutoNation. We want to empower you with new opportunities at AutoNation. One of the best investments we can make is in our employees’ growth and advancement in the company. We have heeded your concerns regarding growth and communication and will keep them in mind moving forward.

  7. "Good as it gets in the auto business..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Sales Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AutoNation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    no freaking out constantly GM ... nice management...fair policies

    Cons

    not as high a paycheck as other dealerships but mot the stress level either

    AutoNation2020-04-25

    AutoNation Response

    May 1, 2020AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Thank you for this positive review! We will keep your feedback in mind moving forward.

  8. "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at AutoNation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can make good money.

    Cons

    They don't care about their employees.

    AutoNation2020-04-22

    AutoNation Response

    April 27, 2020AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Thank you for sharing feedback on our company’s culture. We believe our employees are our greatest assets and strive to invest in our associates’ professional futures. We want our employees to enjoy where they work, and have heeded your concerns.

  9. "Just OK"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AutoNation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent place to work, good people

    Cons

    Compensation is weak. Most people leave after a few years due to pay.

    AutoNation2020-04-09

    AutoNation Response

    April 13, 2020AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Thank you for reviewing our workplace and compensation. We value the hard work of all of our associates, and intend to compensate them fairly. We ensure your feedback is heard!

  10. "You work with used cars and repair whatever is needed in order for them to be able to sell the car again."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Non-Certified Tech in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoNation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When busy the pay is really good.

    Cons

    Your estimates are not approved by someone that knows cars, so you'll get some things decline that are essential. Is flag rate. They have preferences in employees.

    AutoNation2020-04-05

    AutoNation Response

    April 7, 2020AutoNation Talent Ambassador

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. While we're happy to hear you found the pay acceptable, we're disappointed to hear you felt there was favoritism in the workplace. AutoNation encourages its managers to treat associates fairly and equally. We thank you for this review!

Found 1104 reviews