KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

AutoNation

Engaged Employer

AutoNation

Add a Review

AutoNation Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,625 of over 2K reviews
3.7
65% Recommend to a Friend
79% Approve of CEO

Found 1,624 of over 2K reviews

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
AutoNation CEO Mike Manley (no image)
Mike Manley
212 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The pay is good and I loved working with the customers(in 85 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good(in 80 reviews)
  • "About the only pro I have is the people I work with are great people.(in 70 reviews)
  • "Good training but they dont put in practice what you learned.(in 61 reviews)
  • "Good money and a lot of inventory(in 38 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AutoNation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Sales

    Oct 5, 2021 - Sales Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent company with benefits, work ethics, growth opportunity.

    Cons

    I don't have anything bad to say I had a great experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are glad you love AutoNation as much as we do!

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Aug 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A good place to work

    Cons

    There are no cons for here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Content, but want more challenge

    Aug 15, 2022 - Executive Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work with others who share the same drive, passion & intellect. New challenges, problem solving and continual learning opportunities. Building relationships with the teams I work with.

    Cons

    Onboarding process. Not everyone is hybrid. This position does not provide an annual bonus.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Friendly Place

    Aug 11, 2022 - Finance Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team and leadership, GM has open door policy.

    Cons

    Heavy schedule, scheduled hours are not honored. You must ask for permission to leave regardless of set schedule. Lack in the training department.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    We're happy to hear about your experience at AutoNation as a finance manager! We want our employees to enjoy where they work, and have heeded your concerns regarding scheduling and training. At AutoNation, we work to empower our associates with the resources and training needed for success and will keep this feedback in mind moving forward. Thank you for your review!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Aug 9, 2022 - Parts Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonation has been one of, if not, the best places I've worked so far. Management is involved, communicative, and treats their workers very well. Everyone in my department has been super helpful with my onboarding, and we're given free lunches on Saturdays if you work. I'm really happy for the opportunity so far, and look forward to my future with the company.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind for me.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    Nothing makes us happier than hearing positive things from our Associates. Thank you for this review!

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I liked it

    Aug 8, 2022 - Commercial Card Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of hours and room for growth

    Cons

    Too many workers in one spot and that leads to a lot of attitudes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback – it’s very important to us and the work we do to make AutoNation a better place to work.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to start

    Aug 6, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good insurance, decent retirement contributions, fair vehicle purchase prices for associates.

    Cons

    Corporate company is going to have short comings. Surveys, training, etc.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    Congratulations on your career at AutoNation! We hope you have many more wonderful years to come.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Not horrible

    Aug 7, 2022 - Service Technician in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are fairly cool there.

    Cons

    No A/C the shop, seriously.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback – it’s very important to us and the work we do to make AutoNation a better place to work. We will keep your comments in mind regarding A/C in the shop and appreciate you leaving a review!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Porter

    Aug 5, 2022 - Porter in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy and everyone is nice

    Cons

    Long hours and lots of walking

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    We’re happy to hear about your experience with AutoNation! Thank you for taking the time to review our company.

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Decent Entry Level Sales Role

    Aug 5, 2022 - Car Salesman in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    entry level, commissions, learning opportunity

    Cons

    numbers driven, sales quotas, long hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AutoNation Response

    AutoNation Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback – it’s very important to us and the work we do to make AutoNation a better place to work. At AutoNation, we work to empower our associates with the resources and training needed for success. This includes strong management that invests in its team and coaches them. Thank you for taking the time to review our company!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,624 Reviews
</>Embed

AutoNation Reviews FAQs

AutoNation has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 1,659 reviews left anonymously by employees. 65% of employees would recommend working at AutoNation to a friend and 60% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AutoNation employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AutoNation. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

65% of AutoNation employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AutoNation 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at AutoNation to be coworkers, benefits, career development and the cons to be culture, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with AutoNation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AutoNation? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

AutoNation

8 days ago

Careers
Top 3 Reasons to Join AutoNation as a Sales Associate: 1. 30+ brands to better serve your Customers. The result? More choices for them- and more sales for you. 2. Comprehensive training. The best blend of online, in-store and classroom training to cover the entire auto sales process. 3. Advancement opportunities. You can accelerate your sales career from Sales Associate to Sales Manager to General Manager in a matter of time – earning a considerable income along the way. Start your application online today to join our Sales team!
Shared image - AutoNation Careers
AutoNation Careers
jobs.autonation.com
Logo

AutoNation

48 days ago

Culture
Join us in welcoming our summer interns to our Corporate Headquarters! We’re thrilled to include these young professionals as part of our team this summer. How lucky are we to have them with us?
Shared image
See all

AutoNation Photos

+ Add Photo
AutoNation photo of: AutoNation Corporate Headquarters
AutoNation photo of: Mercedes-Benz of Miami Store
AutoNation photo of: AutoNation USA Avondale
AutoNation photo of: Lexus Service Advisor
AutoNation photo of: Collision Concierge
AutoNation photo of: Collision Technician
AutoNation photo of: Collision Estimator
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 1,659 AutoNation reviews submitted anonymously by AutoNation employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if AutoNation is right for you.