Baxter Reviews

Updated May 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,609 of over 3,303 reviews

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Baxter Chairman and CEO José (Joe) Almeida
José (Joe) Almeida
908 Ratings

What people are saying about Baxter

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The benefits are good (they used to be better but they are still good).(in 273 reviews)
  • "Great people and products that are wonderful to sell and represent.(in 197 reviews)
  • "The pay is good and is very competitive(in 131 reviews)
  • "good work life balance and pretty got pay packages(in 109 reviews)
  • "Great Culture and Values(in 85 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Baxter and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee
    Featured Review

    I feel very valued and invested in in my role at Baxter

    May 23, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Career development Support from manager and team Opportunities for projects outside my day to day role Jab satisfaction Meaningful job

    Cons

    Benefits could be more competitive

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Baxter Response

    Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write this and feel so pleased that you feel supported in your role by your team and your manager. Your comment on job satisfaction resonates with us and your comment regarding job satisfaction. We have also made a note regarding the benefits. thanks again for your contribution to our mission of saving and sustaining lives. #ThisIsWhere your work makes an impact.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nice place

    May 26, 2022 - Manufacturing Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good place to work

    Cons

    Management is not so good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Lack of Consistency across GBUs

    May 27, 2022 - Systems Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I changed GBUs and my experience dramatically changed at Baxter. Few key positives about my new GBU: 1. Amazing team that looks for personalized growth 2. Ample opportunities for both vertical and horizontal growth 3. Proper safety nets in place to either make sure I don't fail or make sure I learn and grow from my failures.

    Cons

    A few things about my old GBU: 1. Over reliance on a small section of people to do a majority of the work 2. No clear structure and often left wondering "who can I turn to for help" 3. Oversaturated at the top (engineering wise) with a lot of missing middle/entry level engineers. 4. Very easy to burnt out in a month and no-one seemed to notice/care I wish GBUs were more aligned with the culture of Baxter and make #LifeAtBaxter better.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Empowered to make an impact

    May 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I feel trusted by leadership to make my ideas happen and to truly make an impact. Every day is different, which I love! I work with intelligent, creative and caring people who make #LifeAtBaxter fun. Every day brings an opportunity to learn something new, whether it is working with diverse personalities and people all over the world, to honing a technical skill. This is an exciting, ever-changing place to work.

    Cons

    The workload is quite high, and work-life balance isn't always great. Fortunately, I have an understanding and empathetic manager, so when I am behind, they understand and don't give me a hard time about it. They trust I will get it done.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Baxter Response

    Wow! This review made our day! We so appreciate you taking the time to write this and share your experience in our Chicago premises with our readers. We especially loved your comments regarding working with caring, intelligent and creative people. For us, the best part about working at Baxter is our people - a global community with diverse backgrounds and resilient dedication that comes together to support each other. We hear your point on the high workload and are so pleased that you have an empathetic manager but attaining a good work-life balance is important, and we suggest that you discuss alternative ways of support with your manager in your next one to one. Thank you for all you do and your commitment to cultivating a great place to work. #BaxterProud

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    May 26, 2022 - Software Engineer in Opelika, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance and great coworkers

    Cons

    no real cons for the role

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Shawshank Prison

    Apr 3, 2022 - Filling Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, benefits and paid holidays

    Cons

    Overtime never ends, if you are absent you have to work your day off to make up for it plus get a point against you and lose a PTO day, only one person allowed PTO in the area you work in, every time you're off for a holiday you have to work Saturday to make up for it, you can only be absent 7 days in a year ( doctors notes aren't allowed), constantly being yelled at, you're expected to do more than your share of the work and you're blamed for people quitting if you don't do their work for them, handlers act like they don't care if you have a work problem, you're treated like a robot, attitudes by management is shut up and get to work, you're expected to do more than production quota without any more pay, handlers take an hour+ for breaks and you only get two breaks (30 minutes and 20 minutes), people are not properly trained, you're expected to work in areas where you don't know how to do the job and keep up, turnover is high due to poor treatment by management. The only reason I'm still here is because I'm too old to find another job at this pay and I'm retiring next year

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Baxter Response

    We are very sorry to read about your frustration and experience. We would advise you to reach out to us directly at baxtercares@baxter.com to discuss this further and better understand your situation. We appreciate the feedback; even though it's tough to read, we care a lot about our operators and manufacturing teams and their long-term success.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good People

    May 24, 2022 - Production Engineer in Opelika, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good engineering team, respect people, have a broad knowledge of manufacturing

    Cons

    Some departments take priority, so the role responsibilities can change week to week

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place!

    May 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, nice people, PTO, maternal/paternal leave

    Cons

    not very many cons, its nice!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Baxter is a great place to learn

    May 20, 2022 - Complaints Investigation Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job growth opportunity at plant Quality leadership

    Cons

    Low salaries Difference between manufacturing and quality

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Baxter Response

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate your feedback as a Complaints Investigation Engineer. Thanks for highlighting job growth opportunities at the plant; we base our career growth approach on work experiences, feedback, and training. It is a shared responsibility between employees and their managers. We also love your comment on "Quality leadership".We have also noted your point regarding salaries which are evaluated annually with our compensation and benefits teams, external agencies and talent acquisition to ensure that we are competitive with the market. Thanks again!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place overall

    May 13, 2022 - Project Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Operations Engineering project management organization was solid. Corporate culture was okay. I've seen better, I've seen worse

    Cons

    Strategy whiplash. High turnover in executive positions was felt throughout the org.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful