Box Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Box Co-founder & CEO Aaron Levie
Aaron Levie
387 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is a lot of transparency and there is a great culture(in 45 reviews)

  • "Great work-life balance and very hands on approach from C-Suite(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no 401K matching even though people have been asking for this for years(in 29 reviews)

  • "No 401K matching - truly have no other complaints(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A great company in an exciting transition with a culture that's second to none"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I haven't regretted joining Box for a second. The company has a fantastic culture, a great product set (which has a leadership position within all of the key analyst reports) and offers really interesting work. The European team is in transition, but there are some brilliant team members and some top new talent joining the Sales, Marketing and CS teams. The culture is genuinely supportive and collaborative, both at a regional and global level, with many community groups (MOSAIC, Pride, Box Women's Network) and an ongoing program run by our Chief Fun Officers. Benefits are excellent. I've also seen multiple colleagues be promoted and some excellent international transfer opportunities.

    Cons

    The new strategy isn't for everyone: it requires real drive, passion and belief. But I really believe that it's the right one.

    Continue reading
    Box2020-01-29
  2. "Great SaaS company, visionary leader"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Channels 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Box full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun culture, true SaaS platform. Disruptive and innovative. Good people, have hired good leadership. Good eco-system partnerships in the industry.

    Cons

    Aaron no longer looks like he's 20 :). No seriously, I would say a stronger message to the market that differentiates Box from the "me too" cloud platforms.

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible company, incredible leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership is incredible here. The CEO is incredibly charismatic and intelligent and is great at inspiring and motivating the company. There is a lot of transparency and there is a great culture. These are some of the best people I've ever worked with and there are a lot of people invested in making sure that everyone feels like they are able to do their best work. This reflects really well on the core values at Box. I'm able to truly be myself at work and feel very accepted for the work I do. Also, there is great recognition for jobs well done.

    Cons

    Despite being a best in class product, there is very little brand awareness outside of the company. There are also some decisions that are made in terms of comp, spending, etc that don't really make sense. Comp plans are always changing (that's to be expected) and sales folks are under paid compared to the market. If you are achieving quota, you are able to blow past your OTE though.

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Sales Experience & Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Box is a place that values it's employees and will push you to be your best, while giving you the support you need to do your job. Feedback is a two way street, which allows for strong communication between peers, management, and upper management. I've never worked for a company that a CEO has a weekly call to give updates and highlights. The support from our entire company during the current pandemic has been incredible.

    Cons

    Box is an amazing product, but we earn our wins. Customers may think "everything works" or "everything is fine" or "we have O365" until we can show them how Box integrates with their tools, but helps them with very specific use cases. It can be difficult to get in the door, but if you make it count - it's worth the hard work.

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales careers made here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An absolutely great place to work, Box truly cares about their employees and the Sales Org continues to drive a ton of success year over year There is a ton of emphasis on your career path and very strong internal promotion strategy. The product has finally started to hit strides and that strategy is more coherent Great work-life balance and very hands on approach from C-Suite

    Cons

    Competitive landscape against Microsoft and Google can make it challenging at times. Lack of marketing over the years has made brand an issue. Lots of management turnover and continued departures. Stock price has little to no success. No matching 401K and compensation is lower than industry peers

    Box2020-04-29
  6. "Great place to grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mid Market Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Box was my second place of employment out of college and I've been here almost 4 years now. The culture is really phenomenal especially on the sales side of the house. There is a strong sense of community among coworkers and people really do want to see you succeed vs. hyper-competitive sales cultures. Additionally there are tons of resources around ERGS and room to grow with your career with upward mobility. The management in particular has really show their true colors during Covid-19. Aaron's leadership and generosity through out this pandemic has made me feel 100% secure in my job. Which in turn has allowed me to focus on what is really important and that is my customers and doing my job well. Management has also been extremely transparent and hosting weekly 1:1 fireside chats with various executives and the sales team members to share their own experiences in their roles and how we can translate that to benefit our customers. I also would say after a number of years our product offering is finally rounding out its suite offering to better compete with the larger traditional ECM players and better differentiate ourselves from basic files sharing.

    Cons

    No 401K Matching, Stock performance mediocre over the years, competitive market

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-01
  7. "Boxer for a reason"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There has not been a single day where I have second guessed my decision to stay at the company for as long as I have. People are a company's most important asset and I can't feel any luckier to work with such talented, driven, and motivated people who have your best interest. While the nature of sales is competitive, Box does a fantastic job of keeping hiring standards high and ensuring that culture continues to be the most important aspect of bringing people on-board. Secondly, having a leader like Aaron Levie is unheard of. I have so much respect for him and the passion and commitment that he has for the success and mission of the business carries over in everything we do and is incredible to be a part of. Its a hunter mentality that values and rewards hard work, the grind, and good people. There is also always opportunity to grow into other areas of the business if of interest.

    Cons

    tough to plan for relocation due to constant changes in headcount

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-01
  8. "Awesome place to grow your career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Accessible leadership team -Amazing culture -Great perks (gym subsidy, lunch every day, benefits, incredible work environment) -Upward mobility -High earning potential if you put in the work -Perfect place to start or build your career

    Cons

    -Internal meetings, emails and noise can be distracting

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-01
  9. "Top tier company to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Solutions Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Box full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Very collaborative work environment - Flat hierarchy - Many opportunities for growth

    Cons

    - Unclear guidelines for path to promotion outside of Sales

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "my tenure there in sales"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Box full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the pay is good starboard coming into the org is good. restructuring was needed. fancy head quarters building is nice box as a service is reliable

    Cons

    difficult to sell. Box is not a necessary service. onedrive and g-drive are good enough to get the job done. almost impossible for box to continue to compete. always hitting that headwind during a sales cycle. no 401k match at all health plan just got very bad since starboard came in stock is worthless management is just a bunch of inexperienced kids promoted from within. all the A players left

    Continue reading
    Box2020-05-13
Found 496 reviews
</>Embed