Box Reviews

Updated May 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 785 of over 838 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Box Co-founder and CEO Aaron Levie
Aaron Levie
590 Ratings

What people are saying about Box

Join the conversation on

Tech

206.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Box~254092
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Box and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good place, good pay, good culture

    May 18, 2022 - Outbound Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very progressive, great benefits, great people

    Cons

    No structure to promotion process

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Safe, Fun and overall Healthy Culture!

    May 4, 2022 - Corporate Communications 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Boxers are fortunate to work for a company that not only has their customers' best interest in mind, but their employees as well. I have never worked in such a healthy and inclusive environment, and for such approachable and adaptable Executives and Managers.

    Cons

    I am having a difficult time finding the "cons" of working for Box - even after 3 years.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Most positive sales culture I've been a part of!!

    Apr 22, 2022 - Account Executive Mid-Market in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -How refreshing it is to be at a company where customers actually like talking to you because the product works and is only getting better! -Pay is competitive -Culture is *very* supportive -Stock is doing great! -Box itself is in a tricky market (why wouldn't I just go with something that's free??) but our differentiators make it a no brainer once you align with a customer's actual needs and pain

    Cons

    -Covid has been hard. Everyone being remote has been hard. But Box has done it as well as anyone could - and I know when we're all in person again, it's going to be great.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Box is not a great place to work anymore

    Mar 5, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture (but how its getting diluted) Good work life balance Some managers do care about employees

    Cons

    No equivalent refreshers (stocks) even if you are performing good (based on yearly review) at your current level (I am not talking about next level). So basically after 4 years your TC is going to be less. Managers are valued more in my team. In my team only manager's birthdays and joining anniversaries get celebrated with kudo boards etc. Promotions: I see that some teams have lenient promotions vs some have very strict. If you want to join, try to join new, less established team where you will have better chance to get promoted. If you are on IC track, it's really hard to get promoted. While if you are in manager track it will be better. Also I have seen the trend that people who are bold, good at presentation and keep themself's in limelight have better chance for promotion. Overall Box is not a great place to work anymore.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    One of the best companies on the planet to work for

    Apr 12, 2022 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Best coworkers, leadership, management, culture, diversity, and work life balance. • Best product in our space. Our customers know it. Strong strategic position. • We continue to innovate on top of our existing platform, and our roadmap is delivering higher quality product at a faster pace. Box Sign, Box Shield, Box Governance, Box Canvas, Box GxP, etc........ lots of upside. • Best locations. Offices across the US and global. • Top tier pay. • Stock is performing very well lately.

    Cons

    • 401k match is missing. • Low budget for lunch. Can't afford most of the items on the menu, so I end up paying extra out of pocket. • We need a LATAM office and to invest a lot more energy and attention in LATAM. This is an absolutely massive market, and it is insane that we've given it so little attention for so long. Giving this market a big push would increase our revenue growth, and thus our stock price by a lot. • We need a China office and to invest a lot more energy and attention in China. We need to do the same thing for other Asian markets, which is a huge underserved segment for Box. Right now we have a Japan office supporting all of this, which is a huge signal of global immaturity, but also means there's a lot of upside. • Apptus CPQ is so annoying! I have to file a support ticket for nearly every quote I create, even for simple quotes......... I should be able to do this without Deal Desk.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A wonderful place to work: well-being is a priority

    Apr 27, 2022 - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - treated like a human being (understanding that we all have lives outside of work) - what you do truly impacts the company - a variety of ERGs available

    Cons

    - no 401K match available yet

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Learned lots, great culter

    May 4, 2022 - Techical Consultant in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Supportive management - Insight into product roadmap - ESPP

    Cons

    - APIs not suitable for some use cases customers expected

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Really great company to work for

    Apr 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent culture and a lot of learning opportunity.

    Cons

    Decision making process is not always very clear.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing

    Apr 25, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, pay, everything is amazing here

    Cons

    No 401k match but otherwise none

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I love working at Box

    Apr 14, 2022 - Workplace Services Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caring leadership Transparency from leadership Active Employee Resource Communities Employee Stock Purchase Program Lunch/snacks Awesome office spaces Work/life balance Fun events

    Cons

    No 401k match (but the ESPP program is a good alternative)

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 785 Reviews
</>Embed

Box Reviews FAQs

Box has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 838 reviews left anonymously by employees. 93% of employees would recommend working at Box to a friend and 82% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Box employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Box. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

93% of Box employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Box 4.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.8 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Box to be career development, senior leadership, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Box Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Box? Share Your Experiences

or