Cato Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Cato Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Cato CEO John P. Derham Cato
John P. Derham Cato
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "20% employee discount and monthly bonus if you make the month(in 37 reviews)

  • "All employees get a 20% discount including part-time associates(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay for a store manager(in 81 reviews)

  • "Upper management can seem uncaring about their employees concerns and needs(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Assistant Manager in Pontotoc, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the environment Easy to excel in the business

    Cons

    There are no cons working here

    Cato2019-07-07
  2. "Just a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Georgetown, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working for Cato's It's Fashion Metro store was the team I worked with. I had flexible hours and a great support team. customers are great and the discount helps!

    Cons

    The pay is minimal, even for management. The weekly SUNDAY markdown process is ridiculous and always understaffed. Raises are about $.05 to $.10 a year (maybe) and split between staff members!!

    Advice to Management

    Hire more responsible staff, schedule appropriately, and stand your ground with DMs. They are usually too far removed to know how inefficient the processes are.

    Cato2019-10-18
  3. "cato"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chillicothe, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great work environment! management is fantastic.

    Cons

    not that many hours, that’s the only downfall.

    Cato2019-10-10
  4. "Perfect for starting out managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Vincennes, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job with ample training

    Cons

    Hourly pay wasnt the best

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cato2019-10-07
  5. "simple workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Cato part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    enjoyed coworkers, slow paced job

    Cons

    pay was poor and couldn't get desired hours

    Cato2019-09-26
  6. "It’s alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Cato part-time

    Pros

    Friends and opportunity in advancement

    Cons

    Corporate and rude customers often

    Cato2019-09-19
  7. "I Would Never Work There Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount of 20 percent Styling displays

    Cons

    Working over 40 hours a week, but being Salaried.

    Cato2019-09-19
  8. "Better opportunities out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get paid, that is it.

    Cons

    The pay is lower than any store I have ever worked at. The discount is only 20% off and there are no coupons. They over schedule you constantly.

    Cato2019-09-04
  9. "Watch your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager in Fremont, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cato part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The customers are the best

    Cons

    Upper management needs more training

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees before you fire them and let them know what is going on, and help with the problem instead of firing them and trying to forcing them to sign a resignation letter.

    Cato2019-10-04
  10. "Positive, uplifting, inspiring! Helped me grow as a person in and out of work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Hammond, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cato part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced, positive, Cato family, helps you build yourself and sets you in the right direction.

    Cons

    Time consuming considering a lot of the employees tend to be college students, so always having to fill in for others.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring college students unless it's obvious they want to work.

    Cato2019-08-28
Found 659 reviews
</>Embed