Concentra Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Concentra President and CEO Keith Newton
Keith Newton
201 Ratings
Pros
  • "Management makes sure there is the ability of work/life balance(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, wonderful support to workforce, collaborative leadership team(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management can be extremely difficult to work with(in 37 reviews)

  • "They continue to hire center management with no real-world patient care experience(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist (PRN) in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Concentra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Able to work synergistically with on-site physicians * Great leadership

    Cons

    * As PRN, some weeks you may not get called to work everyday

    Concentra2020-02-03
  2. "Fast paced"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Concentra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, room for growth, great team, fun place to work

    Cons

    Short breaks, salary ok, busy if you’re not a high performer, management not readily available, they are overwhelmed

    Continue reading
    Concentra2020-05-17
  3. "OK work place"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Staff Physical Therapist 

    I worked at Concentra part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and well managed

    Cons

    Not enough available work hours

    Concentra2020-05-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Best thing I did was leave"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Addison, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Concentra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company. Good numbers they keep their eyes off of you.

    Cons

    Redundant reports and redundant training

    Concentra2020-05-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "stay far away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nwdicak Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Concentra full-time

    Pros

    It's steady work and a paycheck

    Cons

    Total indifference to patients and staff

    Concentra2020-04-29
  6. "Good place to end your career not start"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician Assistant in Richmond, VA

    I worked at Concentra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours. No weekends. Easy work.

    Cons

    It was not very mentally stimulating

    Concentra2020-04-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Demoralizing, toxic place to work."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Concentra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The patients are the only thing that kept me going.

    Cons

    Concentra only cares about numbers ($), not about patients or providers. The EMR drastically slows your ability to see patients, keeping them waiting up to 2-3 hours, all the while the daily numbers are constantly being announced in an effort to get more patients through the clinic. The executives spout off language that makes it sound like they are caring people, however their actions never align with this language. There is a huge turnover of providers at all levels, from medical assistants to specialists. The slow EMR and the extremely slow process of getting procedures approved keeps you from being able to provide your best care, and slows the recovery process of the patient. The oversight of providers by management not present in the clinic, or even in the state, is extremely frustrating. They are managing so many clinics and providers that they can't track who was informed of which changes, and when you don't comply with a change that was never told to you, you are reprimanded for it. Not only are you reprimanded for not knowing or doing something you weren't informed of, they will do it via email and CC at least 5 people in your clinic, as well as several others in the company. It's extremely demoralizing.

    Continue reading
    Concentra2020-04-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best experience."

    2.0
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant 

    I worked at Concentra full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot. Fast paced.

    Cons

    Stressful and busy environment. I felt that it wasn't the best place to thrive and grow because of the business of the place. Management could train you better so that you are set up to succeed and not feel like you are drowning. Too many call outs with no staff to cover.

    Continue reading
    Concentra2020-03-30
  9. "FAE summary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Concentra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have some autonomy over your territory and schedule

    Cons

    Limited growth, very micro-managed, monitoring daily output of calls.

    Concentra2020-03-16
  10. "support was great but expectations made the pressure unbearable"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Rahway, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Concentra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership coaching and support

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets, lack of upholding company culture

    Concentra2020-03-13
Found 770 reviews