Fluor Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Fluor Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Fluor CEO Carlos Hernandez
Carlos Hernandez
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No job security for project based employees(in 38 reviews)

  • "No cons as per my opinion, i just wanted to learn on more areas(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fluor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth if you want them

    Cons

    Have to Travel. At the whims of clients

    Fluor2018-12-03
  2. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fluor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Once Fluor has projects they will give you a call back to work for them.

    Cons

    One major con about working at Fluor is that projects are not coming is and the company will lay you off when they don't have work.

    Advice to Management

    Pin point the strength in your employee and make them shine. When your employee shines Management will be Golden.

    Fluor2019-12-02
  3. "Strong safety mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HSE Specialist in Clayton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fluor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to grew up

    Cons

    Like all jobs have cons ...but nothing bad overall

    Fluor2019-11-22
  4. "Helper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician Helpers in Clayton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fluor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning everything about electrical

    Cons

    They gave me lay-off

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to learn as you go.

    Fluor2019-11-11
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Fluor

    Pros

    Good pay ,vacation, health , travel

    Cons

    End of contract, stop messing with pay

    Advice to Management

    None

    Fluor2019-11-22
  6. "Don’t get hurt while on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Records Information Management in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fluor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Lay-off or other means of dismissal if you claim workman’s comp injury

    Advice to Management

    Play fair with dedicated employees

    Fluor2019-11-22
  7. "A good company, but...stifling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Employee Engagement Senior Manager in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Fluor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers, were like a family. Also met my wife there.

    Cons

    Your credibility is based on years of service

    Advice to Management

    Innovation and creativity is stifled by strict policies. There is a policy for everything.

    Fluor2019-11-06
  8. "Good company with too much focus on labor costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Information Manager in Sugar Land, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fluor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits with good department management

    Cons

    Project management is way too focused on labor hours and not enough on scope definition, execution strategy, or work quality.

    Advice to Management

    Have Project Controls estimate labor budgets based on historical figures with approvals/adjustments by Project Management, Engineering Management, and Discipline Leads. Your project teams are spending entirely too much time estimating, defending, tracking, and reforcasting "hours." Continuing to shuffle around your executive management teams without improving project execution efficiency is not going to win you... new work.

    Show More
    Fluor2019-10-30
  9. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fluor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company is very family oriented. They believe in work life balance

    Cons

    Takes years to move up.

    Fluor2019-10-15
  10. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Civil Engineer in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fluor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very well driven and friendly company. Everyone is willing to help each other. Many opportunities are provided to grow or try out other career paths.

    Cons

    Could not think of any cons

    Fluor2019-10-14
Found 1636 reviews