GameStop Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
GameStop CEO George Sherman
George Sherman
172 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to work with video games(in 522 reviews)

  • "Fun environment especially if you’re a gamer(in 181 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Part Time Employment at GameStop"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SalesAssociate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GameStop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy, fun, engaging, customer focused

    Cons

    Pushing sales and constantly pitching memberships and warranties

    Continue reading
    GameStop2019-02-18
  2. "The Job has it's Pros and Cons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Capitol Heights, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at GameStop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    15 % off instore purchases, free rentals, dibs on new stuff unless preordered, great place to befriend other gamers

    Cons

    Customers can be rude, employees can be incompetent

    Continue reading
    GameStop2020-05-27
  3. "Fine"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at GameStop full-time

    Pros

    -Good hours and people -Sales was fine.

    Cons

    Salary was low for the amount of dedication.

    GameStop2020-05-22
  4. "Fun but limited"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Guest Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GameStop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of fun dealing with video games and making recommendations

    Cons

    Push the game protection too much and hours were inconsistent

    GameStop2020-05-22
  5. "Pretty fun! Customers can be a downer some days but that's retail"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Advisor in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GameStop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Co-workers Fun work environment Some good returning customers

    Cons

    Some abusive customers Prank Callers

    GameStop2020-05-19
  6. "It really depends on the store employees"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Game Adviser 

    I worked at GameStop part-time

    Pros

    Fun times to talk about video games with other employees and share your passion with people who are looking for great games to play!

    Cons

    Hours are very inconsistent unless you are store management. I knew many store managers who were very unhappy with their current state of living and employment.

    Continue reading
    GameStop2020-05-19
  7. "It’s the people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Advisor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GameStop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting kind hearted people you end up working with.

    Cons

    Customers are usually flaming jerks.

    GameStop2020-05-19
  8. "Easy training and fun experience!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Game Advisor in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GameStop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and colleagues on a local level, easy simplistic store upkeep, interactive and engaging training.

    Cons

    Loose management, difficult unrealistic sales quota, lack of direct corporate communication.

    Continue reading
    GameStop2020-05-17
  9. "Decent pay"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bangor, ME

    I have been working at GameStop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and fairly easy for what it is

    Cons

    Metrics pressure and micromanaged. Not enough hours for the work.

    Continue reading
    GameStop2020-05-17
  10. "Best first job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in National City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GameStop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with, Just coming to work and seeing coworkers from your store and other stores just make it the best place for a first job. Along with the discount.

    Cons

    I didn't really have cons when I was working there.

    Continue reading
    GameStop2020-05-14
Viewing 1 - 10 of 4462 Reviews