GameStop Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
33%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
GameStop CEO George Sherman
George Sherman
471 Ratings
Pros
  • "Get to talk about video games with guests(in 557 reviews)

  • "Nice to be in a gamer environment(in 189 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management can get a bit much(in 353 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage Inconsistent hours apathetic management(in 182 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of GameStop and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Sales Associate

      Oct 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Employee Discounts Great Working Environment Co-Workers Are Helpful Talk A lot About Video Games

      Cons

      Need To Sale The Sales Pitch Low Payment Low Hours No Employee Discounts On Brand New Systems

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It’s The “Corporate” For Me.

      Apr 29, 2021 - Game Advisor in Fayetteville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, chill, laid-back atmosphere, amazing, authentic game geek co-workers (my co-workers were all just very unique people. they were all awesome! My managers were amazing too. I loved my store manager!) Busy, but with dry periods, or even days. Each individual GameStop, at least in my city, has it’s own regulars and locals who visit the store regularly. The stores themselves are very community driven in my area.

      Cons

      Terrible employee discounts, bad hours (i only worked 5 hours a week. Given, COVID had just hit when I first got employed with GameStop) Basically, it has nothing to do with the employees or the managers. They’re amazing. The problem is rooted in corporate. They’re just penny pinchers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great SL, Awful Corporate

      May 13, 2021 - Senior Game Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was lucky enough to have an amazing Store Leader who understood that the best way to have a successful store is to work *with* the employees on their needs and be flexible within reason. He also understood that if an employee is miserable, their numbers will suffer too. This mentality was proven successful as our store was prestige for 2 straight years (and actually still is). Him taking over my store is honestly the sole reason I stayed as long as I did.

      Cons

      Corporate is all about numbers only. If someone’s numbers aren’t up to par, their guidance is that employee should be punished instead of finding the root of the problem. The pay is not nearly enough for the abuse you receive from customers and the hours are scarce and inconsistent even as a key holder. There is also extreme bias against female gamers, not just from the customers but from other employees. It is especially prevalent when the female employee holds a higher position than the male.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fun and Collaborative with Challenging Processes

      Mar 12, 2021 - Senior Product Owner in Grapevine, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People want to genuinely help and see the projects succeed. It can also be a fun, geek fest. The least arrogant environment ever.

      Cons

      No career path for POs/PMs. Product Management is just starting to be contemplated. The silos throughout the organization leads to disparate processes, lack of thorough impact analysis, customer empathy and partially effective solutions. There is also a scrappy, fast and cheap approach that burdens efficiency with heavy amounts of technical debt. In a Product Owner/Manager role this can beat you down because requirements can be unclear, user experience is just starting to blossom as a concept and Customer Empathy is a dream that will hopefully come true immediately.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Cool People, Mixed Workplace

      Apr 27, 2021 - Senior Guest Advisor in Hinckley, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - with the right coworkers, a very fun place to work - regulars can make or break the experience but are usually fun

      Cons

      - not a great place to work for women; customers can be patronizing, condescending, or creepy - awful hours - less than ideal pay - performance metrics are based on things that are difficult to control; one bad week can get you fired, even if it was out of your hands

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      No, we don't have the PS5.

      Apr 8, 2021 - Store Leader Mentor in Ontario, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management will make or break your experience. The goal-driven environment is not for everyone but is great for people who thrive in selling. Your attitude will determine your success and if you choose to move past the corporate non-sense, it's worth it. Sales volume incentive is great, all the free stuff is even better, and the annual Conference alone is worth the struggle.

      Cons

      Corporate genuinely has no idea what the reality of stores is like and labor will always be an issue. I've run a high-volume mall store for 5 years and still struggle with the labor structure. Poor management will affect your results and ruin your experience. The pressure to maintain performance results can be strusseful.v

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent job for spending money in college--but not much else

      Feb 24, 2021 - Guest Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at GameStop part time for a few years during college. I was only really in it for the spending money, as my university fee covered everything else. For a college kid just looking for some side money, the job was a whole lot of fun. My coworkers and I got along great, and I enjoyed getting to enthuse about my favorite games and work around something I enjoyed. TLDR; -fun coworkers -good college side gig

      Cons

      If you're looking for a job to cover any significant financial responsibilities, GameStop is probably not the place. I made minimum wage the whole time I was there, and even the full-time managers above me didn't make much more. Sometimes the strategies enforced from higher-up came across as quite toxic, and we were urged to interact with customers who really seemed like they just wanted to be left alone. As a result, we dealt with a lot of very cranky customers. TLDR; -terrible pay -toxic sales strategies -lots of rude customers -probably not tons of room for growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great start for a first job

      Apr 14, 2021 - Game Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fun environment when management is not around -Simple job -First dibs on new merchandise -Decent and stackable employee discounts -Easy to move up within the store due to how many people come and go.

      Cons

      -Corporate is always on you and your team -Management is robotic -Training is always constant, unnecessary, tone deaf, and cringey -Since you're more likely in a small store it's just you and a manager -Little hours -I was lied to about my position (I was told I was a seasonal when I was part time just so I was motivated to be "kept") -Need to get used to harassing the customers with tedious salesmen procedures, continuing to tell them deals and useless memberships even when they clearly aren't interested. - (I was oblivious) was not made aware of our 10 minute breaks once I talked to my manager about it and asked why they never told me before they said "If you don't say anything you void your right to a break for the day"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      GameStop will burn you out

      Apr 18, 2021 - Guest Advisor in El Paso, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Get to check out video games like a library - Flexible hours (Store Manager dependent) - Get to take home souvenirs such as marketing posters. - Can get cool gear such as game lanyards, buttons, etc.

      Cons

      - NO COMMISSION - Pay raises don't reflect annual performance adequately. - Exceeding goals does not give extra bonuses. - Company loyalty is not valued, unless you're in management. - You will be standing for hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked, Underpaid

      May 10, 2021 - Senior Guest Advisor in Kearny, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You’re around video games all day so if you’re into the gaming world then you’ll like the environment

      Cons

      You’re pretty much a glorified cashier. They make you do a salesman job and getting paid a cashiers wage. There are sales quotas that need to be hit everyday such as warranty, membership and unit per transaction quotas. The management threatens to cut your hours or even fire you if you don’t hit those daily quotas. The retail workers are the backbone of this company, without them this scammer of a company would’ve went bankrupt a long time ago.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,249 Reviews

    Popular Careers with GameStop Job Seekers

    Retail Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GameStop? Share Your Experiences

    or